Derrière les portes


From May 19 until the end of confinement


bi-monthly, Tuesday at 4pm
on the GNO's FB page
broadcast live


During this worldwide pandemic, forced to stay home for everyone’s sake, we invite ourselves virtually into the artists space for a chat about their practice, their work and their creativity’s state during those times. We wanted to know, how are the artists doing ?


#1 Derrière les portes with Laurent Vaillancourt

First stop : Laurent Vaillancourt‘s workshop in Hearst for a discussion hosted by the GNO’s director Danielle Tremblay.
°
Longtime friend of the GNO and flagship Franco-Ontarian artist, Laurent Vaillancourt has a mixed practice he showcases around the province and beyond, with projects such as “Cent bornes” and “World Tour in Ontario“. He has exposed multiple times at the GNO, recently in “Mission Site” and during past editions of the FAAS – Foire d’art alternatif de Sudbury.

Broadcast on Facebook live on the GNO’s FB page, Tuesday May 19, 2020 at 4pm.


#2 Derrière les portes with Julie René de Cotret

2nd stop : Hillsburgh Julie René de Cotret‘s backyard. Among the plants and hens, discover the new project this pluridisciplinary and independant curator is building. We’ll talk about the rural context in which she creates and the distortion of time the isolation has on her work.

Julie René de Cotret is a French Canadian independent artist- curator, born in Montreal. She obtained her BFA from NSCAD, and her Masters in curatorial studies from the University of Toronto. She has exhibited and curated internationally: Canada, US, Sweden, Greece, UK, Switzerland, Korea, Germany. René de Cotret is co-founder of the artist residency program at the School of Environmental Science, University of Guelph, Ontario. She has been an active board member in Artist Run Centres for the last 13 years, and is currently chair of the board at GNO, Sudbury. René de Cotret has received numerous grants and has recently been awarded a Chalmers fellowship.

Derrière les portes avec Julie René de Cotret

2eme arret > Hillsburgh dans la cour de l'artiste pour découvrir son projet en construction parmi les 🐔 et les🌻

Posted by Galerie du Nouvel-Ontario on Wednesday, June 3, 2020

Broadcast on Facebook live on the GNO’s FB page, Wednesday June 3, 2020 at 4pm.


#3 Derrière les portes avec Emilio Portal

The show continues in Emilio Portals homemade studio, in Sudbury. His latest projects of soundscapes with Myths and Mirrors and collaborations within eeportal are part of the discussion.  For the rest, pump up your volume, sit back and surf on his audio waves…

Emilio Portal is an interdisciplinary artist, craftsman, designer and musician. While working at McEwen School of Architecture, he works on several projects collaborating with local organisms in Sudbury where he lives. He has exhibited throughout canada, notably at open space in victoria, bc, grunt gallery in vancouver, bc, and la galerie du nouvel-ontario in sudbury, ontario. in 2011, emilio and elyse portal started making art together under the moniker ee portal. their performances and installations address historic and contemporary environmental and spiritual issues.

Derrière les portes avec Emilio Portal

Et ça continue chez l'artiste Emilio Portal qui vous invite dans son studio maison à Sudbury. On monte le son 🎧 !

Posted by Galerie du Nouvel-Ontario on Tuesday, June 16, 2020

Broadcast on Facebook live on the GNO’s FB page, Tuesday June 16, 2020 at 4pm.


#4 Derrière les portes with Ron Loranger

Onward to Toronto for our 4th artist’s meetup, this time with visual artist Ron Loranger. He invites us in his home where his typical shapes Blobettes have transformed to the contact of COVID.

Originally from Kapuskasing, Ron Loranger is a queer Franco-Ontarian visual artist based in Toronto. His practice, usually entitled “Blobettes”, involves watercolour and India ink on Arches paper, but also takes the shape of painted installations in urban settings. Loranger is very much involved in the world of artist-run centres: indeed, he has been part of several boards and committees, such as B.R.A.V.O.-SUD, Galerie du Nouvel-Ontario and Le Labo. His professional experience includes exhibits in private galleries in Toronto, New York City and Berlin, and in public galleries, such as Kapuskasing’s Galerie Paquin, the Sudbury Art Gallery and the Glendon York University Gallery, as well with the GNO with Blobettes in 2015.

