Le musée des cauchemars


Sam Shahsahabi


March 14th to April 4th 2009


residency from March 3 to 12, 2009
exhibition from March 14 to April 4, 2009



Le musée des cauchemars

sculptural and mechanical installations, paintings and drawings

According to Sam Shahsahabi, you don’t have to be dreaming to have a nightmare. You just have to look at what’s happening around you.

The environment has always figured eminently in the artist’s work but his reflection on nightmares began with his series of works entitled “Being There”, a series of paintings and drawings through which the artist questions and reveals his personal reality, especially in its relationship with the reality of others. Macabre scenes involving demons, semi-human ands emi-animal forms, spring forth from these works in the manner of the grand masters. From this series also emerged the artist’s first sculptural and mechanical installations, ghostly versions of his paintings and drawings which, at that point in time, completed his exploration.

In his exhibition entitled “The Museum of Nightmares”, the artist’s approach is much more personal. The source from which his latest works spring is the source from which nightmares emerge : instincts and the unconscious. Consequently, the paintings are devoid of realism which is superseded by symbolic imagery in overlapping layers. The artist invents machines in an attempt to capture what is hiding behind the works and he interlays everyday objects of all sorts which he displays like precious artefacts.

For example, there are installations of mechanical objects that document the artist’s nightmares, like a pivoting chandelier of crayons that endlessly displays motion on the gallery floor or a box proportioned like a casket that documents and records, from the inside, the comings and goings of the gallery’s visitors. There are also displays of objects undergoing mutation, like a series of domestic animals made with children’s toys or an exhibit of hybrid tomatoes that can never go rotten.

However, in his museum of nightmares, the artist has provided visitors with an exit… a ray of hope. In his most recent painting, a bird of perfect proportions spreads out inside a ring, like da Vinci’s Vitruvian Man. All sorts of animals emerge from or enter into the bird’s chest,in a ferocious movement that surely seems to represent the arrival of a new era and the beginning of a new series of works.


Sam Shahsahabi was born in Iran, where he lived until 1996. He obtained his B.A. in Visual Arts at the Azad University in Teheran, then his Master’s degree at York University in Toronto. His works have been exhibited in Iran, Turkey, Germany, Japan and Canada. He is living and working in Sudbury since 2006.

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#3555 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(4472) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2015-12-17 18:32:42" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2015-12-17 23:32:42" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(16) "Propos décousus" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(15) "propos-decousus" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-05-22 11:40:22" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-05-22 15:40:22" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(40) "http://gn-o.org/en/expo/propos-decousus/" ["menu_order"]=> int(137) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
object(WP_Post)#3554 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(4425) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2015-12-17 13:40:01" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2015-12-17 18:40:01" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(30) "Aldermac - Plantation minière" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(27) "aldermac-plantation-miniere" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-05-22 11:40:22" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-05-22 15:40:22" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(52) "http://gn-o.org/en/expo/aldermac-plantation-miniere/" ["menu_order"]=> int(133) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" }

Le musée des cauchemars


Sam Shahsahabi


14 mars au 4 avril 2009


résidence du 3 au 12 mars 2009
exposition du 14 mars au 4 avril 2009



Le musée des cauchemars

installations sculpturales et mécaniques, peintures et dessins

D’après Sam Shahsahabi, il ne faut pas rêver pour subir un cauchemar. On a qu’à regarder ce qui se déroule devant nous.

Le travail de l’artiste a toujours été connecté à son environnement mais sa réflexion portant sur les cauchemars commença avec sa série d’œuvres «Being There», une série de peintures et de dessins dans laquelle l’artiste questionnait et dévoilait sa réalité personnelle, surtout par rapport à celle des autres. De ces œuvres, exécutées à la manière des grands maîtres, surgissaient des scènes macabres de démons et de formes quasi humaines, quasi animales. C’est aussi de cette série qu’émergeaient les premières installations sculpturales et mécaniques de l’artiste, une version fantomatique de ses peintures et dessins qui venaient, à l’époque, compléter sa réflexion.

Dans son exposition « Le musée des cauchemars » l’approche de l’artiste est beaucoup plus personnelle et ses dernières œuvres, telles des cauchemars, tirent leur source de son instinct ou de son inconscience. Ainsi, il dérobe la toile de tout réalisme, le remplaçant par des couches d’images symboliques superposées, il patente des machines qui tentent de capter ce qui se refuge derrière l’œuvre et il entrecroise des objets communs de toutes sortes qu’il étale comme de précieux artefacts .

On retrouve, entre autres, des installations d’objets mécanisés qui documentent les cauchemars de l’artiste tel un chandelier de crayons qui tourne sur lui-même et qui trace un mouvement continu sur le plancher de la galerie ou encore, une boîte aux dimensions d’un tombeau qui documente et transcrit, de l’intérieur, le va-et-vient des visiteurs. On y retrouve aussi des étalages d’objets en voie de mutation comme une série d’animaux domestiques créée à partir de jouets d’enfants ou une exposition de tomates hybrides incapables de putréfier…

Mais tout de même, à l’intérieur de son musée des cauchemars, l’artiste offre aux visiteurs une porte de sortie… une lueur d’espoir. Dans sa peinture la plus récente, un oiseau aux proportions parfaitement égales est écartelé à l’intérieur d’un anneau, tel l’homme de Vitruve de Léonard de Vinci. De sa poitrine jaillissent ou pénètrent des animaux de toutes sortes, un mouvement féroce qui représente, sans aucun doute, l’arrivée d’une nouvelle ère et le début d’une nouvelle série d’œuvres.


Sam Shahsahabi est né et a vécu en Iran jusqu’en 1996. Il a obtenu son bachelier en art visuel à l’Université Azad de Tehran et sa maîtrise à l’université York à Toronto. Ses œuvres ont été exposées en Iran, en Turquie, en Allemagne, au Japon et au Canada. Il vit et œuvre à Sudbury depuis 2006.

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#14503 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(4456) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2015-12-17 18:32:42" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2015-12-17 23:32:42" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(16) "Propos décousus" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(15) "propos-decousus" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-05-22 11:40:22" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-05-22 15:40:22" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(43) "http://gn-o.org/?post_type=expo&p=4456" ["menu_order"]=> int(137) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
object(WP_Post)#14502 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(4416) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2015-12-17 13:40:01" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2015-12-17 18:40:01" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(30) "Aldermac - Plantation minière" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(27) "aldermac-plantation-miniere" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-05-22 11:40:22" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-05-22 15:40:22" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(43) "http://gn-o.org/?post_type=expo&p=4416" ["menu_order"]=> int(133) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" }