Hook, Line and Sinker


Sasha Phipps


October 7 to November 5, 2016


Exhibition October 7 to November 5, 2016
Opening reception Friday October 7, at 5 pm


Hook, Line and Sinker (Se faire avoir comme un bleu)

Through his installation work, artist Sasha Phipps explores and reinterprets what he calls “vernacular” aspects of culture. Inspired by the landscape around Ramsey Lake, Hook, Line, and Sinker is especially interested in those who cast their fishing lines along the shore.

A giant hook is embedded in one of the gallery’s walls, evoking the manner in which a fishing line sometimes snags the bottom of the lake instead of its intended prey. Something tugs at a floating bobber in an old stainless steel sink, like fish nibbling on bait before getting away. Finally, the exhibition is partly hidden behind original camouflage patterns designed by the artist with photos taken of the local landscape.


Sasha Phipps is an Ottawa-based French-Canadian artist working in video, installation, painting, and public art interventions. He received a college diploma in 3D animation at La Cité collégiale in spring 2006 and received his Bachelor of Fine Arts from the University of Ottawa in the spring of 2010. He maintains an artistic practice in the City of Ottawa and works as the photography and media arts technician for the visual arts department at the University of Ottawa.




Exhibition Sponsor


Not quite what it seems

« Se faire avoir comme un bleu / Hook, Line and Sinker »
Sasha Phipps’ exhibition at La Galerie du Nouvel-Ontario, October 2016
An accompanying text by Normand Renaud

The camouflage, the lure and the catch: in this exhibition, three realities familiar to fishers and hunters are both expressed and transformed.

My first comments are on the component of the exhibition that gave me a true jolt of excitement. In a corner of the gallery near the entrance is a square, stainless steel basin, filled with dark tinted water, standing on four metal legs which raise the small pool of water to waist level. Perfectly still in the middle of this little square pool rests a conical orange-white-blue floater, like those that fishers use to know when a fish is taking the bait. A soundtrack of drops of water completes the scene’s peaceful ambiance. Like a close-up photo in a metallic frame, this pretty picture captures the essence of the art of still fishing. The image is zen, pure, stripped down to the bare minimum. You contemplate it, drawn into the same peaceful absent-mindedness that you feel when you’re out fishing. Then, all of a sudden…

For a brief moment, the still image comes alive. Something is biting! The floater trembles, producing a little circular wave that expands centrifugally, simultaneously producing in the viewer a surprisingly intense shock wave. The moment delivers with stunning accuracy the sensation felt by a fisher whose reverie is brusquely interrupted by the sign of an imminent catch. Even though you have no rod, bait, boat, lake or stream, you feel as if you’re right there, at the crucial moment of capture. But the moment is so brief that you instantly doubt your senses. Did I just imagine that? Now, the scene is nothing but pure stillness. The faux fisher is confused, having no rod in hand to tease the prey. The only thing you can do is examine the installation more closely.

The secret of the illusion is not immediately obvious, but it isn’t hidden. A length of fishing line emerges discretely from the back side of the basin. As you follow where it leads, you see that it extends downward behind the basin to a small electric motor attached to the floor, which activates a little arm. Sasha tells us later that it’s a small programmable motor like you might find in a printer or a scanner. So, there is no fish in these few centimetres of water. However, there is a catch: the spectator, excited by an insignificant stimulus, is just as much a victim of their neural programming as a cat that behaves like a hunter because of a bit of dangling yarn.

Another theme of this exhibition is camouflage. The gallery’s two side walls display creations that appear at first glance to be straightforward hunter’s camouflage, yet they are somehow different. The purpose of camouflage is to hide the fact that you’re hiding. But here, it becomes a way to reveal a landscape or to express awareness of our surroundings.

Hanging from the wall and rolling onto the floor, there is a wide length of canvas with a camouflage pattern extending several metres. There are metal grommets, so it might be used as a tarp. But it’s rather as if this rolling fabric is inviting us to drape the whole gallery space and superimpose nature over structure. You notice brown oak leaves, pine cones, branches of red pine, trunks of young birch, and blueberries. It’s a pattern designed by Sasha Phipps, which he calls ‘Rocky Oak and Blueberries’, a name he chose because it sounds a bit like ‘Mossy Oak’, a well-known commercially available camouflage pattern.

