Viens


Mariana Lafrance, Julie Lassonde, Pascaline Knight


February 16th to March 30th, 2019


Exhibition from February 16th to March 30, 2019
Performing art on February 16th // Welcoming at 4 PM, performing art starting at 4:30 PM


Viens

For their first collaborative performance exploring the theme Nouvel-Ontario (New Ontario), Pascaline Knight, Mariana Lafrance and Julie Lassonde question the notion of welcoming and the conditions that foster its success or present challenges.

Having a house with wide open doors. Inhabiting your own body to be open to others. Being yourself, firmly standing on your own two feet. Welcoming supposes equilibrium between the individual and the collective, security and experimentation, risk and goodwill. Above all, it requires the freedom to consent to encountering the unknown.

Time, language and ego are structures that mask the immediacy of the body. The performances of these three artists reaffirm the notion of body awareness as the primal and founding place from which conscience and speech emerge. The here and the now might not be what they should be, but freeing gesture and language from their familiar mediators allows us to imagine other modes of togetherness.

Through a number of absurd or poetic gestures, individually or as a group, the three artists launch a conversation inspired by the childhood of persons and peoples to reveal the aspirations of a thriving Francophone community.

This artist residency project is part of the Place des Arts’ “Projet Manifeste.”


The artists

In performance and ad hoc action, Pascaline Knight uses the red margins and blue lines of Canada brand workbooks to reveal the links between presence and body. Her practice explores these implicit structures to reveal their unconscious normative power.

Mariana Lafrance creates absurd little worlds that combine fractured memories with an invitation to a wholesomely honest future. The games and wisdom of children, and the personal and collective spheres, collide and play off one another to create a vivid and dynamic installation.

Julie Lassonde’s practice mixes arts with justice. Through body movement in relation to objects and spaces, along with short texts, she aims to open avenues for reflection on the development of social norms.




Exhibition Sponsor


This is one of the 200 exceptional projects funded through the Canada Council for the Arts’ New Chapter program. With this $35M investment, the Council supports the creation and sharing of the arts in communities across Canada.


Reading between the northern lines

an accompanying text by Sylvie Mainville

Viens is an invitation to delve into the familiar ― to drift along the thin blue lines of our time‑honoured Canada brand workbooks, the oh-so intimate card games and rituals of our childhood, the snowy expanses of our shared landscapes. Of this we are often and rightfully reminded: we come from somewhere. Three artists have invited us back.

First instruction upon entering the GNO’s public space: please remove your footwear.

But Viens is also an invitation to dive into the unfamiliar, where the workbook’s red margins become oddly faded, yet creep in here and there like a wallop of doubt that never could cross our minds until now, where new rules emerge and compel us, as if by intuitive magic, to play in new ways, where steadiness of movement is all it takes to provoke the birth of novel relationships.

The body serves to discover oneself and to discover others. Whatever the means ― walking, dancing, skating, snowshoeing, skiing ― you open up, despite the risks. Curiosity rules. You need only consent. I ask myself: Am I fit enough? Tall enough? Free enough?

Almost by chance, unawareness here stumbles into awareness there. It’s no longer a game. And we know all too well that nothing ever happens by chance. My all-powerful magic wands have gone silent, at least for now, while other repeated gestures bring new spheres to life. It’s bewildering. The little Canada workbook has morphed into a giant mattress stuffed with very personal vulnerabilities. The intimate self flows into the collective sphere, revealed for all to see. I can only shrink away and stand back to give it all the space it deserves.

In contact with brown kraft paper, snow seems to change colour merrily. I’m snow-oh-oh-oh-shoeing. But no, I’m wrong. It’s not snowshoeing; it’s a red animal in full flight. I have no idea where it’s heading, but I’m following.

In a moment of timeless presence, the nowhere slips into the now here and goes round and round. There’s but one thing to do: I knock back two more glasses of wine. The certainty of being from somewhere blurs away. There is no more North, no more Northern Ontario, no childhood snowshoes, no known instructions or norms… The certainty of being from somewhere becomes a fleeting intuition to pursue at your own risk. Truth be told, some nights, sleep does not come easy.

Duly noted: I can’t find my boots, but in my left pocket I discover an ace of hearts. Lucky me, I tell myself. Lucky me.

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#3553 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(9623) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2018-05-10 14:43:25" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-05-10 18:43:25" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(31) "But really, where are you from?" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(29) "but-really-where-are-you-from" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-07-11 14:55:05" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-07-11 18:55:05" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(43) "http://gn-o.org/?post_type=expo&p=9623" ["menu_order"]=> int(2) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
string(0) ""

Viens


Julie Lassonde, Mariana Lafrance, Pascaline Knight


16 février au 30 mars 2019


Exposition du 16 février au 30 mars 2019
Soirée de performances le samedi 16 février // Accueil à 16 h, performances à partir de 16 h 30


Viens

Pour leur première exploration performative collaborative sur le thème du Nouvel-Ontario, Pascaline Knight, Mariana Lafrance et Julie Lassonde interrogent la notion d’accueil et les conditions qui façonnent son succès ou ses écueils.

