Connections


Norman Barney


august - october 2021


At home residency


Art, as a way of life, links a person to their environment – to others, to nature, to places, to the past and to the present. The artistic way of life is a daily enactment of the personal with the world at large. Observation and awareness are paramount in this committed lifestyle.

As part of his “at home” residency, Barney will share his artistic process in both his studio in Petrolia and in his summer studio on Manitoulin Island. He will share his approach, as he finds new art materials, maintains his gardens, walks with his dogs in the forest and along the shores of Windfall Lake. He will also interact with other artists who will visit the Manitoulin and Petrolia sites.


The artist

Norman Barney is a multimedia artist who currently works at his studios in Petrolia and on Manitoulin Island. His themes are based on cultural stereotypes, kitsch, nostalgia, and tourism. His work consists of wall hung and free-standing assemblages and paintings. His recent acrylic paintings utilize the odd interactions of bright color, texture, pattern, collaged fabrics, found objects and shine by the addition of mirror paint, glitter, and bling. Continuing with his theme of cultural stereotypes, he also has been working with installation using found objects, kitsch, memorabilia, and furniture. His work is a sophisticated form of Outsider Art or Art Singular. Norman is also a member of an Art Singular group called Remix Collective.

Connexions


Norman Barney


août - octobre 2021


Résidence à domicile


L’art, en tant que mode de vie, relie une personne à son environnement — aux autres, à la nature, aux lieux, au passé et au présent. Le mode de vie artistique est une mise en acte quotidienne du personnel avec le monde dans son ensemble. L’observation et la sensibilisation sont primordiales dans ce mode de vie engagé.

Dans le cadre de sa résidence à domicile, Barney partagera son processus artistique chez lui à Petrolia et dans son studio d’été sur l’île Manitoulin. Il partagera sa démarche, alors qu’il trouve de nouveaux matériaux d’art, entretient ses jardins, se promène avec ses chiens dans la forêt et le long des rives du lac Windfall. Il interagira également avec d’autres artistes qui visiteront les sites de Manitoulin et Petrolia.


L'artiste

Norman Barney est un artiste multimédia qui travaille actuellement dans ses studios de Petrolia et de l’île Manitoulin. Ses thèmes sont basés sur les stéréotypes culturels, le kitsch, la nostalgie et le tourisme. Son travail se compose d’assemblages et de peintures murales et autoportantes. Ses peintures acryliques récentes utilisent les interactions étranges de couleurs vives, de textures, de motifs, de tissus collés, d’objets trouvés et de brillance par l’ajout de peinture miroir, de paillettes et de bling. Poursuivant son thème des stéréotypes culturels, il a également travaillé avec des installations utilisant des objets trouvés, du kitsch, des souvenirs et des meubles. Son travail est une forme sophistiquée d’art brut ou d’art singulier. Norman est également membre d’un groupe Art Singular appelé Remix Collective.