He also took part in the Biennial of Textile Art in San Jose (Costa Rica) and the Fair of Alternative Art of Sudbury (FAAS). His works are part of private collections throughout North America and Europe.

Broadcast on Facebook live on the GNO’s FB page, Tuesday June 30, 2020 at 4pm.


#5 Derrière les portes with Anyse Ducharme

Hop on for a virtual tour of the practice of digital artist Anyse Ducharme. Still mysterious for techno newbies👋, data, pixels and hydrophone  hold no more secrets for her. Discover parts of her new resarch-creation project “I’ve swear i’ve followed the instruction but my heart can’t close”, created during an instagram takeover at the Near North Mobile Media Lab in winter 2019.

Anyse Ducharme is a Franco-Ontarian media artist from Northeastern Ontario (Sturgeon Falls). Her artistic practice is engaged with the circulation of digital imagery and the malleability of data. Her work has been exhibited in Sudbury during FAAS 6, Ottawa, Toronto, Vancouver, Winnipeg, Middlesbrough, Boston and New York.  Ducharme holds an MFA from the University of British Columbia, a BFA from the University of Ottawa, and a college diploma in 3D Animation from La Cité collégiale.  She currently works as the Artistic Programmer at Knot Project Space — SAW Video, and sits on the board of directors of both La Galerie du Nouvel-Ontario and the Media Art Network of Ontario.

Broadcast on Facebook live on the GNO’s FB page, Tuesday July 14, 2020 at 4pm.


#6 Derrière les portes with Lise Beaudry

Time to visit Lise Beaudry‘s creating space, live from Toronto. The photograph, selected to create the public art work at Greater Sudbury Place des Arts,  shares what it is like to see the world through a lense and to find her creative materials in surroundings archives.

Lise Beaudry is a Franco-Ontarian artist originally from the rural region of Témiscamingue on the Ontario-Québec border.  As an artist, she seeks ways to do and think with photography as a platform for experimentation.She holds a BFA from Concordia University (1997) and an MFA from York University (2006). Her photographic and video work has been presented across Canada and internationally, including Les Rencontres Internationales de la Photographie, Arles (1997), Grunt Gallery, Vancouver (1999) A Space, Toronto (2000), Biennial of Young Artists, Romania (2004), Ice Follies, North Bay (2006), AXENÉO7, Gatineau (2010), Art Gallery of Hamilton (2011) and Art Gallery of Mississauga (2012), Pierre François Ouellette Art Contemporain, Montréal (2017) and Koffler Gallery, Toronto (2018).  In 2012, Beaudry won the BMW Exhibition Prize at the Contact Photography Festival. Her works are in private collections including TD Bank Art Collection.  Now residing in Toronto, she is a professor in the Art and Art History program at the University of Toronto in Mississauga.
Broadcast on Facebook live on the GNO’s FB page, Tuesday July 28, 2020 at 4pm.
Prev:
object(WP_Post)#4352 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(9623) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2018-05-10 14:43:25" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-05-10 18:43:25" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(31) "But really, where are you from?" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(29) "but-really-where-are-you-from" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-07-11 14:55:05" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-07-11 18:55:05" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(43) "http://gn-o.org/?post_type=expo&p=9623" ["menu_order"]=> int(2) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
string(0) ""

Derrière les portes


du 19 mai à la fin du confinement


bi-mensuellement, les mardi à 16h
sur la page Facebook de la GNO
diffusé en direct


Durant cette pandémie mondiale, forcé.es de rester à la maison pour le bien de toutes et tous, nous nous invitons chez les artistes – virtuellement – le temps d’une jasette à propos de leur pratique, leurs travaux et l’état de leur créativité en ce moment. On voulait savoir : comment vont les artistes?


