Portraits


Aurélien Muller, Natalie Rivet


February 16 to March 29, 2018


Exhibition February 16 to March 29, 2018
Opening Friday February 16, at 5 pm


Portraits

What do portraits of medieval kings and modern-day selfies have in common? Setting a self-representation to canvas, print or screen implies selecting from among the person’s attributes. Posture, setting and emotion contribute to the expression of a self-narrative, which incidentally involves a fictional component.

Memory works similarly. It sorts through remembered details, downplays some, emphasizes others, perhaps even rearranges the course of events. The viewer must therefore demystify an image that is meant to be seen as familiar, in order to recognize the fictional component and question its consequences: does the truthfulness of an anecdote ensure the emotion it elicits?

“We are what we pretend to be,” wrote Kurt Vonnegut. In every portrait, there is inevitably a degree of pretense, or at least a discrepancy. In a projection, a representation or a performance, a face is looked at differently, staringly, as if it exists apart from the individual who is showing it. And, significantly, we see it through a medium, which influences how it is viewed.

Stemming from a collaborative effort between a photographer and a painter in search of new ways to represent individuals, Portraits is an exhibition that explores the multiple variations of portraiture in visual arts.


Aurélien Muller’s work combines analog and digital photography. The artist explores the representation of identity and ideology through an approach akin to documentary research. His approach also aims to uncover the historical relationships that human beings have with photography.

Natalie Rivet explores family history through the recreation of photos in paintings and drawings. Reinterpreting events drawn from the sphere of intimacy, her paintings and hand-made photo albums bring to light the subjectivity inherent in all acts of remembrance.




Exhibition Sponsor


unexpected canvas

an accompanying text by Maude Bourassa Francoeur

With paintings that capture key scenes of childhood in the Kapuskasing area alongside photos and videos of people from the community of Sudbury, the exhibition Portraits offers an encounter with familiarity. My encounter happens on two levels: I recognize faces that I might see again soon on downtown streets, and I remember winter memories that I look forward to recreating as I settle into my new home community of Sudbury.

There is always falling snow. It’s omnipresent in the paintings that Natalie Rivet exhibited at the GNO in February and March, evoking happy days of childhood spent ice fishing, snowmobiling and snowshoeing. The artist’s snowflake-covered memories are familiar realities for most residents of northern Ontario. Bundled up in fluorescent snowsuits, the figures in the paintings allow me to gaze freely into their dark, but smiling eyes. Their faces seem to light up, come alive and invite me to join them, to venture into the snowy underbrush with webbed sinew fastened to my boots.

The sense of intimacy I feel in these portraits is like browsing through a family photo album and remembering how sweet life is in childhood when you’re swaying along on a sled. These faces reddened by the cold, frozen in the moment by the painter’s brush, have a life of their own, not just here, but elsewhere, in photos from her family archives that Rivet has chosen with care. In fact, her paintings consist of reconstituted snapshots that her father captured with a film camera, the vital device for creating instant memories in the 1990s. Rivet undertook this task in order to share these moments with her grandmother, but also to understand her position within her clan. Her new compositions of these scenes may add or remove some family members, allowing her to claim her place as the youngest daughter of a large family in nostalgic pictorial works.

A remarkable aspect of these wintry-hued paintings is the direction of the subjects’ gaze. Fully aware of the lens, they proudly strike a pose for posterity. Knowing that you’re being looked at changes everything. It might also be that viewing a developed photo weeks after the shutter clicks somehow changes self-perception. Not being able to see our image immediately after it is captured avoids us the experience of discovering, sometimes with some surprise, that we look like that; others see us like that. With the advent of digital photography, this reflex has become commonplace and it intrigues Aurélien Muller, a Toronto-based artist who has collaborated with Rivet in this exhibition.

