Paysages sacrés


Keesic Douglas, Jose Angel Rodriguez


February 4th to March 4th 2011



This exhibition is sponsored by Pine Needle Productions and Can Sign Industries. Our season sponsors are, CBON, la Première Chaîne, Espace musique and Radio-Canada Television | Internet.


Paysages sacrés

Works by two aboriginal artists from both ends of the continent converge in this exhibit: Keesic Douglas an Ojibway from the Rama First Nation in central Ontario and José Angel Rodriguez, a Mestizo from Chiapas in Southern Mexico. Though their cultural backgrounds differ, these two photographers share an objective: they tell the stories of their people in images and in spirit.

Keesic Douglas’ contribution to the exhibit is four large colour photos, the subject of which is the land itself. Each work consists of two scenes composed by the artist: the image on the left represents a typical, peaceful scene of Canada’s North, while the one on the right is largely a mirror image, yet tells a very different story. Douglas thereby raises important questions concerning the rights of First Nations and the loss of certain customs. There are no people in these photos, yet the presence of a community defending its rights is ingrained in them.

For his part, José Angel Rodriguez presents a photo selection of religious ceremonies and rituals he has taken over the last thirty years. Some are the result of a complicit exchange between the artist and the subject; some are captured in silent waiting for just the right moment; all reveal a story. Furthermore, to add to the mystical tone of this project, Rodriguez’s photos are developed with palladium, an ancestral technique that necessitates sunlight. He explores this practice on traditional surfaces such as Aztec paper, stones and drum skins.


Keesic Douglas lives and works in Toronto. He has a MFA from the University of British Columbia and a BFA in photography from the Ontario College of Art & Design in Toronto. His works have been exhibited in Ontario, Manitoba and British Columbia.

Jose Angel Rodriguezhas been an active photographer for forty years. His works have been exhibited many times in Mexico as well as in the United States and in Europe. His first book “Vidas Ceremoniales” (Ceremonial Lives) was published in 1991 and his second, “Cazador de Imagenes” (Hunter of Images), in 2002. Rodriguez is also a professor of photography at the Universidad Intercultural de Chiapas.

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#4715 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(4123) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2015-12-10 16:27:45" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2015-12-10 21:27:45" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(16) "Marges coulantes" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(16) "marges-coulantes" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-05-22 11:40:21" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-05-22 15:40:21" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(46) "http://gn-o.org/en/?post_type=expo&p=4123" ["menu_order"]=> int(108) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
object(WP_Post)#4714 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(4062) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2015-12-09 15:43:23" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2015-12-09 20:43:23" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(18) "Empreinte du temps" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(18) "empreinte-du-temps" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-05-22 11:40:21" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-05-22 15:40:21" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(46) "http://gn-o.org/en/?post_type=expo&p=4062" ["menu_order"]=> int(105) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" }

Paysages sacrés


Keesic Douglas, Jose Angel Rodriguez


4 février au 4 mars 2011



Cette exposition est commanditée par Pine Needle Productions et Can Sign Industries. Nos commanditaires de saison sont CBON, la Première Chaîne, Espace musique, Radio-Canada Télévision | Internet.


Paysages sacrés

L’exposition regroupe les œuvres de deux artistes autochtones vivant aux deux extrémités du continent : Keesic Douglas, un Ojibway de Rama First Nation en Ontario et José Angel Rodriguez, un Mestizo du Chiapas au sud du Mexique. Même si leurs bagages culturels diffèrent, les deux photographes ont ici un objectif commun : raconter visuellement et spirituellement des histoires de leur peuple.

Keesic Douglas nous propose, pour sa part, quatre œuvres grand format en couleur où la terre même est le sujet. Chaque œuvre est composée de deux scènes montées par l’artiste, l’image de gauche représentant un paysage paisible typique du Nord canadien et celle de droite, quasiment sa réflexion, nous racontant une tout autre histoire. C’est ainsi que Douglas soulève des questions importantes concernant les droits des Premières Nations et la perte de certaines coutumes. On ne voit personne dans ces photos, mais la présence d’une communauté défendant ses droits y est gravée.

De son côté, José Angel Rodriguez nous offre une sélection de photos de cérémonies et de rituels religieux qu’il a accumulées depuis une trentaine d’années. Que celles-ci proviennent d’un échange complice entre l’artiste et le sujet ou qu’elles aient été captées dans le silence et l’attente du moment propice, chaque image dévoile une histoire. De plus, pour ajouter au ton mystique de l’œuvre, Rodriguez travaille avec le palladium, une technique ancestrale où la photo est développée au soleil. Il explore cette pratique sur des surfaces traditionnelles telles, le papier aztèque, la pierre et la peau de tambour.


Keesic Douglas vit et travaille à Toronto. Il a obtenu sa maîtrise en arts plastiques à l’University of British Columbia et son baccalauréat en photographie au Ontario College of Art & Design à Toronto. Ses œuvres ont été exposées en Ontario, au Manitoba et en Colombie-Britannique.

Jose Angel Rodriguez pratique la photographie depuis quarante ans. Ses œuvres ont été présentées de nombreuses fois au Mexique ainsi qu’aux États-Unis et en Europe. Son premier livre, « Vidas Ceremoniales » (Vies cérémoniales), a été publié en 1991 et son deuxième, « Cazador de Imagenes » (Chasseur d’images), en 2002. Rodriguez est aussi professeur de photographie à l’Universidad Intercultural de Chiapas.