Marges coulantes


Ilona Staples


October 21st to November 20th 2010



This exhibition is sponsored by Over the Atlantic Interactive. Our season sponsors are, CBON, la Première Chaîne, Espace musique and Radio-Canada Television | Internet.


Marges coulantes

The term “leaky margins” is used by the scientist Peter Russell to describe how substances pass through the porous membranes of cells. For her part, the artist Ilona Staples uses the term as a metaphor to represent the permeability of our world’s socio-political and economic borders.

Her digital work Global Subway Net represents an imaginary network of 140 subway stations and underground rapid transit systems on our planet. The network is outlined by dots and fine lines; some are close together, some are far apart, according to the concentration of underground services that are present in the area. The extent of this development beneath our feet might feel unsettling.

In another work, Staples shaped the names of the 172 members of the UN out of thousands of red tie wraps that are bended, twisted and tied together in a 130-foot long structure. This work, entitled Ties that Bind, hangs like a huge string of rosary beads and, like a collective prayer, it expresses the importance of this vast union for Earth’s equilibrium.

In her work entitled National Drift, the artist reconfigures Earth’s geography, relocates territories, lakes and natural resources, envelops and redistributes them to accommodate specific needs. Where else on the planet could the Great Lakes be useful?

Bio-box is a labelled box that sits near the door of the gallery. Has it been delivered there, or is it waiting to be picked up? On closer inspection, hand-painted letters provide autobiographical information about the artist’s family, such as the number of their federal immigration file.


Ilona Staples lives and works in Toronto. She studied at Concordia University in Montreal and at the Ontario College of Art and Design. Her works have been exhibited across Canada, the United States and Europe. Her project Réseau métro global was supported by a grant from the Toronto Arts Council.

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#3622 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(4144) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2015-12-10 17:11:25" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2015-12-10 22:11:25" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(29) "Traces et empreintes urbaines" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(29) "traces-et-empreintes-urbaines" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-05-22 11:40:21" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-05-22 15:40:21" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(54) "http://gn-o.org/en/expo/traces-et-empreintes-urbaines/" ["menu_order"]=> int(111) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
object(WP_Post)#3621 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(4101) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2015-12-09 16:50:09" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2015-12-09 21:50:09" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(16) "Paysages sacrés" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(15) "paysages-sacres" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-05-22 11:40:21" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-05-22 15:40:21" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(46) "http://gn-o.org/en/?post_type=expo&p=4101" ["menu_order"]=> int(106) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" }

Marges coulantes


Ilona Staples


21 octobre au 20 novembre 2010



Cette exposition est commanditée par Over the Atlantic Interactive. Nos commanditaires de saison sont CBON, la Première Chaîne, Espace musique, Radio-Canada Télévision | Internet.


Marges coulantes

Le terme Marges coulantes provient du scientifique Peter Russell pour décrire le passage de substances à travers les membranes poreuses des cellules. L’artiste Ilona Staples de son côté utilise ce terme commemétaphore pour représenter la perméabilité des frontières socio- politiques et économiques du monde.

Son œuvre numérique Réseau métro global représente un réseau imaginaire des 140 stations de métro et systèmes de transit rapide sous terrain de la planète. Il est mis en relief par des points et des fines lignes, tantôt rapprochées tantôt distantes, selon la concentration des services sous terrains des régions en question. Il semblerait que l’ampleur de ce développement sous nos pieds pourrait être déstabilisant…

Staples trace le noms des 172 nations membres de l’ONU à l’aide de milliers d’attaches rouges pliées, tordues et reliées dans une pièce de 130 pieds de longueur. L’œuvre, Liens d’attache, est suspendue aumur telle un immense chapelet et, comme une prière collective, elle rappelle l’importance qu’a cette grande union sur l’équilibre de la terre.

Avec l’œuvre Dérive nationale l’artiste reconfigure la géographiede la terre, déplace des territoires, des lacs et des ressources naturelles, les enveloppe et les redistribue afin d’accommoder des besoins spécifiques. Est-ce que les Grands Lacs pourraient servir ailleurs?

Boîte-bio
, une boîte libellée, est assise près de la porte d’entréede la galerie. Est-ce qu’elle arrive ou est-ce qu’elle attend d’être ramassée? En s’approchant on perçoit des lettres peintes à la main qui communiquent des renseignements autobiographiques de la famille de l’artiste tel leurnuméro de dossier d’immigration fédéral.


Ilona Staples vit et œuvre à Toronto. Elle a fait ses études à l’Université Concordia de Montréal et au Ontario College of Art and Design. Ses œuvres ont été présentées au Canada, aux Etats-Unis et en Europe. Le projet Réseau métro global a été subventionné par un don du Conseil des arts de Toronto.

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#14943 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(4127) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2015-12-10 17:11:25" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2015-12-10 22:11:25" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(29) "Traces et empreintes urbaines" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(29) "traces-et-empreintes-urbaines" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-05-22 11:40:21" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-05-22 15:40:21" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(43) "http://gn-o.org/?post_type=expo&p=4127" ["menu_order"]=> int(111) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
object(WP_Post)#14942 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(4088) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2015-12-09 16:49:53" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2015-12-09 21:49:53" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(16) "Paysages sacrés" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(15) "paysages-sacres" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-05-22 11:40:21" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-05-22 15:40:21" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(43) "http://gn-o.org/?post_type=expo&p=4088" ["menu_order"]=> int(106) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" }