Evocation


Mary Green


March 7 th to April 19 th 2014


opening Friday March 7 th



Exhibition Sponsor


Evocation

Is a picture worth a thousand words? A troubling question if only in its treacherous simplicity. The answer depends on the picture and the words involved, does it not? In the case of Mary Green’s latest work, the words do take centre stage, but not with Hollywood blockbuster aplomb, no CGI thunder-and-lightning.
On entering the gallery, the visitor finds the wall space populated with a series of photographs, each accompanied by headphones and a media player. The subject matter is the stuff of Mary’s dreamtime. The images are frequently in soft focus or blurred. There are tight compositions of the human figure and northern Ontario landscape that drift in a space both familiar and off-kilter. The fronds of frost on a winter window. A distant bench – empty – with a backdrop of a lake viewed through a loose screen of trees. A jumble of an unmade bed caught in a light-slice from a partially opened door. Like snap shots that catch but do not capture. A suggestion, a trace of half-remembering.

These photographs are the sign posts for the stations on an acoustical journey.

The headphones mark the passage of the artist. They offer the visitor Mary’s recent “poetic works”, coloured with an intense emotional power and a spare beauty. Hardly verbose, Mary is a master of more is less. Each work is a brief excursion, wrought with a clustering of words and phrases polished to slow perfection. Each resonates, like grouse drumming, half heard, half felt long after the sound file has ended. In the ensuing silence the photographs linger.

Does this exhibition point to a new orientation in her creativity? When I asked Mary if she saw writing as a key element in future work, she shrugged. Her tools are those that best serve her purpose. Whatever inspiration tomorrow heralds, it is then the search begins for what is the most appropriate in bringing the idea to life.

I do hope that Mary Green stays her course with her writings, but if not, I am happy that she came this way once – there is a world of wonder in her words.

Paul Walty
Toronto, 2014

Mary Green is an artist who works in response to the visual forms and geography of her surroundings. Whether they be Sudbury’s jagged edges, the boundaries drawn by four walls or the levels of light dictated by the seasons – they all influence her being and her work.

She is a multi-disciplined artist, using whatever materials are needed for a particular expression. Experimentation is never for its own sake; the idea is to match the concepts with the medium. Through personal reflection she reaches for the universal.

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#3621 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(2966) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2015-11-06 15:02:29" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2015-11-06 20:02:29" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(24) "FAAS 3 : Square Foot Art" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(25) "faas-3-lart-au-pied-carre" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-07-06 16:00:39" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-07-06 20:00:39" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(50) "http://gn-o.org/en/expo/faas-3-lart-au-pied-carre/" ["menu_order"]=> int(87) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
object(WP_Post)#3619 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(1441) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2015-08-25 13:29:56" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2015-08-25 17:29:56" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(43) "FAAS 4 - Fair of Alternative Art in Sudbury" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(39) "faas-4-foire-dart-alternatif-de-sudbury" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-07-06 15:54:50" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-07-06 19:54:50" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(78) "http://gno.scottbuckingham.ca/en/expo/faas-4-foire-dart-alternatif-de-sudbury/" ["menu_order"]=> int(84) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" }

Evocation


Mary Green


7 mars au 19 avril 2014


vernissage le vendredi 7 mars



Commanditaire de l'exposition


Evocation

Une image vaut-elle mille mots? Tout au moins, la simplicité traîtresse de la question est troublante. N’est-ce pas que la réponse découle du choix d’image et de mots? Dans le cas du travail récent de Mary Green, les mots s’emparent de l’avant-scène, mais sans l’aplomb des blockbusters hollywoodiens, sans tonnerre ni éclairs issus d’un ordinateur.

À la galerie, le visiteur découvre les murs peuplés d’une série d’œuvres photographiques toutes accompagnées d’écouteurs et d’un lecteur média. La matière de base est tirée de l’imaginaire à Mary. Les images sont souvent floues et indistinctes. Il y a des plans serrés de la figure humaine et du paysage nord-ontarien qui sont à la dérive dans un espace à la fois familier et décalé. Les filaments givrés d’une fenêtre en hiver. Un banc lointain – vide – avec un lac en arrière-plan qu’on perçoit par l’écran dégagé des arbres. Le pêle-mêle d’un lit défait, épinglé par la tranche de lumière d’une porte entrouverte. Tels des clichés qui captent le moment sans le saisir. Une suggestion, la trace d’un mi-souvenir.

Ces photos sont les panneaux de signalisation indiquant les stations d’un pèlerinage acoustique.

Les écouteurs témoignent du passage de l’artiste. On y retrouve les « œuvres poétiques » récentes de Mary, colorées d’une force émotionnelle intense et d’une beauté toute simple. Aucunement verbeuse, Mary maîtrise le « moins, c’est plus. » Chaque texte devient une brève excursion parsemée de grappes de mots et de phrases parfaitement mijotées à feu doux. Chacun des textes résonne, comme le tambourinage de la gélinotte, et nous habite longtemps après la fin de l’enregistrement. On s’attarde aux images dans le silence qui s’ensuit.

L’exposition indique-t-elle une nouvelle orientation à la créativité de Mary? Quand je lui demande si l’écriture sera aussi essentielle dans ses futurs travaux, elle ne fait que hausser les épaules. Elle s’outillera en fonction de son objectif. Peu importe l’inspiration exacte à l’horizon, c’est bien là que commence la recherche de la meilleure voie pour faire naître l’idée.

Je souhaite que Mary continue son exploration de l’écriture, et si ce n’est pas le cas, je suis content qu’elle s’y soit attardée cette fois-ci – il y a tout un monde de merveilles dans ses mots.

Paul Walty
Toronto, 2014

Mary Green est une artiste qui travaille en réponse aux formes visuelles et la géographie de ses alentours. Qu’il s’agisse des rugosités et des aspérités de la vie sudburoise, des limites imposées par quatre murs ou l’intensité de la lumière dictée par les saisons – tout cela influence son existence et son travail.

Elle est une artiste multidisciplinée utilisant les matériaux à sa portée qui sont nécessaires à une expression particulière. L’expérimentation n’est jamais une fin en soi. L’idée est de marier le concept au médium. Par la réflexion personnelle, elle vise l’universel.

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#14537 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(501) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2015-08-11 13:49:10" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2015-08-11 17:49:10" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(41) "From the Ground to the Sky and Back Again" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(40) "from-the-sky-to-the-earth-and-back-again" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-07-06 15:47:34" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-07-06 19:47:34" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(56) "http://gno.scottbuckingham.ca/?post_type=expo&p=501" ["menu_order"]=> int(87) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
object(WP_Post)#14535 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(1013) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2015-08-25 13:29:56" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2015-08-25 17:29:56" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(42) "FAAS 4 - Foire d'art alternatif de Sudbury" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(39) "faas-4-foire-dart-alternatif-de-sudbury" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-07-06 15:54:51" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-07-06 19:54:51" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(57) "http://gno.scottbuckingham.ca/?post_type=expo&p=1013" ["menu_order"]=> int(84) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" }