findingtrackzero


Clayton Windatt


October 14 and November 16, 2020


October 14, 2020
Microfilm festival, Sudbury Indie Cinema Co-op
Screenings: 5pm and 6pm
Artist talk between the screenings

November 16, 2020
Online streaming (Facebook event)
Screening: 5pm (duration of 35 minutes)
Followed by an artist talk


findingtrackzero

findingtrackzero” is a research and exploration project that comments on data consumption in a world where streaming entertainment takes up a majority of power consumption. With this video series, the artist reflects upon the importance of data and the complexity of care in creating digital artifacts that are meant to be cherished and acknowledged.

“After my initial period of loss, isolation and mourning, I focused on my artistic practice carrying forward existing projects and adapting them into my new life of social distance in a digital arts community. […] This ironically named series of short works totalling 45 minutes takes inner reflections and brings them out into view. Some videos are edited from footage that has lived on hard drives for more than a decade while others were filmed at my kitchen table or in my backyard.”


Artist

Clayton is a Métis non-binary multi-artist living and working between Sturgeon Falls and Toronto.Clayton works in/with community, design, communications, curation, performance, theatre, technology, and consulting. Clayton is a very active writer, filmmaker and visual-media artist.


Video stills from findingtrackzero, and artist talk with Clayton Windatt.

Revisit findingtrackzero here.


Clues Within the Brokenness

Text by Elyse Portal

 

According to a recent study by Purdue University, turning off our cameras during virtual meetings will help save the environment. The year 2021 will require a forest of approximately 115,000 square kilometres—15 times the size of Algonquin Provincial Park—to sequester the amount of carbon being emitted by increased internet traffic. Clayton Windatt, like the Purdue researchers, wants us to understand that “because data processing uses a lot of electricity, and any production of electricity has carbon, water, and land footprints, reducing data download reduces environmental damage [1].” Awareness of the entanglements between digital culture and ecology underlies Windatt’s findingtrackzero (2020).

With particular care to their data usage, Windatt beckoned back to the once omnipresent floppy disk, creating new works within a 1.44MB file size limit. The track zero position of the disk is the beginning for all data writing processes. With these works, they ask: “how can space be made for reflection, care, and memory instead of abandonment and a hunger for newness?” 

Clayton Windatt’s plethora of works (made in 2020 from reworked digital archives and new materials), include rotoscoped storied excerpts and painterly pixelated compositions. In happy endings, Windatt plainly asserts “death isn’t happy – it is just death.” In the cumulative 15 minute film festival, comprising approximately 25 works, Windatt layers narratives of placelessness and non-linear time. In this way, Windatt records the breakdown imaginaries of self and world. They generatively go beyond climate change politics critiqued by curator and clinical psychologist, Bayo Akomolafe:

As part of the climate imaginary that is produced by a neoliberal agenda of progress, linear time, anthropocentric control, separation from nature, and technological optimism, today’s carbon discourse and activism obfuscate other ways of thinking/acting with weather. [2]

In the fragmented and mirrored movement of kaleidoscopic, Windatt tells us, “sometimes I feel like ice.” They go on to say, “breaking holds beauty…when the ice breaks too much, it’s hard to remember what it used to be.” With activist attentiveness, Windatt thinks with and celebrates elemental forces. 

In the seemingly bleak abandoned house series, Windatt helps us find hidden and persistent aliveness within broken windows flooded with light, frenzied flies, and bird calls. Their notes on our systemic breakdowns are done with an interest in care. While acknowledging our colliding crises—COVID-19 included—they create space for loss to be felt (with works such as Missing You), as well as for beauty and play (fire kids 2011) reflecting innate elemental ties. 

This collision might best be seen in their evocative work, Temperature and Location, with shifting horizons from abandoned structures to dreamy winter landscapes to Lake Ontario’s ice framing Toronto’s downtown core. I hear Windatt’s laboured breathing. I hear struggle. I am left in a search. Sifting through obscured abandonment, I am in the track zero position accompanied by colour, light, texture, looking for clues within the brokenness.    

 

 

[1] Purdue University. (2021, January 14). Turn off that camera during virtual meetings, environmental study says: Simple tips to go green with your internet use during a pandemic. ScienceDaily. Retrieved January 22, 2021 from www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2021/01/210114134033.htm

[2] Bayo Akomolafe. (2017). These Wilds Beyond Our Fences: Letters to My Daughter on Humanity’s Search for Home. Berkeley: North Atlantic Books.

Findingtrackzero


Clayton Windatt


14 octobre et 16 novembre 2020


14 octobre 2020
Festival de microfilms, Sudbury Indie Cinema Co-op
Présentations: à 17 h et 18 h
Causerie entre les deux présentations

16 novembre 2020
Diffusion en ligne (événement Facebook)
Présentation: à 17h (durée de 35 minutes)
Suivie d'une causerie


findingtrackzero

« Findingtrackzero » est un projet d’exploration et de recherche portant sur la consommation de données dans un monde où le divertissement occupe la majorité de l’énergie consommée.

Avec cette série de vidéos, l’artiste réfléchit à l’importance des données, mais surtout au soin que requiert la réalisation d’artefacts numériques qui doivent à la fois être reconnus et affectionnés.

