Continuum


Pierre Tremblay


October 14 to November 18, 2006


Continuum

Through the lens of his video camera, Pierre Tremblay invites us into his neighbourhood on the shores of Lake Ontario. As we follow lively trails on foot or bicycle, representation evolves into abstraction.

Before our eyes, Scarborough’s urban landscape is transformed. Images are cut and pasted, cropped and superimposed in a way that gives each visual sequence its particular geometry, movement and luminosity. As these images stream by, we are reminded of the eternal ebb and flow of seasons and the incessant renewal of space. Soundscapes, ambient and distinctive, blend into the images: breezes and birdsongs, the trickling of water, the currents of street traffic, the crunch of bicycle wheels on gravel.

Though fleeting and fast-paced, these sequences impart a meditative quality to the work. Here, the intimate becomes universal. Like a mantra in a prayer wheel, the image at the heart of this work endlessly revolves and radiates its inner energy into its surroundings. Extracted from their context, Pierre Tremblay’s familiar landscapes, acquire unexpected aesthetic energies. This work resonates ever more widely with each successive showing.

Since 2004, Continuum has continued to evolve. New sequences emerge so that in every new showing and for every new wave of spectators, the installation is never what is was before. In Sudbury, Continuum is presented as a 20-minute videographic work with six variations screened onto approximately 30 television sets scrounged in the community.

After obtaining his diploma in Graphic Communications at Ryerson University in Toronto, Pierre Tremblay headed to Paris, where he lived for twelve years and acquired a master’s diploma in visual arts and technology at l’université de Paris VIII.


Since 1988, Pierre has resided in Toronto and taught full-time at Ryerson University’s School of Image Art. His works have been presented in solo and group showings in Canada and Europe, and his most recent video explorations were screened in many film festivals including Montreal, Perth (Australia) and Xiamen (China). Collections in France and Canada hold his works, among them le musée Rodin and la Bibliothèque nationale de France.

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#3552 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(5376) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2016-08-05 13:45:14" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2016-08-05 17:45:14" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(3) "401" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(5) "401-2" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-05-22 11:40:24" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-05-22 15:40:24" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(46) "http://gn-o.org/en/?post_type=expo&p=5376" ["menu_order"]=> int(169) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
object(WP_Post)#3551 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(5339) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2016-08-05 11:56:02" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2016-08-05 15:56:02" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(19) "Les femmes savantes" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(19) "les-femmes-savantes" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-05-22 11:40:24" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-05-22 15:40:24" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(46) "http://gn-o.org/en/?post_type=expo&p=5339" ["menu_order"]=> int(165) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" }

Continuum


Pierre Tremblay


14 octobre au 18 novembre 2006


Continuum

À travers la lentille de sa caméra vidéo, Pierre Tremblay nous invite dans son voisinage, sur le bord du Lac Ontario. À pied ou en vélo, sur des sentiers animés, nous passons du représentatif à l’abstrait.

Le paysage urbain de Scarborough se transforme sous nos yeux. Chaque séquence visuelle, formée d’images montées, collées, découpées et superposées a sa géométrie propre, son mouvement, sa lumière. Le défilement nous rappelle les changements de saisons et le renouvellement continuel des lieux. S’y ajoute un mariage de sons ambiants et distincts : vent, chants d’oiseaux, ruissellement d’eau, circulation de voitures, son de vélo sur la gravelle.

Au délà des séquences qui défilent à toute allure, une qualité méditative marque l’oeuvre. Sa portée personnelle rencontre l’universel . Comme un mantra dans un moulin à prière, l’image dans l’oeuvre tourne et tourne et disperse dans l’éspace l’énergie qu’elle contient. Ainsi, à chaque présentation, l’oeuvre réverbère de plus en plus large.

Les paysages familiers de Pierre Tremblay, une fois sortis de leur contexte, prennent une nouvelle valeur esthétique. Depuis 2004, Continuum n’a cessé d’évoluer. Les séquences se multiplient, l’installation se transforme dans chaque lieu et les présentations se renouvellent avec chaque public. À Sudbury, Continuum prend la forme d’une oeuvre vidéographique de 20 minutes, avec six variations sur environ 30 téléviseurs recueillis dans la communauté.

Après avoir obtenu ses diplômes en Communication graphique et en Photographie à l’Université de Ryerson de Toronto, Pierre Tremblay se déplace vers Paris où il y demeure pendant une douzaine d’années et où il obtient, entre autres, sa maîtrise en Art et Technologie de l’image à l’université de Paris VIII.


Depuis 1988, Pierre vit à Toronto et enseigne à plein temps au School of Image Art de l’Université Ryerson. Ses oeuvres ont été présentées dans des expositions individuelles et collectives au Canada et en Europe, et ses plus récentes explorations vidéo ont été visionnées dans de nombreux festivals de film y compris ceux de Montréal, Perth, en Australie et Xiamen, en Chine. Ses oeuvres font aussi parties de collections en France et au Canada, parmi lesquelles la collection du musée de Rodin et de la bibliothèque nationale de France.

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#14533 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(5364) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2016-08-05 13:45:24" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2016-08-05 17:45:24" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(3) "401" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(5) "401-2" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-05-22 11:40:24" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-05-22 15:40:24" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(43) "http://gn-o.org/?post_type=expo&p=5364" ["menu_order"]=> int(169) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
object(WP_Post)#14532 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(5331) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2016-08-05 11:55:47" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2016-08-05 15:55:47" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(19) "Les femmes savantes" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(19) "les-femmes-savantes" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-05-22 11:40:24" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-05-22 15:40:24" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(43) "http://gn-o.org/?post_type=expo&p=5331" ["menu_order"]=> int(165) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" }