Les clés du cœur


Hélène Lefebvre


August 16th to 18th, 2019


Friday August 16, at 4:30 pm, departure at the lovers' bridge.
Saturday August 17, at 1 pm, in Memorial Park.
Sunday August 18, at 12 pm, start at 174 Elgin.


Les clés du cœur

For the first time in her career, interdisciplinary artist Hélène Lefebvre performs three days straight during  ”furtives wanderings”, where symbols and gestures are entangled, like headphones left in a pocket. This cumulative experimentation is a continuity of ”Rituel aux possibilités de l’amour”, her last intervention in Sudbury during the 5th FAAS edition.

Walking with a contagious calm, Lefebvre explores the surroundings by implying her whole body in the unbeknownst environment. Alone facing the unpredictable, she walks on the thin line between fiction and reality, unaware of the result, the reactions and the rewards of her walks. Nor dance, nor poses, her geometrical gestures – evoking the geodesic dome erected on Durham for the occasion – trouble, surprise, invite.

The elements found in her performances are both evocative symbols to human emotions and a reminder of the world the artist dives into.

This serie of performances is presented in collaboration with Up Here.


The artist

Ottawa’s interdisciplinary artist, Hélène Lefebvre questions the concepts of identity and otherness in numerous exhibitions and performances in either Canada, Poland, Germany, Turkey, Chili, India, Lituania and New-Zealand.




Groove is in the Heart

an accompanying text by Alex Tétreault

It’s hot out.

Downtown is buzzing as the excited masses wander amidst the festive cacophony. A lone woman with orphan headphones dances to the beat of her own key chain. She begins her journey at the panoply of lovers’ locks, which weigh down the bridge over the tracks with their sheer amount of “forevers” frozen in time and space.

On the packed sidewalk of Elgin Street or the snaking paths of Memorial Park, she goes largely unnoticed. Aside from the occasional polite nod, the faintest smirk, or the sincere questions regarding her well being, she is quickly and automatically categorized with the other denizens of those areas.

Lost in her own little universe, she continues her dance, her one-woman bacchanal. Once she crosses the metal fencing however, it’s a whole different set of keys. The context changes everything. Almost instantaneously, festival-goers, already primed by the pulsating of the speakers and the seemingly endless booze from the bar, begin grooving to her beat. For one brief instant, this woman’s love feeds her new-found partners, who feed it right back to her, and so on and so forth in a feedback loop of love.

And then, as quickly as it came, the moment passes, like the others that preceded it and those that will follow it. The concerned parties go their separate ways, the jingling woman continuing her journey. But, this moment remains…magical.

There’s something magical in watching her, so taken by this music that only she can hear, her body feeding off the energy of those around her, her vibe-siphoning headphones plugged into the cosmos. Because we too could hear this music, be fed by this collective energy. We only need to live in these moments of ephemerality when they present themselves, be they a performance, a festival, or even love itself. We each have our own keyring, jingling away in our hearts, longing.

______________________________________________________________________________

Alex is a little shit from Azilda. His cat, Ariane Minouchkine, is his muse and an endless source of inspiration. When he feels like it, he writes stuff.

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#4464 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(9623) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2018-05-10 14:43:25" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-05-10 18:43:25" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(31) "But really, where are you from?" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(29) "but-really-where-are-you-from" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-07-11 14:55:05" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-07-11 18:55:05" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(43) "http://gn-o.org/?post_type=expo&p=9623" ["menu_order"]=> int(2) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
string(0) ""

Les clés du cœur


Hélène Lefebvre


16 août au 18 août 2019


Vendredi 16 août à 16 h30, départ au pont des amoureux.
Samedi 17 août à 13 h, au Parc Memorial.
Dimanche 18 août à 12 h, départ au 174 Elgin.