« Après une période initiale de perte, d’isolement et de deuil, je me suis concentré sur ma pratique artistique en adaptant des projets existants à ma nouvelle vie de distanciation sociale dans une communauté d’arts numériques. […] Ironiquement nommé, ce festival de microfilms de 45 minutes met en lumière mes réflexions intérieures. Certaines vidéos ont été montées à partir de séquences qui ont vécu sur des disques durs pendant plus d’une décennie tandis que d’autres ont été filmées à ma table de cuisine ou dans mon jardin. »


Artiste

Clayton Windatt est un artiste multidisciplinaire métis non binaire vivant et œuvrant entre Sturgeon Falls et Toronto. L’artiste travaille dans/avec la communauté, le design, les communications, la performance, le théâtre et la technologie. Clayton est très actif en tant qu’artiste, commissaire, écrivain et cinéaste.


Extraits de findingtrackzero, et causerie virtuelle avec Clayton Windatt.

Revisitez findingtrackzero ici.


Indices au coeur de la cassure

Texte par Elyse Portal

 

Selon une récente étude de l’Université Purdue, nous pourrions aider à sauver l’environnement si nous éteignions nos caméras pendant nos rencontres virtuelles. En 2021, il faudrait une forêt d’une superficie d’environ 115 000 kilomètres carrés, soit 15 fois la taille du parc provincial Algonquin, pour séquestrer la quantité d’émissions de carbone générée par l’utilisation accrue d’Internet. Comme les chercheurs de Purdue, Clayton Windatt veut nous faire comprendre ceci : « parce qu’il faut beaucoup d’électricité pour traiter les données et que toute production d’électricité laisse une empreinte carbonique, aquatique et terrestre, la diminution du taux de téléchargement de données entraîne une diminution des dommages à l’environnement [1]. » La conscience de l’enchevêtrement de la culture numérique et de l’écologie est fondamentale à son œuvre findingtrackzero (2020).

Par souci de réduire sa consommation de données, Windatt ravive le souvenir des anciennes disquettes souples, autrefois omniprésentes, en créant de nouvelles œuvres numériques sans excéder la limite de 1,44 Mo par fichier. Tout processus d’inscription de données a comme point de départ le point zéro de la disquette. Par ces œuvres, l’artiste se demande : comment peut-on accorder de la place à la réflexion, à la bienveillance et au souvenir, plutôt qu’à l’abandon et à la soif de la nouveauté?

Parmi la multitude d’œuvres de Clayton Windatt (produites en 2020 à partir d’archives numériques remaniées et de nouveau matériel), il y a des extraits de récits rotoscopés et des compositions picturales pixelisées. Dans happy endings, Windatt déclare sans ambages que la mort ne peut pas être heureuse, car elle n’est rien de plus que la mort. Dans la compilation 15 minute film festival, qui rassemble environ 25 oeuvres, Windatt superpose des récits de lieux dénués d’appartenance et de temps sans linéarité. C’est ainsi qu’iel rend compte de la dégradation de l’imaginaire du soi et du monde. Son œuvre génère une réflexion qui échappe au discours politique sur les changements climatiques critiqué par le conservateur d’art et psychologue clinique Bayo Akomolafe :

Parce qu’il fait partie de l’imaginaire climatique issu des visées néolibérales axées sur le progrès, le temps linéaire, le contrôle anthropocentrique, la séparation d’avec la nature et l’optimisme technologique, le discours des activistes du carbone empêche de voir d’autres façons de penser et d’agir de concert avec les conditions climatiques. [2]

Dans le mouvement fragmenté et réfléchi de kaleidoscopic, Windatt dit avoir parfois l’impression d’être comme de la glace, puis iel ajoute que « la beauté tient dans la brisure… quand la glace a trop brisé, on a du mal à rappeler ce qu’elle était » [notre traduction]. Avec une attention d’activiste, Windatt érige les forces élémentaires en matière à réflexion et en motif de célébration.

Dans abandoned house, une série qui peut paraître morose, Windatt nous fait voir la vie cachée qui subsiste dans les fenêtres cassées baignées de lumière, les mouches fébriles et les oiseaux criards. Ses notes sur nos dérèglements collectifs découlent d’un souci de compassion. En témoignant de nos multiples crises en collision, dont celle de la COVID-19, l’artiste crée un lieu où l’on peut ressentir la perte (dans Missing You, par exemple), ou encore se livrer à la beauté et au jeu (fire kids 2011), ce qui reflète des rapports élémentaires innés. 

Cette collision est à son plus visible dans l’œuvre évocatrice qu’est Temperature and Location, qui montre tour à tour des vues sur des structures abandonnées, des paysages d’hiver féeriques et des masses de glace du lac Ontario encadrant le centre-ville de Toronto. J’entends le souffle lourd de Windatt. J’entends une lutte. L’œuvre me laisse aux prises avec une recherche. Fouillant l’abandon obnubilé, je suis à la position zéro de la piste, en compagnie de couleurs, de lumières, de textures, à la recherche d’indices au cœur de la cassure. 

 

 

[1] Purdue University. (2021, 14 janvier). Turn off that camera during virtual meetings, environmental study says: Simple tips to go green with your internet use during a pandemic. ScienceDaily. [Notre traduction.] Consulté le 22 janvier 2021 au www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2021/01/210114134033.htm

[2]  Bayo Akomolafe. (2017). These Wilds Beyond Our Fences: Letters to My Daughter on Humanity’s Search for Home. Berkeley : North Atlantic Books. [Notre traduction.]