SVP nourrir les animaux


Stefan St-Laurent


January - February 2021


At home residency
Virtual Zoom conference — March 11, 2021 at 5pm


In 2014, artist Stefan St-Laurent produced a body of work for an exhibition entitled S.v.p. nourrir les animaux (Please feed the animals), which was presented at AXENÉO7. His questions still persist: is it possible to intervene ethically in the animal world, without taking anything in return?

In 1973, British psychologist Richard D. Ryder coined the term “speciesism” to describe the widespread discrimination that is practiced by humans against other species; since that time, we have developed interesting expressions to describe our current relationship to the animal world: human supremacy, anthrocentrism, and human centralism. Some of us anthropomorphize animals to reestablish a bond with them; through this narcissistic game, we have lost sight of our own animality by projecting a host of human qualities onto animals. We train them to imitate us, and we move further away from them in this process. However, the best human-animal artistic collaborations are relational and are deeply rooted in reciprocal love and respect; exchange and freedom are an integral part of the creative process.

During his “at home” residency, St-Laurent will begin the design of an interdisciplinary work that incorporates diary entries, philosophy around animal ethics, performance, video, puppet art, and music.

Click here to RSVP to the free virtual conference.


The artist

Stefan St-Laurent, multidisciplinary artist and independent curator, was born in Moncton, New-Brunswick, and lives and works in Gatineau, Québec. He holds a Bachelor of Media Arts from Ryerson University in Toronto. His performance and video work has been presented in numerous galleries and institutions, including the Centre national de la photographie in Paris, Edsvik Konst och Kultur in Sollentuna (Sweden), YYZ in Toronto, Ottawa Art Gallery, Western Front in Vancouver, the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia in Halifax and the National Arts Centre in Ottawa. He has been a curator and programmer for a number of artistic organisations and festivals, including the Images Festival of Independent Film and Video, Lux Centre in London, the Cinémathèque Québécoise in Montréal, Festival international du cinéma francophone in Acadie in Moncton, and Pleasure Dome in Toronto. He was the guest curator for the Biennale d’art performatif de Rouyn-Noranda in 2008, and for the 28th and 29th Symposium international d’art contemporain de Baie-Saint-Paul in 2010 and 2011, in Quebec. From 2002 – 2011, he was Curator of Galerie SAW Gallery and from 2014 – 2019, Director of AXENÉO7 in Gatineau. He has been an Adjunct Professor in the Department of Visual Arts at Ottawa University since 2011.


S.v.p. nourrir les animaux, Stefan St-Laurent © 2017

SVP nourrir les animaux


Stefan St-Laurent


janvier - février 2021


Résidence à domicile
Conférence virtuelle sur Zoom — le 11 mars, 2021 à 17h


En 2014, l’artiste Stefan St-Laurent a produit un corpus d’œuvres pour une exposition intitulée S.v.p. nourrir les animaux, qui fût présentée à AXENÉO7. Ses questionnements persistent toujours: est-ce possible d’intervenir d’une façon éthique dans le monde animal, sans rien prendre en retour ? 

En 1973, le psychologue britannique Richard D. Ryder a inventé le terme « spécisme » pour décrire la discrimination très répandue qui est pratiquée par les humains à l’égard des autres espèces; depuis ce temps, nous avons élaboré des expressions intéressantes pour décrire notre rapport actuel au monde animal : suprématie humaine, anthrocentrisme, et centralisme humain. Certains d’entre nous anthropomorphisent les animaux pour rétablir un lien avec eux; à travers ce jeu narcissique, nous avons perdu de vue notre propre animalité en projetant une foule de qualités humaines sur les animaux. Nous dressons ces derniers pour qu’ils nous imitent, et nous nous éloignons encore plus d’eux par ce procédé. Cependant, les meilleures collaborations artistiques humaines–animales sont d’ordre relationnel et sont enracinées profondément dans l’amour réciproque et le respect mutuel; l’échange et la liberté font partie intégrante du processus de création. 

Lors de sa résidence à domicile, St-Laurent entamera la conception d’une œuvre interdisciplinaire qui incorpore le journal intime, la philosophie autour de l’éthique animale, la performance, la vidéo, l’art de marionnettes, et la musique. 

Cliquez ici pour RSVP à la conférence virtuelle gratuite.


L'artiste

Artiste multidisciplinaire et commissaire indépendant, Stefan St-Laurent est né à Moncton au Nouveau-Brunswick en 1974 et vit et travaille à Gatineau, Québec. Il est détenteur d’un baccalauréat en arts médiatiques de l’Université Ryerson de Toronto. Son travail performatif et vidéographique a été présenté dans de nombreuses galeries et institutions muséales au Canada (YYZ à Toronto; La Galerie d’art d’Ottawa; Ottawa Art gallery; Western Front à Vancouver; Art Gallery of Nova Scotia à Halifax; Théâtre français du Centre National des Arts à Ottawa) et en Europe (Centre national de la photographie de Paris; Centre d’art contemporain de Basse-Normandie; Edsvik Konst och Kultur en Suède). Il a été commissaire, directeur artistique et directeur de la programmation pour plusieurs organismes artistiques et festivals dont Images Festival of Independent Film and Video (Toronto), le Lux Centre (Londres), la Cinémathèque québécoise (Montréal), le Festival international du cinéma francophone en Acadie (Moncton), Canada House (Londres), Pleasure Dome (Toronto) et Vtape (Toronto). En 2008, il était le commissaire invité de la Biennale d’art performatif de Rouyn-Noranda, et en 2010 et 2011, était commissaire du Symposium international d’art contemporain de Baie-Saint-Paul au Québec. Il a agi à titre de commissaire de la Galerie SAW Gallery à Ottawa de 2002 à 2012, et était directeur d’AXENÉO7 à Gatineau de 2014 à 2019. Il est professeur auxiliaire au Département des arts visuels de l’Université d’Ottawa depuis 2011.


S.v.p. nourrir les animaux, Stefan St-Laurent © 2017