Place


Olivier Masmonteil


April 21st to May 18th 2012


exhibition from April 21st to May 18th 2012

curator : William Huffman



Landscape continues to function as one of the most enduring and compelling genre in the field of creative expression. Straddling multiple media and subject to a breadth of interpretation, landscape remains firmly embedded in the lexicon of visual art and the vocabulary of contemporary audiences. This exhibition is entitled Place and derives its language, in part, from that solidity of tradition. However, the resonance of Place is predicated on an ambiguity of memory, the unreliable nature of recognition and an often-irrational influence of nostalgia.

The exhibition hinges on large-format canvases by Olivier Masmonteil – a prolific painter, responsible for thousands of evocative and moody landscape works inspired by his extensive travels. As a cursory description of his practice, it’s about fantasy and the hybrid – the work has been described as possessing a distinct duality of substance and form, subject and object, content and container. Structurally, Masmonteil builds compositions with a surprisingly basic but effective formula, combining a foreground of one location with the background from another.

In this way, he develops new and believable locations by fusing perhaps the deserts in Algiers with the skies of Brittany or cloud formations from Marseille with an African seashore. My interest in this work emerges from the notion that Masmonteil is creating a fictional sense of belonging or nostalgia by creating places that are, on the one hand recognizable, with the viewer extracting familiarity from the colours, forms or geography, while on the other hand, we remain unable to place the location fully. For the exhibition I’ve selected works that resonate with a likeness of Northern Ontario – images that are intended to be read initially as local vistas, but in reality, these alien terrains are constructed from components that exist great distances away.

Masmonteil’s work is certainly layered with a unique poetics of place and in an effort to underscore this, well known Sudburian literary personality Normand Renaud has provided a text that responds to the paintings. Only a handful of lines in length, this narrative is inspired and informed by Masmonteil’s explorations of place, non-place and nostalgia for place. Like the work itself, Renaud’s textual interpretation is steeped in a duality – his voice speaks specifically to the work, while at the same time, emphasizing its universality.

It is deliberate that we should bring together a local writer with this foreign painter – a symbolic relationship between home and away, familiar or alien, know versus unknown, and a mechanism that ultimately underscores the contradictions and dichotomies that ground this exhibition.

– William Huffman, exhibition curator


Our partners for this exhibition are Dunkan Hourdequin, Le Salon du livre du Grand Sudbury, Can Sign Industries. Our season sponsors are CBON, la Première Chaîne, Espace musique and Radio-Canada Television | Internet, 50 Carleton, Le Voyageur and Le Loup 98,9 La voix du Nord.

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#2477 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(3016) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2015-11-06 17:26:44" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2015-11-06 22:26:44" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(19) "Home Away From Home" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(19) "home-away-from-home" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-07-06 16:00:42" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-07-06 20:00:42" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(44) "http://gn-o.org/en/expo/home-away-from-home/" ["menu_order"]=> int(91) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
object(WP_Post)#3648 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(506) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2015-08-11 13:49:10" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2015-08-11 17:49:10" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(41) "From the Ground to the Sky and Back Again" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(40) "from-the-sky-to-the-earth-and-back-again" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-07-06 15:47:34" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-07-06 19:47:34" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(79) "http://gno.scottbuckingham.ca/en/expo/from-the-sky-to-the-earth-and-back-again/" ["menu_order"]=> int(87) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" }

Place


Olivier Masmonteil


21 avril au 18 mai 2012


exposition du 21 avril au 18 mai 2012

commissaire : William Huffman



Le paysage perdure comme un des genres le plus irrépressible dans le domaine de l’expression créative. Aussi large que les médias multiples et assujettie à l’ampleur de l’interprétation, le paysage demeure fermement enchâssé dans le lexique de l’art visuel et le vocabulaire des publics contemporains. Cette exposition intitulée «Place» tire son langage, en partie du moins, de la solidité de cette tradition. Cependant la résonance de «Place» témoigne de l’ambiguïté de la mémoire, de la nature instable de la récognition et de l’influence souvent irrationnelle de la nostalgie.

Olivier Masmonteil – un peintre prolifique de plusieurs milles peintures de paysages évocateurs et moroses inspirées de ses nombreux voyages – expose ici de ses toiles grand format. Brièvement sa démarche artistique est de la fantaisie et de l’hybride – on a dit que son travail possédait une dualité distincte de la substance et de la forme, du sujet et de l’objet, du contenu et du contenant. Structurellement, Masmonteil compose avec une formule simple mais efficace, en combinant un avant-plan d’une certaine location avec un arrière-plan d’une toute autre.

C’est ainsi qu’il construit des nouveaux lieux crédibles en fusionnant peut-être des déserts d’Algiers avec des ciels de Bretagne ou des formations de nuages de Marseille avec une plage du littoral Africain. Je m’intéresse au travail de Masmonteil parce qu’il crée un sentiment fictif d’appartenance ou de nostalgie en créant des endroits qui sont d’une part reconnaissables laissant le spectateur extraire une familiarité des couleurs, des formes sous la géographie, pendant que d’autre part nous demeurons incapables de pleinement situer le lieu. Pour cette exposition, j’ai choisi des œuvres qui ressemblent au Nord de l’Ontario – des images qu’on doit lire initialement comme des visions locales mais, en réalité, ces terres étrangères sont l’assemblage de composantes qui existent loin d’ici.

Le travail de Masmonteil transpire d’une poésie unique du lieu et c’est pour souligner ceci qu’on a demandé à quelqu’un de bien connu dans le monde littéraire Sudburois, Normand Renaud, de fournir un texte qui réagit aux peintures. Seulement longue de quelques lignes, cette narration s’inspire et s’informe des explorations de lieu, de non-lieu et de nostalgie pour le lieu. Tout comme l’œuvre elle-même, l’interprétation textuelle de Renaud trempe dans la dualité – il s’adresse spécifiquement à l’œuvre pendant qu’en même temps il accentue son universalité.

Nous avons délibérément jumelé un écrivain local avec un peintre de l’étranger – une relation symbolique entre le chez-soi et l’ailleurs, le familier ou l’étranger, le connu versus l’inconnu et un mécanisme qui en fin de compte souligne les contradictions et les dichotomies sous-jacentes à cette exposition.

– William Huffman, commissaire d’exposition


Cette exposition est commanditée par Dunkan Hourdequin, Le Salon du livre du Grand Sudbury, CanSign Industries . Nos commanditaires de saison sont CBON, la Première Chaîne, Espace musique, Radio-Canada Télévision | Internet, 50 Carleton, Le Voyageur et Le Loup 98,9 La voix du Nord.

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#13341 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(1511) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2015-08-26 15:02:19" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2015-08-26 19:02:19" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(14) "Osons l'humain" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(13) "osons-lhumain" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-07-06 16:04:42" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-07-06 20:04:42" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(57) "http://gno.scottbuckingham.ca/?post_type=expo&p=1511" ["menu_order"]=> int(91) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
object(WP_Post)#13368 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(1375) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2015-08-25 16:55:25" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2015-08-25 20:55:25" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(13) "Express Wagon" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(13) "express-wagon" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-07-06 15:54:51" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-07-06 19:54:51" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(57) "http://gno.scottbuckingham.ca/?post_type=expo&p=1375" ["menu_order"]=> int(87) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" }