Avoir une maison dont les portes s’ouvrent grand; habiter son corps pour embrasser l’autre; être soi, solide sur ses pieds. L’accueil passe par l’équilibre entre l’individuel et le collectif, la sécurité et l’expérimentation, le risque et la bienveillance. Surtout, il exige la liberté de consentir à cette rencontre avec l’inconnu.

Le temps, le langage, l’égo sont des structures qui font écran à l’immédiateté des corps. Les performances des trois artistes réactualisent l’idée de la présence au corps, ce lieu premier, primal, à partir duquel la conscience et la parole émergent. L’ici et le maintenant ne sont peut-être pas ce qu’ils devraient être, mais l’émancipation du geste et du langage de leur médiation quotidienne permet d’imaginer d’autres modes de vivre-ensemble.

Par un ensemble de gestes absurdes ou poétiques, en solo ou en groupe, les trois artistes initient une conversation qui, nourrie par l’enfance des individus et des peuples, révèle les ambitions d’une francophonie en pleine ébullition.

Cette résidence de création s’inscrit dans le projet Manifeste de la Place des Arts.


Les artistes

Par des actions ponctuelles et performatives, Pascaline Knight utilise la marge rouge et les lignes bleues du cahier Canada afin de révéler les liens entre la présence et le corps. Sa pratique sonde ces structures implicites pour mettre au jour leur pouvoir normatif inconscient.

Mariana Lafrance crée de petits mondes absurdes tissés autant de mémoires fracturées que d’une invitation vers un futur intègre. Jeu d’enfant et sagesse, personnel et collectif se heurtent et se provoquent pour créer une installation vivante haute en couleur.

La pratique de Julie Lassonde mélange l’art et la justice. À travers le mouvement du corps en relation avec les objets et l’espace, et l’utilisation de courts textes, elle souhaite ouvrir des pistes de réflexion sur le développement des normes sociales.




Commanditaire d'exposition


Ce projet est l’un des 200 projets exceptionnels soutenus par le programme Nouveau chapitre du Conseil des arts du Canada. Avec cet investissement de 35 M$, le Conseil des arts appuie la création et le partage des arts au cœur de nos vies et dans l’ensemble du Canada.


Perdre le Nord entre les lignes

un texte d’accompagnement de Sylvie Mainville

Viens, c’est une invitation à plonger dans le familier — à se mouvoir entre les lignes bleues du célèbre cahier Canada, dans les jeux de cartes et les rituels combien intimes de notre enfance et dans la neige de nos paysages collectifs. On le dit souvent sans se tromper : nous sommes nés quelque part. Trois artistes nous y convient.

Première consigne en entrant dans l’espace public de la GNO : on se déchausse.

Mais Viens, c’est tout autant une invitation à se submerger dans l’inconnu où les marges rouges du cahier deviennent particulièrement floues et s’insinuent ici et là comme un doute en coup de poing qui jusqu’alors n’avait jamais pu nous traverser l’esprit, où de nouvelles règles émergent qui nous forcent — comme par une intuitive magie — à jouer autrement et où la constance du mouvement à lui seul peut déclencher l’enfantement de relations inédites.

Par le corps se pratiquent la découverte de soi et la découverte de l’autre. Peu importe le moyen : marche, danse, patin, raquettes, ski… On s’y ouvre malgré les risques. La curiosité s’impose. Il faut simplement y consentir. Suis-je suffisamment en forme, me dis-je? Suffisamment grande? Libre?

Presque par hasard, l’inconscience ici trébuche dans la conscience là-bas. Ce n’est plus un jeu. Et l’on sait bien par ailleurs que le hasard n’existe pas. Mes toutes-puissantes baguettes magiques se taisent. Du moins dans l’instant présent, pendant que d’autres gestes répétés mettent au monde de nouvelles sphères. Ça déconcerte. Le petit cahier Canada se transforme en un matelas géant gonflé par des vulnérabilités toutes personnelles. L’intime se déverse dans la sphère collective, se dévoile au grand jour. Rien d’autre à faire que de se faire tout-petit et de se tasser pour lui céder toute la place qu’il mérite.

En contact avec le papier kraft brun, la neige semble joyeusement changer de couleur. Je fais de la raquette, raquettiquetowtow… Non, je me trompe : ce n’est pas de la raquette, c’est plutôt un animal rouge en plein vol. Aucune idée où il se dirige, mais je le suis.

Dans le moment éternellement présent, le nowhere glisse vers le now here et tourne en rond. Une chose à faire : je prends d’affilée deux autres verres de vin. La certitude d’être née quelque part s’estompe : plus de Nord, plus de Nouvel-Ontario, plus de raquettes de mon enfance, plus de consignes ou de normes connues… La certitude d’être née quelque part devient une faible intuition à suivre à ses propres risques et périls. Il est vrai que parfois, il est difficile de s’endormir le soir.

Quelques constatations : je ne trouve plus mes bottes, mais je découvre dans ma poche gauche un as de cœur. J’ai de la chance, me dis-je. J’ai de la chance.

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#14503 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(9620) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2018-05-10 14:43:35" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-05-10 18:43:35" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(30) "Mais d'où viens-tu vraiment ?" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(26) "mais-dou-viens-tu-vraiment" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2019-01-09 11:20:06" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2019-01-09 16:20:06" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(43) "http://gn-o.org/?post_type=expo&p=9620" ["menu_order"]=> int(2) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
string(0) ""