The other length of canvas is draped over a square structure on the floor near the facing wall and tied to rocks as if to keep the wind from blowing it away. The title of this pattern is ‘Slag and Cattails’. It features cattails, green oak leaves, wild grasses that resemble wheat, and bits of dark rock that Sudburians instantly recognize as smelter residue, or slag. All these visual elements are extracted from photos that Sasha Phipps took in the Sudbury area.

If you’re not a hunter, you might not know that you can find in stores a number of ‘classic’ camouflage patterns with names like Mossy Oak, Real Tree, God’s Country, etc. The artist used them as inspiration to create something similar. However, because he’s using images extracted from the natural environment of Sudbury, his camouflage pattern serves to express a sense of local identity, or simply to design a popular style, like the camouflage patterns that are sometimes used in everyday clothing. Here, camouflage acquires a new function, somewhat removed from its original function of creating an illusion of absence in the midst of a landscape. Now, it serves to make the landscape appear present in a new way, by expressing our recognition of the landscape in an esthetically pleasing assemblage of emblematic elements of our mixed boreal forest. Sudbury can now boast having its very own camouflage patterns, unique and representative of the region.

Nearby, hanging on wooden pegs attached to the wall, there are three baseball caps that also have camouflage patterns. One of them is intended for fishers. A novel thought: who would have thought that they might need to try and hide from the fish? It’s an amusing idea with a dash of humour thrown in for good measure: on the underside of one of the brims, there’s the infamous ‘blue pickerel’ that is part of the next component of the exhibition. The fisher simply has to glance upward to spot it. “Well in sight, well in mind.”

Sasha Phipps explains that the idea of exploring the possibilities of camouflage came to him during his mini-residency in Sudbury as part of the GNO’s ‘Allez-retour’ program. At first, he didn’t know of a company that could manufacture a small number of caps with a custom-made camouflage pattern. He discovered one in England. (But be warned: judging from these caps, Britons have small heads!) As for the camouflage tarps, they were printed at the University of Ottawa, where the artist works: they have a large printer that can print on wide fabrics.

The final component of the exhibition brings us back to the ‘Hook, Line and Sinker’ theme of the exhibition’s title. One again, there’s a catch, but you’re left wondering what it could possibly be.

Attached to the end wall of the gallery is a life-sized fish with two oversized triple hooks. (Sasha says they’re the kind used for shark fishing!) This perfectly reproduced plastic fish looks exactly like a pickerel, and its belly is a golden color (perhaps not too surprising for a fish whose name in French is doré – golden). But its back is blue. So, there you have un doré bleu, a blue-gold pickerel: it’s a rare catch, a worthy trophy. However, it’s only the prelude to an even more impressive catch; because of its triple hooks, this is obviously not a fish, but a lure designed to capture something much bigger.

The blue pickerel is attached to the wall very firmly, because from its mouth extends a white rope that crosses the gallery space to reach a fishing rod attached to the other perpendicular wall. The rod is bent into a curve due to the tautness of the rope. A few cattails, all white, trying to blend in with the white walls of the gallery, complete the scene. So, here nature is using camouflage, as if striving to remain unseen against white walls, while attached to the nearby wall, a lure-fish ― of a kind which nobody has ever seen in the wild ― seems to be telling us to expect the unexpected.

You try to imagine the predator that would strike at that prey. Proportionally, it would have to be about as big as an adult human being, at least. Did a clumsy cast snag that lure in the shoreline vegetation? Or was the intended catch in fact the gallery wall, as if to capture the gallery space and all its visitors? In any case, the scene is dynamic, rich with tension and energy, like a quest whose source and goal are wrapped in mystery or… camouflaged.

There you have a glimpse of an exhibition that displaces the vernacular of hunting and fishing to bring a new perception to familiar realities. The object or the situation undergoes a slight dislocation which doesn’t seem to alter its purpose or function profoundly, but which nonetheless rejuvenates quite profoundly the way we perceive it. Drawing from the common and the everyday, the artist crafts intriguing new realities in a realm of concrete imagination. These objects would not seem out of place in an everyday context, in the landscape, away from the gallery space, and this speaks to the respectful consideration given to these borrowed and transformed realities. There’s the glint of a smile in these playful hoaxes. You don’t mind getting caught “hook, line and sinker”, like a mythical blue pickerel. In fact, it’s good fun.

