Continuums


Ariane Thézé


September 12 to October 18, 2014


guest curator : Elia Eliev


Ariane Thézé was born in Angers (France). She’s lived in Montreal since 1982 and has taught visual arts at both the University of Ottawa and Université du Québec à Montréal. Her work has been shown in many galleries and museums in Montreal, Québec, Toronto, and Ottawa, as well as abroad: Paris, Brussels, Barcelona, Cuenca (Spain), Kassel, Stuttgart (Germany), Linz and Vienna.

Elia Eliev is a Ph.D. candidate in the Institute of Feminist and Gender Studies at the University of Ottawa. He has a Masters of Visual Arts in Critical Cross-Cultural Curatorial Cybermedia Studies (CCC) from the Geneva University of Art and Design (HEAD), and a Bachelor of Fine Arts from the University of Ottawa. His current academic research examines emerging representations of queer masculinities in contemporary Lebanese lens-based artworks. Eliev is a part-time professor in the Department of Women’s Studies at Thorneloe University.

 


Continuums

Over the past decades, Ariane Thézé has carried out an inquiry on the body and the process involved in its representation. Questions around identity, desire, memory and loss are central sites of explorations in the artist’s multidisciplinary practice that encompasses sculpture, video, and photography. Continuums, brings together her recent evocative digitally manipulated photographs that are oriented towards a reflection between female bodies and natural landscapes.

Thézé’s artworks are situated within a conceptual framework that seeks to resist, reverse, and deconstruct the dualist oppositions that informs patriarchal Western language and thinking: male/female, mind/body, culture/nature, object/subject. Her approach is one of non-duality, which blurs the boundaries of these binaries. The artist, through the female body, reclaims nature as an active undomesticated space, shifting from the traditional definition, which equates femininity with passiveness, delicacy, decorativeness, and domesticity1.

Through the photographic medium, Ariane Thézé records the markings and traces of female bodies in the landscapes. While their identities are unrecognizable, their presences are assertive and engaged. Similar to the growth rings of trees that reflect traces of time, the body also undergoes transformations through time and space.

____________________________________________________________________________
[1] Stacy Alaimo. Undomesticated Ground: Recasting Nature as Feminist Space. Ithaca: Cornell University Press, 2000.


Elia Eliev, curator

 

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#3250 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(880) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2015-08-21 11:39:10" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2015-08-21 15:39:10" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(17) "Dessins temporels" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(17) "dessins-temporels" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 10:42:45" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 14:42:45" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(56) "http://gno.scottbuckingham.ca/en/expo/dessins-temporels/" ["menu_order"]=> int(45) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
object(WP_Post)#3263 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(839) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2015-08-19 16:56:03" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2015-08-19 20:56:03" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(12) "Mission Site" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(12) "mission-site" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 10:42:45" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 14:42:45" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(51) "http://gno.scottbuckingham.ca/en/expo/mission-site/" ["menu_order"]=> int(41) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" }

Continuums


Ariane Thézé


12 septembre au 18 octobre 2014


commissaire invité : Elia Eliev


Ariane Thézé est née à Angers (France). Elle vit à Montréal depuis 1982 et a enseigné les arts plastiques à l’Université d’Ottawa et à l’Université du Québec à Montréal. Ses oeuvres ont été exposées dans de nombreuses galeries et musées, entre autres à Montréal, Québec, Toronto et Ottawa, ainsi qu’à l’étranger : Paris, Bruxelles, Barcelone, Cuenca (Espagne), Kassel, Stuttgart (Allemagne), Linz et Vienne.

Elia Eliev est doctorant à l’Institut d’études féministes et de genre à l’Université d’Ottawa. Il détient un Master de Recherche CCC – Critical Cross-Cultural Curatorial Cybermedia de la Haute école d’arts et de design – Genève (Suisse) et un Baccalauréat en arts visuels de l’Université d’Ottawa. Sa recherche académique explore les représentations émergentes des masculinités « queers » dans les pratiques artistiques libanaises. Eliev est professeur au Department of Women’s Studies à la Thorneloe University.


Continuums

Au cours des dernières décennies, Ariane Thézé a problématisé le corps et le processus de mise en image du corps. Les questions portant sur l’identité, le désir, la mémoire et la perte sont au coeur de la pratique multidisciplinaire de l’artiste qui englobe à la fois la sculpture, la vidéo et la photographie. Continuums, rassemble ses dernières photographies évocatrices manipulées numériquement qui sont orientées vers une réflexion entre les corps féminins et
les paysages naturels.

Les oeuvres photographiques de Thézé se situent dans un cadre conceptuel qui vise à résister, renverser, et déconstruire les oppositions binaires qui caractérisent le langage et la pensée occidentale : homme/femme, pensée/corps, culture/nature, objet/sujet. Son approche s’inscrit dans une nondualité qui brouille les frontières de ces binaires. L’artiste, à travers le corps féminin, réapproprie la nature dans un espace actif et non domestiqué. Elle s’éloigne de la définition traditionnelle de la féminité qui est souvent associée à la passivité, la délicatesse, l’objet décoratif et à la domesticité1.

À travers le médium photographique, Ariane Thézé enregistre les marques et les traces des corps féminins dans les paysages naturels. Tandis que leurs identités sont méconnaissables, leurs présences sont fermes et engagées. Comme les cernes des arbres reflétant les traces du temps, le corps subit aussi des transformations à travers le temps et l’espace.

____________________________________________________________________________
[1] Stacy Alaimo. Undomesticated Ground: Recasting Nature as Feminist Space. Ithaca: Cornell University Press, 2000.


Elia Eliev, commissaire d’exposition
Traduit de l’anglais par Sika Eliev

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#11670 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(860) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2015-08-21 11:39:10" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2015-08-21 15:39:10" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(17) "Dessins temporels" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(17) "dessins-temporels" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 10:42:45" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 14:42:45" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(56) "http://gno.scottbuckingham.ca/?post_type=expo&p=860" ["menu_order"]=> int(45) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
object(WP_Post)#11683 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(836) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2015-08-19 16:56:03" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2015-08-19 20:56:03" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(12) "Mission Site" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(12) "mission-site" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 10:42:45" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 14:42:45" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(56) "http://gno.scottbuckingham.ca/?post_type=expo&p=836" ["menu_order"]=> int(41) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" }