Les clés du cœur

Pour une première fois dans sa carrière, l’artiste Hélène Lefebvre performe trois jours de suite lors de «déambulations furtives» où les symboles et les gestes s’entremêlent comme des fils d’écouteurs laissés au fond d’une poche. Ce cumul est en continuité avec «Rituel aux possibilités de l’amour », sa dernière intervention présentée à Sudbury lors de la 5è édition de la FAAS.

D’un pas calme et contagieux, Lefebvre explore l’environnement dans lequel elle plonge tête première grâce à son corps, véritable prisme sensoriel. Seule face à l’imprévisible, elle marche sur la mince ligne qui sépare la fiction de la réalité ne sachant prédire le résultat, les réactions et les récompenses de ces marches.

Ni danse, ni poses, ces déambulations aux gestes géométriques –évoquant le dôme éphémère de la rue Durham élevé pour les besoins du festival – dérangent, surprennent, invitent. Les éléments qu’elles arborent sont à la fois des symboles évocateurs aux sentiments humains et un clin d’œil au milieu que l’artiste investit.

Cette série de performances est présentée en collaboration avec le festival Up Here.


L'artiste

L’artiste interdisciplinaire d’Ottawa Hélène Lefebvre interroge les concepts d’identité et d’altérité, dans de nombreuses expositions et performances au Canada, en Pologne, en Allemagne, en Turquie, au Chili, en Inde, en Lituanie et en Nouvelle-Zélande.




Le cœurporel éphémère

un texte d’accompagnement de Alex Tétreault

Y fait chaud.

Le centre-ville bourdonne alors que les masses circulent et sillonnent dans la cacophonie festive. Une madame, seule, aux écouteurs orphelins, danse au rythme de ses propres clés. Elle part des multiples cadenas d’amoureux qui alourdissent le pont au-dessus des tracks avec la lourdeur des « pour toujours » gelés dans le temps et l’espace.

Sur les trottoirs bondés de la Elgin ou les pistes serpentines du Parc Memorial, elle passe largement inaperçue. Hormis quelques hochements de tête polis, des sourires en coin ou des requêtes sincères quant à son état psychologique, elle est rapidement répertoriée comme appartenant aux autres classes ignorées du coin.

Absorbée par son univers, elle poursuit sa danse, sa bacchanale for one. Lorsqu’elle traverse la clôture cependant, c’est un tout autre set de clés. Elle arrive sur le party. Le contexte change tout. Presqu’instantanément, les festivaliers, déjà bien primés par les pulsations des speakers et le pinot grigio du bar, se mettent à groover à son beat. Pour un bref instant, l’amour de cette femme nourrit ses nouveaux partenaires de danse, qui ne font que le lui redonner et ainsi de suite, dans un feedback loop de love.

Et puis, le moment passe, comme les autres qui l’ont suivit et l’ont précédé. Les parties concernées partent chacune de leur côté, la femme qui jingle poursuivant son parcours. Mais ce moment demeure…magique.

Il y a quelque chose de magique à la regarder, emportée par une musique qu’elle seule peut entendre, son corps se nourrissant de l’énergie autour d’elle, ses écouteurs branchés dans le cosmos qui siphonnent les vibes. Parce que bien sûr, nous pourrions tous l’entendre aussi cette musique, se nourrir de cette énergie. Elle n’est pas la seule à avoir un trousseau plein de clés. Nous n’avons qu’à vivre pleinement les moments d’éphémérité quand ils se présentent, soient-ils des performances, des festivals ou l’amour.

_________________________________________________________________________________

Alex est un p’tit cul d’Azilda. Sa chatte et muse, Ariane Minouchkine, lui est une source perpétuelle d’inspiration. Quand ça y tente, il écrit des affaires.

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#14723 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(9620) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2018-05-10 14:43:35" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-05-10 18:43:35" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(30) "Mais d'où viens-tu vraiment ?" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(26) "mais-dou-viens-tu-vraiment" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2019-01-09 11:20:06" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2019-01-09 16:20:06" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(43) "http://gn-o.org/?post_type=expo&p=9620" ["menu_order"]=> int(2) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
string(0) ""