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#3268 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(5085) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2016-06-29 10:12:20" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2016-06-29 14:12:20" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(20) "Nouveaux Troglodytes" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(20) "nouveaux-troglodytes" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 10:42:44" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 14:42:44" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(46) "http://gn-o.org/en/?post_type=expo&p=5085" ["menu_order"]=> int(15) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
object(WP_Post)#3261 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(5105) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2016-06-29 14:03:04" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2016-06-29 18:03:04" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(17) "Le Nouveau Louvre" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(19) "nouveau-louvre-2016" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-02-21 13:13:33" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-02-21 18:13:33" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(46) "http://gn-o.org/en/?post_type=expo&p=5105" ["menu_order"]=> int(11) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" }

Se faire avoir comme un bleu


Sasha Phipps


7 octobre au 5 novembre 2016


Exposition du 7 octobre au 5 novembre 2016
Vernissage le vendredi 7 octobre à 17 h


Se faire avoir comme un bleu (Hook, Line and Sinker)

Avec son travail d’installation, l’artiste Sasha Phipps explore et réinterprète les cultures dites «vernaculaires». Se faire avoir comme un bleu s’inspire ainsi du paysage riverain du lac Ramsey en accordant une attention particulière à ceux qui y tendent leurs cannes à pêche.

Un hameçon géant transperce le mur de la galerie à la façon des lignes à pêche qui, au lieu d’un poisson, accrochent le fond du lac. Dans un ancien évier en acier inoxydable, un flotteur ballotant indique la présence d’un poisson qui grignote l’appât avant de s’esquiver. Finalement, l’exposition se dissimule sous des motifs originaux de camouflage conçus par l’artiste à partir de photos prises du paysage local.


Sasha Phipps est un artiste interdisciplinaire francophone originaire de la Ville d’Ottawa. Il a complété son diplôme d’études collégiales en animation 3D à la Cité collégiale au printemps 2006 et il a complété son baccalauréat en arts visuels à l’Université d’Ottawa au printemps 2010. Il maintient sa production artistique dans la Ville d’Ottawa et travaille comme Technicien en photographie et en arts médiatiques au département d’arts visuels à l’Université d’Ottawa.




Commanditaire de l'exposition


Apparences trompeuses

« Se faire avoir comme un bleu / Hook, Line and Sinker »
Exposition de Sasha Phipps à la Galerie du Nouvel-Ontario, octobre 2016
Un texte d’accompagnement par Normand Renaud

Le camouflage, le leurre et la prise : trois réalités familières du milieu des pêcheurs et chasseurs sont en jeu dans cette exposition qui les renouvelle tout en les illustrant.

Je commente d’abord la composante de l’exposition qui m’a procuré le plaisir d’un instant de franche excitation. Dans un coin de la galerie près de l’entrée se trouve un bassin carré en acier inoxydable, rempli d’une eau sombre, monté sur quatre pattes en inox, de manière à placer le petit plan d’eau environ à la hauteur de la taille. Au centre de ce carré d’eau lisse flotte, immobile, une petite bouée conique orange-blanc-bleu : c’est le flotteur qu’utilise le pêcheur pour savoir quand le poisson mordille à l’appât. Une bande sonore de gouttes tombant dans l’eau à rythme lent achève de composer une ambiance paisible. Comme un gros plan photographique cerné d’un cadre métallique, cette image minimaliste capte joliment l’essentiel de l’expérience de la pêche à la ligne dormante. On replonge dans l’attente détendue et à peine attentive qui fait le plaisir du pêcheur. L’image est zen, pure, dépouillée. On la contemple, on s’y abandonne. Jusqu’à ce que, soudain…

Pour un bref instant électrisant, l’image s’anime! Ça mord! Le flotteur subit une toute petite secousse qui engendre une vaguelette circulaire et centrifuge, tout en produisant simultanément chez le spectateur une onde de choc dont l’intensité étonne. Le moment transmet avec une parfaite exactitude la sensation du pêcheur arraché de sa rêvasserie par la perspective d’une prise imminente. Même sans canne, ni appât, ni chaloupe, ni lac ou rivière, on se sent pourtant comme si on y était, à l’instant fulgurant de la capture. Mais l’instant est si bref qu’aussitôt, on en doute. Ai-je imaginé ça? Plus rien; immobilité totale. Le faux pêcheur est d’autant plus désemparé qu’il n’a pas de canne en main pour taquiner la proie. Il ne lui reste plus qu’à examiner l’installation de plus près.