In his current practice, he calls into question the habits of consumers of images in our digital era where everyone can dabble in photography. Focusing on the portraits of today, he questions their composition, as well as what hides behind them. His installation, facing Rivet’s paintings, is essentially a wall of bare computer screens that quickly flash unintelligible code, along with a series of faces which I gradually learn to recognize. Here, the subjects’ gaze is not as intense, because it is often directed toward the bluish glow of a cell phone. This thoroughly modern accessory, truly an extension of the human body, sneaks its way into the portraits almost automatically. The device facilitates Muller’s meeting with his models, who jump at the first opportunity to take refuge in the virtual dimension. Instantaneously connected with others, absorbed by their screens, people relax; they no longer pose for the camera and even forget that they’re being looked at. Cyberspace has whisked them away, and that’s what makes the portrait so natural: the mask falls and exposes a subject who is no longer playing a part.

Ironically, when I was invited to have my photo taken, I decided not to bring my cell phone. The palpable emptiness in my pocket and my palms felt like a phantom limb and I was forced to look at Aurélien during the photo shoot. The cell phone as a crutch for human interactions, always within reach, contains a wealth of information, like digital DNA made from our data. Whereas in Rivet’s paintings, the quest for identity revolves around nostalgia and the family clan, for Muller, it is based on connection and the (over)use of portable devices. The persons who posed for him become exposed, firstly on the computer screens, secondly by their data, and thirdly in the installation that stands in the gallery space.

The end result of these two artists’ collaboration rises like an igloo made of cathode TV screens, the intermediate technology between the two time periods and the two media used in their works. Simultaneously static and moving, a person’s image is recomposed for a brief moment on screen. The composition is duplicated: it appears as both a black and white photo and as several traits painted directly on the pixelated surface. It is not meant to last; after a brief moment, the image disappears and another portrait takes its place. Still static, it appears again two screens away, but now it is covered by another person’s silhouette. Many persons are superimposed in this manner, before finding their rightful place behind their appropriate twin image defined by Rivet’s painting.

I sit there long enough to see faces reach their own place, united by two media. I begin to recognize some of them, distinguishable by their build, their conspicuous glasses, their shy smiles and especially their phone, which each subject holds preciously. Like a game of Guess Who? displayed on the sacred screen that once served as a place of communion, portraits of a community are produced over the course of several steps. Snow crackles in this unexpected but not inconsequential canvas, reminding us of the snow that sparkles on our memories, those that we uncover in photo albums of times past and those that we create and share with a simple click. Portraits, intimate and social, static and mobile, nostalgic and contemporary, draw me into these two artists’ world and project me into a dual dimension that is as paradoxical as a spring snowstorm.

____________________________________________

A recent citizen of Sudbury, Maude Bourassa Francoeur works at Éditions Prise de parole as a community narrative production assistant.

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#3455 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(8293) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2017-10-24 14:21:04" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2017-10-24 18:21:04" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(19) "Nouveau Louvre 2017" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(19) "nouveau-louvre-2017" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-07-10 14:30:55" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-07-10 18:30:55" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(43) "http://gn-o.org/?post_type=expo&p=8293" ["menu_order"]=> int(7) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
object(WP_Post)#3346 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(9575) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2018-03-23 15:50:38" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-03-23 19:50:38" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(10) "Wanderlust" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(10) "wanderlust" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-07-10 14:30:55" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-07-10 18:30:55" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(43) "http://gn-o.org/?post_type=expo&p=9575" ["menu_order"]=> int(3) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" }

Portraits


Aurélien Muller, Natalie Rivet


16 février au 29 mars 2018


Exposition du 16 février au 29 mars 2018.
Vernissage le vendredi 16 février à 17 h.


Portraits

Qu’ont en commun les peintures des rois du Moyen Âge et les égoportraits de nos contemporains ? La fixation de la représentation de soi – sur une toile, un imprimé ou un écran – signifie que s’opère une sélection parmi les attributs d’une personne. Posture, décor, émotion concourent à transmettre un récit de soi, où s’invite incidemment une part de fiction.

De la même façon fonctionne la mémoire, qui trie les souvenirs et en estompe certains au profit d’autres, voire réécrit le cours des événements. Il s’agit alors de démystifier ce qui se conçoit comme familier pour y cerner la part d’invention, et en interroger les conséquences : est-ce que la véracité d’une anecdote est garante de l’émotion qu’elle provoque ?