#1 Derrière les portes avec Laurent Vaillancourt

Pour le premier arrêt, on s’invite à Hearst, dans l’atelier de l’artiste Laurent Vaillancourt  pour une conversation avec la directrice de la GNO, Danielle Tremblay.
°
Ami de longue date de la GNO et artiste phare franco-ontarien, Laurent Vaillancourt a une pratique variée qu’il promène partout à travers la province et au-delà, notamment avec ses projets «Cents bornes» et «La Tournée mondiale en Ontario». Il a exposé plusieurs fois au cours de sa carrière à la GNO, plus récemment avec «Mission Site» et durant les FAAS – Foire d’art alternatif de Sudbury.

Diffusé en direct sur la page Facebook de la GNO, le mardi 19 mai 2020 à 16h.


#2 Derrière les portes avec Julie René de Cotret

Deuxième arrêt : Hillsburgh dans la cour de Julie René de Cotret, artiste pluridisciplinaire membre du C.A. de la GNO et commissaire indépendante. Parmi ses plantes et ses poules, découvrez le projet qui l’occupe, grandement influencé par la notion altérée du temps qui passe en confinement et le contexte rural où elle loge.

Julie René de Cotret est une artiste et commissaire indépendante franco-ontarienne. Elle a reçu son Baccalauréat de NSCAD en 2004 et une maitrise en arts visuel, de l’Université de Toronto en 2018. Elle a exposé au Canada, au États Unis, en Corée, Grèce, Suède, Suisse, Allemagne et en Angleterre. Elle a cofondé la résidence d’artistes à l’école de sciences environnementales de l’Université de Guelph, en 2009, et est commissaire indépendante en collaboration avec cette école depuis 2011. Elle a servi au conseil d’administration de Ed Vidéo centre d’art médiatique de 2006 à 2014 et figure maintenant sur le C.A. de la Galerie du Nouvel-Ontario depuis 2016. René de Cotret est récipiendaire d’une bourse Chalmers de recherche artistique.

Derrière les portes avec Julie René de Cotret

2eme arret > Hillsburgh dans la cour de l'artiste pour découvrir son projet en construction parmi les 🐔 et les🌻

Posted by Galerie du Nouvel-Ontario on Wednesday, June 3, 2020

Diffusé en direct sur la page Facebook de la GNO, le mercredi(exceptionnellement) 3 juin 2020 à 16h.


#3 Derrière les portes avec Emilio Portal

Et ça continue chez l’artiste Emilio Portal qui vous invite dans son studio maison à Sudbury. Ses derniers projets de paysages sonores «She Is Awakening» avec Myths and Mirrors et de collaborations au sein du collectif eeportal sont à l’honneur. Montez le volume, relaxez et laissez vous emporter par les ondes sonores.

Emilio Portal est un artiste interdisciplinaire, ébéniste, designer, musicien et patenteux. En plus de travailler à l’école d’architecture McEwen, il mène ses projets sur plusieurs fronts en collaborant avec des organismes locaux à Sudbury où il réside, et en exposant à divers endroits, notamment à Open Space et Grunt Gallery, Vancouver; et à la GNO. Depuis 2011, avec Elyse Portal, il crée au sein du collectif eeportal des installations et performances autour d’enjeux historiques et contemporains, environnementaux et spirituels.

Derrière les portes avec Emilio Portal

Et ça continue chez l'artiste Emilio Portal qui vous invite dans son studio maison à Sudbury. On monte le son 🎧 !

Posted by Galerie du Nouvel-Ontario on Tuesday, June 16, 2020

Diffusé en direct sur la page Facebook de la GNO, le mardi 16 juin 2020 à 16h.


#4 Derrière les portes avec Ron Loranger

Direction Toronto pour notre 4eme rencontre, cette fois-ci avec l’artiste visuel Ron Loranger. Il nous accueille chez lui où depuis le début du confinement, ses formes typiques nommées Blobettes se transforment au contact de la COVID.