Le secret de l’illusion n’est pas immédiatement évident, mais il n’est pas dissimulé. Un bout de ligne à pêche émerge discrètement le long du bord arrière du bassin. En la suivant du regard, on constate qu’elle descend jusqu’à un petit moteur électrique fixé au sol derrière la table. Sasha nous expliquera plus tard qu’il s’agit d’un petit moteur programmable, comme ceux des imprimantes ou des scanneurs, qui actionne une tige à laquelle la ligne est attachée. Il n’y a donc pas de poisson au fond de ces quelques centimètres d’eau. Mais il y a bel et bien une prise : le spectateur excité par un stimulus insignifiant est tout autant victime de sa programmation neuronale qu’un chat qui se comporte en chasseur devant un brin de ficelle de laine.

Un deuxième thème de cette exposition est le camouflage. Les deux murs qui se font face au milieu de la galerie servent à exposer des créations qui, tout en ayant l’air de motifs de camouflage classiques, sont en même temps autre chose. Le camouflage est censé servir à cacher le fait qu’on se cache. Mais voici qu’il devient une façon d’exprimer le paysage ou d’afficher notre présence au paysage.

Pendant au mur et se déroulant jusque sur le sol, on voit une large bande de toile de canevas à motif de camouflage, longue de plusieurs mètres et munie d’œillets métalliques pour qu’elle puisse servir de bâche. C’est comme si cette toile déroulante nous invitait à recouvrir l’espace entier de la galerie pour superposer la nature sur la structure. On y aperçoit des feuilles de chêne brunes, des cocottes de pin, des branches de pin rouge, des troncs de jeune bouleau et des bleuets. Il s’agit d’un motif que Sasha Phipps a conçu et nommé « Rocky Oak and Blueberries », un nom qu’il a choisi pour son assonance avec « Mossy Oak », un motif de camouflage bien connu dans le commerce.

L’autre bande de toile est drapée sur une structure carrée au plancher près du mur d’en face et attachée à des pierres, comme pour empêcher que le vent l’emporte. Ce motif-ci, l’artiste l’a nommé « Slag and Cattails ». On distingue des quenouilles, des feuilles de chêne vertes, des herbes qui ressemblent un peu à du blé et des morceaux de slague, ces roches noires qui sont les résidus des affineries minières. (Les jolis termes français crasse et crassiers sont peu connus dans la région; c’est dommage.) Tous ces éléments visuels sont extraits de photographies que Sasha Phipps a prises dans les environs de Sudbury.

Si on n’est pas chasseur, on ne sait peut-être pas qu’il existe dans le commerce quelques motifs de camouflage « classiques », nommés Mossy Oak, Real Tree, God’s Country, etc. L’artiste s’en est inspiré pour créer quelque chose qui leur ressemble. Toutefois, par l’utilisation d’images tirées de l’environnement naturel de la région de Sudbury, il confère au camouflage une fonction identitaire, ou à tout le moins un effet de mode, comme les motifs de camouflage apparaissant parfois dans la mode vestimentaire populaire. Le camouflage acquiert donc ici une fonction seconde qui l’écarte de sa fonction première, qui est de créer dans le paysage une illusion d’absence. Ici, il sert plutôt à exprimer la reconnaissance du paysage, à le faire voir d’un nouvel œil appréciatif en agençant esthétiquement quelques éléments emblématiques de la forêt mixte boréale. Sudbury peut désormais se targuer d’avoir ses propres motifs de camouflage uniques et représentatifs de la région.

Non loin, pendues au mur sur des crochets en bois, il y a trois casquettes à palettes, à motifs de camouflage elles aussi. Une de celles-ci est destinée aux pêcheurs. Idée neuve : qui eut cru qu’un pêcheur aurait intérêt à se cacher du poisson? L’idée est amusante et, en effet, un trait d’humour s’y ajoute : sur le dessous d’une des palettes, on remarque le fameux « doré bleu » dont il sera question dans la prochaine composante de l’exposition. Le pêcheur n’a qu’à lever les yeux pour l’apercevoir : près des yeux, près du cœur!