« We are what we pretend to be », écrivait Kurt Vonnegut. Il y a assurément une part de prétention, ou du moins un décalage, dans tout portrait. Projeté, représenté, performé, le visage se regarde autrement, se dévisage comme s’il existait indépendamment de l’individu qui le porte. Surtout, il se consomme à travers son support, qui vient influencer sa réception.

Fruit de la collaboration entre un photographe et une peintre en quête de nouvelles façons de représenter les individus, l’exposition Portraits explore les multiples déclinaisons du portrait en arts visuels.


Le travail d’Aurélien Muller combine photographie analogique et numérique. L’artiste traite des représentations de l’identité et de l’idéologie avec une approche qui rappelle la recherche documentaire. Sa démarche vise également à mettre au jour les rapports historiques que l’humain entretient avec la photo.

Natalie Rivet explore l’histoire familiale à travers la recréation, par la peinture et le dessin, de photographies. En réinterprétant des événements de l’ordre de l’intime, ses toiles et ses albums de photos faits à la main mettent en lumière la subjectivité inhérente à tout acte de mémoire.




Commanditaire de l'exposition


canevas inattendu

un texte d’accompagnement par Maude Bourassa Francoeur

À la fois rassemblant des peintures qui croquent des scènes clés d’une enfance dans la région de Kapuskasing et des photos et vidéos de gens de la communauté sudburoise, l’exposition Portraits propose un face-à-face au familier. Cette rencontre agit autant par la reconnaissance des visages que je risque de recroiser dans les rues du centre-ville, que par les souvenirs que provoquent les tableaux hivernaux et que je souhaite recréer à mesure que je m’installe dans ce nouveau chez moi qu’est Sudbury.

La neige ne cesse jamais de tomber. Omniprésente dans les peintures de Natalie Rivet exposées en février et mars derniers à la GNO, elle évoque son enfance passée entre parties de pêche sur la glace, rides de ski-doo et randonnées en raquettes. Les flocons recouvrent les souvenirs de l’artiste et rappellent une réalité partagée par une majorité des résidents du nord de l’Ontario. Bien emmitouflés dans leur habit de neige fluorescent, les personnages des tableaux m’offrent leur regard franc aux yeux sombres, mais souriants. Les traits de leur visage semblent s’illuminer, prendre vie et m’inviter à les rejoindre, à enfiler ma paire de babiches pour faire un tour dans le sous-bois enneigé.

La sensation bien intime que j’ai face à ces portraits est celle de feuilleter un album de famille et de me remémorer combien douce est l’enfance lorsqu’on se retrouve bercé à l’arrière d’un traîneau. Ces figures aux joues rougies par le froid, figées par le pinceau de l’artiste ont une vie propre, ailleurs en photo que Rivet a soigneusement excavée de ses archives familiales. En se fiant sur les clichés pris par son père à l’aide d’une caméra argentique, accessoire essentiel à la création de souvenirs instantanés dans les années 1990, elle a entrepris un travail de reconstitution dans le but de partager ces moments avec sa grand-mère, mais surtout de comprendre où elle se situe au sein de son clan. Rivet ajoute ou soustrait des membres de sa parenté aux compositions originelles et surtout reprend sa place en tant que benjamine d’une fratrie nombreuse dans ses œuvres picturales nostalgiques.

Ce qui frappe particulièrement sur ces toiles aux couleurs bien hivernales, c’est la direction du regard du sujet. Pleinement conscient de l’objectif dirigé sur lui, il s’ajuste et pose fièrement pour la postérité. Savoir qu’on est regardé change tout. Et peut-être que de voir le résultat développé des semaines après le moment où le flash frappe nos pupilles change aussi la perception que l’on a de soi. Ne pas être en mesure de regarder notre image immédiatement après sa capture nous évite de découvrir, parfois avec surprise, que l’on ressemble à ça. Que c’est ainsi que les autres nous voient. C’est un réflexe qui s’est développé avec l’arrivée du numérique et qui intrigue également Aurélien Muller, artiste basé à Toronto qui a collaboré avec Rivet pour cette exposition.

