Dessins temporels


Annie Martin


June 6 to June 30, 2014


residency from May 28 to June 6
exhibition from June 6 to June 30

opening June 6 at 5pm



Exhibition Sponsor


Dessins temporels

Annie Martin’s work is characterized by the special attention she gives to the barely perceptible. As an engineer develops ever more precise scientific instruments, her evidently meditative practice stems from a sharpening of the natural senses. Her “temporal drawings” chart the movements of beams of light through space, as well as their interactions with a variety of props. Developing a three-dimensional cartography of light, her drawings are projected into the space with the aid of thread-like materials.

With her work, the artist evokes the states of heightened consciousness attained through the practice of meditation. Moreover, she mentions her intent to dispel the boredom and banality that all too often weigh down institutional spaces where time is divided into parceled-out units. Having created many site-specific works, those she arranges in a particular space reveal the special relationship between a space and the individual artist. She describes this exchange as a kind of collision with a site’s materiality: an experience she can then share with the audience.

Having also worked extensively with sound sculpture and installation, Annie Martin explores the arranging of disparate elements divorced from their original contexts. Referring to Pierre Schaeffer’s notion of the acousmatic, she states her intent to abstract the constituent parts of her pieces from any referential framework. Thusly, she encourages the creative participation of the viewer, charging them with the task of interpreting the work through the construction, among others, of narrative threads. Effectively, the artist invites us to reflect upon the very nature of the relationship between the witness and the identity they imbue upon the witnessed.

Annie Martin’s temporal drawings reveal a playful aspect of her philosophical and aesthetic experiments. At first glance, we might think these schematics are the fruit of a furiously eccentric curiosity. The vibrantly coloured lines evoke the circuitous paths followed by the creative child armed with a multitude of pencils and a trusty Spirograph™ kit. However, once we make note of the variety of superimposed patterns, one begins to wonder about the inevitably cyclical patterns our intellectual faculties seem predisposed to ascertain. Beyond that, we notice the singular elements standing in contrast against backgrounds made up of rhythmic repetition. Confronting one with the other, the artist reveals her interest for those interruptions hailing from the realm of the ephemeral.


Annie Martin lives and works in Lethbridge (Alberta). She completed her Bachelor’s in Fine Arts (painting and drawing) at Concordia University, and obtained her Master’s in Fine Arts at the same institution in 1994. Her work has been shown in Canada, Bulgaria and the United States.

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#3255 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(1012) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2015-08-21 16:49:40" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2015-08-21 20:49:40" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(35) "Canada's Reel North: Shorts Program" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(33) "canadas-reel-north-shorts-program" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-07-06 15:54:50" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-07-06 19:54:50" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(72) "http://gno.scottbuckingham.ca/en/expo/canadas-reel-north-shorts-program/" ["menu_order"]=> int(81) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
object(WP_Post)#3166 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(5105) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2016-06-29 14:03:04" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2016-06-29 18:03:04" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(17) "Le Nouveau Louvre" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(19) "nouveau-louvre-2016" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-07-06 15:47:33" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-07-06 19:47:33" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(46) "http://gn-o.org/en/?post_type=expo&p=5105" ["menu_order"]=> int(78) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" }

Dessins temporels


Annie Martin


6 au 30 juin 2014


résidence du 28 mai au 6 juin
exposition du 6 au 30 juin

vernissage le 6 juin à 17 h



Commanditaire de l'exposition


Dessins temporels

Le travail d’Annie Martin se caractérise par une attention spéciale aux limites de la perception. Tel un ingénieur développant l’acuité d’instruments scientifiques, sa pratique évidemment méditative découle d’un aiguisement des sens naturels. Ses « dessins temporels » tracent les mouvements de faisceaux de lumière dans l’espace, ainsi que leurs relations avec une variété d’accessoires. Développant une cartographie tridimensionnelle de la lumière, ses dessins sont projetés dans l’espace à l’aide de matériaux filiformes.

L’artiste cherche à évoquer par son travail les états élevés de conscience résultant de sa pratique méditative. Par ailleurs, elle mentionne son intention de faire dissiper l’ennui et la banalité qui pèsent trop souvent sur les espaces institutionnels où le temps est sillonné en unités parcellaires. S’adonnant souvent à la création in situ, l’œuvre qu’elle installe dans un espace révèle sa relation particulière avec celui-ci. Elle affirme entrer « en collision » avec la matérialité des lieux pour ensuite partager l’expérience avec le public.

S’adonnant aussi à la sculpture et l’installation sonores, Annie Martin s’intéresse à l’agencement d’éléments disparates divorcés de leurs contextes. Se référant à l’acousmatique de Pierre Schaeffer, elle exprime sa volonté de faire abstraction des cadres de référence à l’origine des éléments qu’elle présente au public. C’est ainsi qu’elle encourage la participation créative de celui-ci, confiant au public la tâche d’interpréter l’œuvre par l’entremise, entre autres, de la construction narrative. Effectivement, l’artiste nous invite à réfléchir ainsi sur la nature même de la relation entre le témoin et l’identité qu’il attribue au témoigné.

Les dessins temporels d’Annie Martin révèlent l’aspect ludique de ses expériences autant philosophiques qu’esthétiques. De prime abord, on pourrait se croire témoins de schémas produits par une curiosité furieusement excentrique. Les traits aux couleurs vives rappellent les déambulations artistiques de l’enfant-créateur muni de ses crayons de couleur et son jeu de Spirographe™. Pourtant, lorsqu’on étudie de près la variété des patrons superposés, l’esprit s’interroge sur l’inévitable cyclicité dont nos facultés intellectuelles sont prédisposées à dépister. D’ailleurs, on remarque d’autant plus les éléments singuliers qui détonnent de ces fonds composés des rythmes de la répétitivité. Ayant dressé ce contraste, l’artiste révèle son intérêt pour les interruptions relevant du royaume de l’éphémère.


Annie Martin vit et travaille à Lethbridge (Alberta). Elle a complété son baccalauréat en beaux-arts (peinture et dessin) à l’Université Concordia, et obtenu sa maîtrise en beaux-arts de la même institution en 1994. Martin a présenté ses œuvres au Canada, en Bulgarie et aux États-Unis.

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#14538 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(982) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2015-08-21 16:49:40" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2015-08-21 20:49:40" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(35) "Canada's Reel North: Shorts Program" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(33) "canadas-reel-north-shorts-program" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-07-06 15:54:50" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-07-06 19:54:50" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(56) "http://gno.scottbuckingham.ca/?post_type=expo&p=982" ["menu_order"]=> int(81) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
object(WP_Post)#14536 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(5101) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2016-07-26 09:34:45" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2016-07-26 13:34:45" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(22) "Le Nouveau Louvre 2016" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(19) "nouveau-louvre-2016" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-07-10 14:32:54" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-07-10 18:32:54" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(43) "http://gn-o.org/?post_type=expo&p=5101" ["menu_order"]=> int(78) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" }