Sasha Phipps raconte que l’idée d’explorer le motif du camouflage a germé lors de sa minirésidence à Sudbury dans le cadre du programme « Aller-retour » de la GNO. Mais il ne savait pas au départ qu’il était possible de faire fabriquer des casquettes à motifs de camouflage personnalisés. C’est en Angleterre qu’il a découvert une entreprise qui accepte de fabriquer en seulement quelques exemplaires des casquettes dont le client fournit le motif. (Mais attention, les Britanniques semblent avoir un petit tour de tête!) Pour leur part, les bâches à motif de camouflage ont été imprimées à l’Université d’Ottawa, où l’artiste travaille, à l’aide d’une grosse imprimante qui peut imprimer sur de la toile.

La dernière composante de l’exposition est celle qui donne son titre à l’exposition : « Se faire avoir comme un bleu ». Je me demandais pourquoi l’artiste a ressuscité cette expression peu usitée qui a ses origines dans le domaine militaire en France, jusqu’à ce que j’aperçoive le « bleu » en question, qui porte drôlement à confusion.

Accroché au mur du fond de la galerie, il y a un poisson grandeur nature, muni de deux très gros hameçons triples. Semble-t-il que ce genre de gros hameçon sert à pêcher le requin. Ce poisson en matière plastique reproduit parfaitement la forme d’un doré, mais si son ventre est de couleur or, son dos, lui, est bleu. C’est donc un « doré bleu »! Ce serait une prise rare, un trophée épatant. Pourtant, il n’est que le prélude à une capture encore plus impressionnante. Car de toute évidence, les hameçons font de lui un leurre servant à attraper bien plus gros et rare que lui.

Le doré bleu est fixé au mur très solidement, car de sa bouche s’étend une corde blanche qui traverse la galerie de biais pour atteindre une canne à pêche fixée au mur d’à côté. La canne est ployée sous la tension de la corde. Quelques quenouilles, toutes blanches pour se confondre avec les murs blancs de la galerie, complètent la scène. C’est donc que la nature se camoufle, comme pour passer inaperçue dans un local aux murs blancs. De son côté, le poisson-leurre accroché au mur, que personne n’a jamais aperçu dans la nature, fait pressentir du jamais vu.

On essaie d’imaginer le prédateur qui mordrait à pareille proie : toutes proportions gardées, il aurait la taille d’un humain adulte, au moins. Est-ce un lancer maladroit qui a emmêlé le leurre dans une végétation riveraine? Ou est-ce que la prise visée est bel et bien le mur de la galerie, comme pour attraper le local et tous les visiteurs qu’il contient? En tout cas, la scène est dynamique, empreinte d’une tension, d’une énergie, d’une quête dont la source et le but sont voilés de mystère ou… camouflés.

Voilà donc un aperçu d’une exposition qui procède par déplacement de réalités familières du vernaculaire de la pêche et de la chasse pour les faire percevoir d’une manière neuve. L’objet ou la situation subit un léger décalage qui ne semble pas altérer très profondément son usage ou sa fonction, mais qui pourtant renouvelle assez profondément sa signification. En empruntant au banal et à l’ordinaire, l’artiste conçoit des nouveautés à même un imaginaire concret. Ces objets sembleraient à leur place dans leur contexte d’origine, ailleurs que dans une galerie d’art, ce qui témoigne de l’appréciation respectueuse des réalités ainsi trafiquées. Il y a sourire en coin et bonne humeur dans ces attrapes sans nigauds. Se faire avoir comme un doré bleu, c’est sympathique.

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#10845 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(5081) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2016-06-29 10:12:20" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2016-06-29 14:12:20" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(20) "Nouveaux Troglodytes" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(20) "nouveaux-troglodytes" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2016-09-20 14:10:47" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2016-09-20 18:10:47" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(43) "http://gn-o.org/?post_type=expo&p=5081" ["menu_order"]=> int(12) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
object(WP_Post)#10846 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(5101) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2016-07-26 09:34:45" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2016-07-26 13:34:45" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(17) "Le Nouveau Louvre" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(19) "nouveau-louvre-2016" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2016-11-16 11:54:17" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2016-11-16 16:54:17" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(43) "http://gn-o.org/?post_type=expo&p=5101" ["menu_order"]=> int(8) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" }