Contre vents et marées / Against All Odds


Alanis Rodriguez Beaudoin, Elyse Portal, Camille Tremblay Beaulieu


POSTPONED : March 31 to April 24, 2020


Exhibition from March 31 to April 24, 2020
54 Elgin street

Exhibition curator : Laura Demers


Contre vents et marées / Against All Odds

The breeze becomes gust, the tides rise. This exhibition curated by Laura Demers and featuring three artists from the Sudbury region – Alanis Rodriguez Beaudoin, Elyse Portal and Camille Tremblay Beaulieu – explores various facets of the local and far-reaching environmental discourses that mark our daily lives.

These three artists examine, through photography and video – as well as through their activism within their communities – themes related to the magnitude of the human impact on surrounding ecosystems, both environmental and social. While taking a critical look at the current condition, these young artists embody, in a way, a form of hope and resilience; the hope and resilience we must invest in approaches aimed at preserving and rehabilitating the fauna, flora, waters, and the atmosphere.


The artists

Alanis Rodriguez Beaudoin is a Mexican artist who grew up in Sudbury. Her works examine ethnic identity, urban landscapes, and the dichotomies between the two cultures in which she lives. Always questioning the impact of contemporary art on the communities of Mexico and Canada, she is looking for visual languages that evoke the stories, traditions, and mythologies that inform the links we forge between one another as human beings.

Elyse Portal has been practicing ecological art for almost 20 years in solo and within the collective eeportal. In order to counter the effects of our consumerist culture, as well as the alienation stemming from the growing gap between humanity and nature, Elyse Portal inserts herself into her surroundings. Her practice involves a creative process that includes the participation of non-human actors such as clay, plant specimens, etc. Her projects are often site specific and rooted to place.

Camille Tremblay Beaulieu studied zoology at Laurentian University and completed her thesis on the impact of mining industries in Sudbury on amphibians and reptiles in the region. With a degree in Environmental Visual Communication from the Royal Ontario Museum and Fleming College, Camille is interested in capturing images of the local landscapes (living and dead), their destruction, their restoration, as well as the stories of those who inhabit them.


Exhibition Partners

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#3577 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(9623) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2018-05-10 14:43:25" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-05-10 18:43:25" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(31) "But really, where are you from?" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(29) "but-really-where-are-you-from" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-07-11 14:55:05" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-07-11 18:55:05" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(43) "http://gn-o.org/?post_type=expo&p=9623" ["menu_order"]=> int(2) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
string(0) ""

Contre vents et marées / Against All Odds


Alanis Rodriguez Beaudoin, Elyse Portal, Camille Tremblay Beaulieu


REPORTÉE : 31 mars au 24 avril 2020


Exposition du 31 mars au 24 avril 2020
54 rue Elgin

Commissaire d'exposition : Laura Demers


Contre vents et marées / Against All Odds

Les vents se lèvent en bourrasques, les marées montent. Cette exposition commissariée par Laura Demers et figurant trois artistes de la région de Sudbury se penche sur diverses facettes des discours environnementaux locaux et globaux qui marquent nos vies au quotidien.

Ces trois artistes examinent à travers la photographie et la vidéo – ainsi que par leur activisme auprès de leurs communautés – des thèmes reliés à l’ampleur de l’impact humain sur plusieurs écosystèmes, à la fois environnementaux et sociaux. Tout en posant un regard critique sur la condition présente, ces jeunes artistes incarnent, en quelques sortes, une forme d’espoir et de résilience; l’espoir et la résilience que l’on se doit d’investir dans les démarches visant la préservation et la réhabilitation de la faune, de la flore, des eaux et de l’atmosphère.


Les artistes

Alanis Rodriguez Beaudoin est une artiste mexicaine qui a grandie à Sudbury. Ses œuvres examinent l’identité ethnique, les paysages urbains, ainsi que les dichotomies entre les cultures dans lesquelles elle a évolué. Toujours en questionnement par rapport à l’impact de l’art contemporain sur les communautés du Mexique et du Canada, elle est à la recherche de langages visuels qui évoquent les histoires, les traditions et les mythologies qui informent les liens que nous tissons entre êtres humains.

Elyse Portal pratique l’art écologique depuis près de 20 ans en solo et au sein du collectif eeportal. Afin de contrer les effets de notre culture consumériste, ainsi que l’expérience aliénante qui résulte de l’écart grandissant entre l’humanité et la nature, Elyse Portal s’ancre dans son environnement en présentant des projets in situ. Sa pratique implique un processus créatif qui inclut la participation d’acteurs non-humains tels l’argile, les spécimens végétaux, etc.

Camille Tremblay Beaulieu a étudié la zoologie à l’Université Laurentienne et a complété sa thèse sur l’impact de l’exploitation minière à Sudbury sur les amphibiens et les reptiles de la région. Depuis, ayant fait des études en Communication visuelle environnementale au Royal Ontario Museum et Fleming College, Camille s’intéresse aux paysages locaux (vivants et morts), à leur destruction, leur restauration, ainsi qu’aux histoires de ceux qui les habitent


Partenaires d'exposition

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#15622 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(9620) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2018-05-10 14:43:35" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-05-10 18:43:35" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(30) "Mais d'où viens-tu vraiment ?" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(26) "mais-dou-viens-tu-vraiment" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2019-01-09 11:20:06" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2019-01-09 16:20:06" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(43) "http://gn-o.org/?post_type=expo&p=9620" ["menu_order"]=> int(2) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
string(0) ""