Dans sa pratique actuelle, il questionne les habitudes prises par les consommateurs d’images à notre ère où tous peuvent s’improviser photographes. Faisant du portrait son sujet de prédilection, il interroge à la fois sa composition à notre époque et ce qui se cache derrière. Son installation qui fait face aux tableaux est une sorte de murs d’écrans d’ordinateur mis à nu où défilent rapidement des codes au sens incertain et des visages qui peu à peu me deviennent familiers. Ici, le regard de ses sujets n’a pas la même force, car souvent dirigé vers la lueur bleue de leur téléphone cellulaire. Cet accessoire bien de notre temps, véritable extension du corps humain, se faufile presqu’automatiquement dans le portrait. L’appareil facilite la rencontre entre Muller et ses modèles qui se réfugient à la première occasion dans une dimension virtuelle. Connectés instantanément à d’autres, absorbés par leur écran, les gens se détendent, ne posent plus pour la caméra et finissent même par oublier que quelqu’un les regarde. Le cyberespace les a happés ailleurs. Et c’est ce qui rend le portrait si naturel, les masques tombent et exposent un sujet qui ne joue plus un rôle.

Ironiquement, lorsqu’on m’a invitée à me faire photographier, j’ai décidé de ne pas apporter mon cellulaire. Le vide palpable dans ma poche et dans mes paumes évoquait la sensation d’un membre fantôme et m’a obligée à diriger mon regard vers Aurélien lors de la séance. Le cellulaire en tant que béquille aux interactions humaines, toujours à portée de main, renferme son lot d’informations, comme un ADN numérique composé de nos données. Si chez Rivet la quête identitaire se forge autour de la nostalgie du clan familial, chez Muller, elle s’articule autour de la connexion et de la (sur)utilisation du portable. Les gens qui ont posé pour lui se retrouvent exposés, une première fois sur les écrans d’ordinateur, une deuxième fois par leurs données et une troisième fois dans l’installation qui trône au fond de la galerie.

Le fruit de leur collaboration s’érige en igloo formé de télévisions cathodiques, objet transitionnel entre les deux époques et les deux médiums proposés par les artistes. Alliant fixité et mouvement, une seule et même personne se recompose un bref instant sur l’appareil. Dédoublée, à la fois en une photo noir et blanc et en une série de traits colorés peints directement sur la surface pixélisée, la composition n’est pas faite pour durer, car déjà, la photo disparaît et laisse place à un autre portrait. Dans sa fixité, elle bougera deux écrans plus loin, recouverte par la silhouette d’un inconnu. Plusieurs personnes se superposent ainsi, avant de retrouver leur place sous leur double figé par la peinture de Rivet.

Je reste assise assez longtemps pour voir des visages regagner leur place, réunis par les deux médiums. Je commence à reconnaître des gens, à les distinguer par leur carrure, leurs lunettes exubérantes, leur sourire gêné et surtout par le téléphone que tous ont précieusement à la main. Comme un jeu de Guess Who? qui s’affiche sur l’objet sacré autrefois rassembleur, les portraits d’une communauté se dessinent en plusieurs temps. Et la neige qui grésille sur ce canevas inattendu, mais pas anodin rappelle celle qui parsème nos souvenirs, ceux que l’on trouve dans les albums du passé et ceux que l’on crée et que l’on partage à coups de clics. Portrait intime et social, fixe et mobile, nostalgique et contemporain, cette incursion dans le monde des deux artistes réussit à me projeter dans une double dimension, aussi paradoxale qu’une bordée de neige au printemps.

____________________________________________

Nouvellement arrivée à Sudbury, Maude Bourassa Francoeur est adjointe à la production de récits communautaires aux Éditions Prise de parole.

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#13047 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(8289) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2017-10-24 14:20:53" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2017-10-24 18:20:53" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(22) "Le Nouveau Louvre 2017" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(19) "nouveau-louvre-2017" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-07-10 14:13:02" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-07-10 18:13:02" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(43) "http://gn-o.org/?post_type=expo&p=8289" ["menu_order"]=> int(7) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
object(WP_Post)#13050 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(9573) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2018-03-23 15:50:52" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-03-23 19:50:52" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(10) "Wanderlust" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(10) "wanderlust" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-07-10 14:09:36" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-07-10 18:09:36" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(43) "http://gn-o.org/?post_type=expo&p=9573" ["menu_order"]=> int(3) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" }