Wanderlust


Caroline Monnet


April 12 to May 19, 2018


Exhibition April 12 to May 19, 2018
Opening Thursday April 12, at 5 pm


Exhibition curator: Stefan St-Laurent, from artist-run centre AXENÉO7



Wanderlust

Wanderlust, a solo exhibition by Caroline Monnet, features the series Modern Tipi and June, as well as the film Gephyrophobia. Exploring complex issues around identity, culture and territory, Monnet envisions various topographies and iconographies through painting and video, which, for this exhibition, all overlap to produce a large network of colours and lines.

Much like an ancestral tree or a topographical survey, the installation makes manifest our interconnectedness with people and the planet, despite the boundaries and bloodlines that too often keep us apart.

Wanderlust – a strong desire to travel, and Gephyrophobia – a fear of bridges, antagonize each other in Monnet’s own quest for emancipation. The resulting installation draws from various political and social histories, showing us how delineations, real or imagined, shape our cultures and communities.


Caroline Monnet

Caroline Monnet is a multidisciplinary artist from the Outaouais region in Quebec. She studied Sociology and Communication at the University of Ottawa and the University of Granada before pursuing a career in visual arts and film. Her short films have screened at numerous festivals including the Toronto International Film Festival and Sundance Film Festival. She is currently developing her first feature film, selected for the Festival de Cannes Cinéfondation residency in Paris. Recent exhibitions include AXENÉO7 (Gatineau), Arsenal (NY) and the Walter Phillips Gallery (Banff). She is currently based in Montréal.

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#3269 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(8238) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 10:42:15" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 14:42:15" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(20) "nbiish—eau—water" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(16) "nbiish-eau-water" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-01-08 14:17:13" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-01-08 19:17:13" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(38) "http://gn-o.org/expo/nbiish-eau-water/" ["menu_order"]=> int(1) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
string(0) ""

Wanderlust


Caroline Monnet


12 avril au 19 mai 2018


Exposition du 12 avril au 19 mai 2018
Vernissage le jeudi 12 avril, à 17 h


Commissaire d'exposition : Stefan St-Laurent, du centre d'artistes AXENÉO7



Wanderlust

Wanderlust, une exposition solo de Caroline Monnet, présente les séries Modern Tipi et June, ainsi que le film Gephyrophobia. Explorant des problématiques complexes autour de l’identité, de la culture et du territoire, Monnet imagine différentes topographies et iconographies à travers la peinture et la vidéo qui, pour cette exposition, se recoupent pour produire un large réseau de couleurs et de lignes.

À l’instar d’un arbre ancestral ou d’une enquête topographique, l’installation met en évidence notre interdépendance avec les autres et la planète, malgré les frontières et les lignées qui nous séparent trop souvent.

Wanderlust – un fort désir de voyager, et Gephyrophobia – une peur des ponts, se contrarient dans cette quête d’émancipation. L’installation qui en résulte s’inspire de diverses histoires politiques et sociales, nous montrant comment les délimitations, réelles ou imaginaires, façonnent nos cultures et nos communautés.

 


Caroline Monnet

Caroline Monnet est une artiste multidisciplinaire de la région de l’Outaouais au Québec. Elle a étudié la sociologie et la communication à l’Université d’Ottawa et à l’Université de Grenade avant de poursuivre une carrière dans les arts visuels et le cinéma. Ses courts métrages ont été présentés dans de nombreux festivals, dont le Festival international du film de Toronto et le Sundance Film Festival. Elle développe actuellement son premier long métrage, sélectionné pour la résidence de la Cinéfondation Festival de Cannes à Paris. Ses expositions récentes incluent AXENÉO7 (Gatineau), Arsenal (New York) et la Walter Phillips Gallery (Banff). Elle vit et travaille à Montréal.

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#12587 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(8235) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 10:42:15" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 14:42:15" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(20) "nbiish—eau—water" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(16) "nbiish-eau-water" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-01-08 14:08:18" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-01-08 19:08:18" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(43) "http://gn-o.org/?post_type=expo&p=8235" ["menu_order"]=> int(1) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
string(0) ""