Originaire de Kapuskasing, Ron Loranger est un artiste visuel queer franco-ontarien basé à Toronto. Sa pratique mise sur la création de « blobettes », formes qu’il crée sur papier avec l’aquarelle et l’encre de Chine, ou en forme d’installation peinte en milieu urbain.Son parcours professionnel compte des expositions en galeries privées à Toronto et New York, ainsi que dans les galeries publiques telles que la Galerie d’art de Sudbury et la galerie Glendon au collège Glendon de l’Université York, et récemment à la GNO avec Blobettes, en octobre 2015. Il a aussi participé à la Biennale d’art textile à San Jose (Costa Rica) et à la Foire d’art alternatif de Sudbury (FAAS). Ses œuvres font parti de collections privées à travers l’Amérique du Nord et l’Europe.


Diffusé en direct sur la page Facebook de la GNO, le mardi 30 juin 2020 à 16h.


#5 Derrière les portes avec Anyse Ducharme

Embarquez pour un tour virtuel de la pratique de l’artiste numérique Anyse Ducharme. Encore mystérieux pour certains technonuls👋, données, pixels et hydrophone n’ont plus de secrets pour elle. C’est aussi l’occasion de découvrir son nouveau projet de recherche-création “I’ve swear i’ve followed the instruction but my heart can’t close”, créé lors d’un instagram takeover au Near North Mobile Media Lab en hiver 2019.

Anyse Ducharme est une artiste médiatique franco-ontarienne du nord-est de l’Ontario (Sturgeon Falls). Sa pratique artistique est engagée avec la circulation de l’imagerie numérique et la malléabilité des données. Son travail a été exposé à Sudbury lors de la FAAS 6, Ottawa, Toronto, Vancouver, Winnipeg, Middlesbrough, Boston et New York. Ducharme est diplômée d’une maîtrise en beaux-arts de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique, d’un baccalauréat en arts visuels de l’Université d’Ottawa et d’un diplôme d’études collégiales en animation 3D de La Cité collégiale. Elle travaille comme programmatrice artistique au Knot Project Space – SAW Video, et siège au conseil d’administration de La Galerie du Nouvel-Ontario et du Media Art Network of Ontario.

Diffusé en direct sur la page Facebook de la GNO, le mardi 14 juillet 2020 à 16h.


#6 Derrière les portes avec Lise Beaudry

Au tour de la photographe Lise Beaudry de vous faire visiter son espace de création. En direct de Toronto, l’artiste, sélectionnée pour créer l’œuvre publique de la Place des Arts de Sudbury, partagera ce que sait de voir le monde à travers une lentille et de trouver son matériel artistique dans les archives qui l’entoure.

Lise Beaudry est originaire d’Earlton, un petit village près de la frontière du Québec et de l’Ontario.  En tant qu’artiste franco-ontarienne,  elle aborde la photographie comme une plateforme d’expérimentation. Beaudry est titulaire d’un baccalauréat de Concordia University (1997) et d’une maîtrise en arts visuels (2006) de York University.  Ses œuvres photographiques et vidéographiques ont été présentées dans des centres d’artistes à travers le Canada et à l’étranger: Les Rencontres Internationales de la Photographie, Arles (1997), Grunt Gallery, Vancouver (1999) A Space, Toronto (2000), Biennial of Young Artists, Romania (2004), Ice Follies, North Bay (2006), AXENÉO7, Gatineau (2010), Art Gallery of Hamilton (2011), Art Gallery of Mississauga (2012), Pierre François Ouellette Art Contemporain, Montréal (2017) et Koffler Gallery, Toronto (2018).Ses œuvres se retrouvent dans plusieurs collections privées incluant le Groupe bancaire TD.  Elle vit et travaille à Toronto, où elle enseigne à l’Université de Toronto à Mississauga dans le programme d’art et d’histoire de l’art.

Diffusé en direct sur la page Facebook de la GNO, le mardi 28 juillet 2020 à 16h.
Prev:
object(WP_Post)#14941 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(9620) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2018-05-10 14:43:35" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-05-10 18:43:35" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(30) "Mais d'où viens-tu vraiment ?" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(26) "mais-dou-viens-tu-vraiment" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2019-01-09 11:20:06" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2019-01-09 16:20:06" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(43) "http://gn-o.org/?post_type=expo&p=9620" ["menu_order"]=> int(2) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
string(0) ""