Phantom Limb


Shyra De Souza


January 16 to February 28, 2015


opening Friday January 16 at 5pm



Exhibition Sponsor


Phantom Limb

A phantom is evoked by this large-scale sculptural installation where the component parts become the vertebrae of a structure occupying the entire gallery.

The installation is built from a set of found objects: wooden furniture pieces act as pedestals supporting a series of porcelain sculptures suspended and arranged in such a way that they resemble the spinal column of some unknown creature. Among other things, one might be reminded of dinosaur exhibits in natural history museums, or even the whale skeleton that hangs from Science North’s ceiling.

Acknowledging the fact that the raw materials in her work are essentially thrift-shop finds, the artist describes them as “discarded, once loved, decorative items that have lost their lustre.” The individual ceramic sculptures are in the shape of typically ornamental things such as swans, dolphins, or flowers. Arranged in close proximity, they each become less distinctive and tend to bleed into one. According to De Souza, “each item is added in such a way that they begin to erase one another, and take on forms reminiscent of mounted, overgrown deer antlers, or three-dimensional Rorschach forms.”

For De Souza, the viewer is an integral part of her art-making process. By presenting familiar mass-produced artefacts of consumer culture in new, open-ended configurations, she hopes to engage them in a process of meaning-making. Her artist’s statement insists on the central role played by the viewer. De Souza asserts that “the viewer becomes a mandatory part of the work in that the actual artwork occurs where the art object and viewer intersect.”

Phantom Limb fits perfectly in the overarching theme of the GNO’s 2014-2015 season: Mutations. As each ceramic sculpture seems a slightly altered version of its neighbour, we are reminded of evolution’s steady march through the ages. The emergent form of the spinal column also highlights themes of biology and time.


Shyra De Souza is an interdisciplinary artist based in Calgary. She attended the Sculpture department at the Alberta College of Art & Design where she earned her Bachelor’s Degree in Fine Arts with distinction in 2006. As well as maintaining an artistic studio practice, she has undertaken several volunteer administration and board roles within the arts community, and has been awarded a number of grants and residencies.  In early 2014 she attended the Re:Making residency at the Banff Centre lead by Peter von Tiesenhaussen.  Her range of work is mainly composed of sculpture, installation works, as well as animated film, but sometimes also leads to collage and drawing works.  Her work has screened/exhibited across Canada, in the United States, and Europe.

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#3255 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(839) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2015-08-19 16:56:03" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2015-08-19 20:56:03" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(12) "Mission Site" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(12) "mission-site" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 10:42:45" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 14:42:45" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(51) "http://gno.scottbuckingham.ca/en/expo/mission-site/" ["menu_order"]=> int(41) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
object(WP_Post)#3257 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(750) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2015-08-19 12:02:08" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2015-08-19 16:02:08" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(18) "P0P F0LK: T3XT1L3S" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(17) "p0p-f0lk-t3xt1l3s" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 10:42:44" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 14:42:44" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(56) "http://gno.scottbuckingham.ca/en/expo/p0p-f0lk-t3xt1l3s/" ["menu_order"]=> int(37) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" }

Phantom Limb


Shyra De Souza


16 janvier au 28 février 2015


vernissage le vendredi 16 janvier à 17 h



Commanditaire de l'exposition


Phantom Limb

Un fantôme est évoqué dans cette installation sculpturale à grande échelle où les morceaux individuels deviennent les vertèbres d’une structure qui occupe entièrement la galerie.

L’installation est construite à partir d’objets trouvés : les meubles en bois agissent comme socles qui portent une série de sculptures en céramique suspendues et disposées d’une façon à ce qu’elles suggèrent la forme d’une épine dorsale d’une quelconque créature non identifiée. On pense, entre autres, aux expositions sur les dinosaures dans les musées, ou même encore au squelette de baleine suspendu au plafond de Science Nord.

En reconnaissant le fait que ses matériaux de base sont essentiellement des bibelots rescapés de magasins d’articles d’occasion, l’artiste les décrit ainsi : « des objets décoratifs délaissés ou abandonnés, qu’on a déjà aimés mais qui ont perdu leur attrait. » Individuellement, les sculptures en céramique sont d’objets typiquement décoratifs tels que des cygnes, des dauphins ou des fleurs. En proximité, les objets deviennent moins distinctifs et se perdent l’un dans l’autre. Selon De Souza, « chaque morceau est ajouté d’une façon à ce qu’ils commencent à s’effacer mutuellement et prennent ensemble des formes évoquant d’immenses bois de chevreuils ou des formes de Rorschach tridimensionnelles. »

Pour De Souza, le spectateur fait partie intégrale de son processus artistique. En présentant sous un œil nouveau des artefacts familiers et issus de la culture de consommation de masse, elle espère inclure le public dans un processus de construction de sens. Son discours artistique souligne le rôle central qu’occupe le spectateur. Elle affirme que « le spectateur devient une partie obligatoire de l’œuvre vu le fait que l’œuvre n’existe qu’au moment même où l’objet d’art et le spectateur se rencontrent. »

Phantom Limb s’accorde parfaitement avec le grand thème de la saison 2014-2015 de la GNO : Mutations. Chaque sculpture en céramique ressemble à une version légèrement modifiée de son voisin et nous rappelle ainsi la marche lente de l’évolution à travers les âges. La forme émergente de l’épine dorsale rappelle aussi les thèmes de la biologie et du temps.


Shyra De Souza est une artiste interdisciplinaire qui habite Calgary. Diplômée du département de Sculpture au Alberta College of Art and Design, elle y obtient en 2006 un Baccalauréat en Beaux-Arts, avec distinction. Son travail fait la gamme entre la sculpture, l’installation et les films animés – en s’attardant aussi au collage et au dessin. Son travail a circulé à travers le Canada, aux États-Unis et en Europe.

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#12573 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(836) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2015-08-19 16:56:03" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2015-08-19 20:56:03" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(12) "Mission Site" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(12) "mission-site" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 10:42:45" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 14:42:45" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(56) "http://gno.scottbuckingham.ca/?post_type=expo&p=836" ["menu_order"]=> int(41) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
object(WP_Post)#12575 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(714) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2015-08-19 12:02:08" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2015-08-19 16:02:08" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(18) "P0P F0LK: T3XT1L3S" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(17) "p0p-f0lk-t3xt1l3s" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 10:42:44" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 14:42:44" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(56) "http://gno.scottbuckingham.ca/?post_type=expo&p=714" ["menu_order"]=> int(37) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" }