P0P F0LK: T3XT1L3S


Danielle Gignac, Greta Grip, Mariana Lafrance, Judith Martin


March 13 to April 18, 2015


in collaboration with Le Labo
exhibition from March 13 to April 18
opening Friday March 13 at 5pm

invited curator : Sophie LeBlanc
curator mentor : Thom Sokoloski



Exhibition Partner


Exhibition Sponsor


P0P F0LK T3XT1L3S

From March 13th to April 18th 2015, la Galerie du Nouvel-Ontario (GNO) presents P0P F0LK: T3XT1L3S, a group exhibition resulting from a consideration of those points that textile arts and popular culture have in common. The exhibition’s curator, Sophie LeBlanc, is interested in how textiles are omnipresent in our daily lives. In fact, she points out that textiles are so integrated in our day-to-day existence that they end up becoming nearly invisible. Still, the ubiquity of textiles does not bring about the disappearance of all their characteristics: we recognize the particularities of a certain pair of socks even though we might only rarely consider the conceptual or basic form that unites all the possible socks across the world.

It’s in this spirit that artist Danielle Gignac subverts the sock by fashioning a tent from tree branches and old orphan socks. In a way, it’s an amplification of the sock’s habitual role: instead of enveloping and protecting the foot, the socks become the basic materials of a primordial shelter that protects us from nature. The socks used by the artist have been gathered from Sudburians by the GNO.

Artist Greta Grip offers a re-contextualization of textiles by documenting the first step in all works of art made from wool: the shearing of sheep. After documenting the she shearing of four sheep, the artist knit individual QR codes with the wool from each sheep. The crossing of traditional knitting techniques with the contemporary form of the QR code is playful while also evoking the deepness of time.

Interdisciplinary artist Mariana Lafrance brings a temporal dimension to the exhibition by offering a performance at the opening reception. Working in nature and having recourse to natural dyes she herself gathers, Lafrance also contributes a quilt handmade by herself that evokes the three dimensional forms of a beehive or even the pyramid-like structures from the classic video game Q*bert.

With a wealth of experience working with textiles, artist Judy Martin has made a series of 74 bundles each containing four hemlock twigs. By wrapping the little branches in wool, Martin makes peace with the passage of time and grieves her late mother. As time goes by, she wraps the bundles in second and third layers of material.

P0P F0LK T3XT1L3S is presented in collaboration with Le Labo, Toronto’s Francophone Media Arts Center. The exhibition is the final stage of Le Labo’s mentorship program. This year, the emerging artist and curator Sophie LeBlanc benefited from established artist Thom Sokoloski’s insight as she developed the P0P F0LK T3XT1L3S project. After the GNO in Sudbury, Le Labo will show P0P F0LK T3XT1L3S in Toronto.

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#3123 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(781) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2015-08-19 13:13:36" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2015-08-19 17:13:36" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(12) "Phantom Limb" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(12) "phantom-limb" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 10:42:45" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 14:42:45" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(51) "http://gno.scottbuckingham.ca/en/expo/phantom-limb/" ["menu_order"]=> int(39) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
object(WP_Post)#3124 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(694) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2015-08-19 10:17:21" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2015-08-19 14:17:21" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(10) "Chromadose" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(10) "chromadose" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 10:42:44" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 14:42:44" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(49) "http://gno.scottbuckingham.ca/en/expo/chromadose/" ["menu_order"]=> int(35) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" }

P0P F0LK: T3XT1L3S


Danielle Gignac, Greta Grip, Mariana Lafrance, Judith Martin


13 mars au 18 avril 2015


en collaboration avec Le Labo
exposition du 13 mars au 18 avril 2015
vernissage le vendredi 13 mars à 17 h

commissaire invitée : Sophie LeBlanc
commissaire mentor : Thom Sokoloski



Partenaire de l'exposition


Commanditaire de l'exposition


P0P F0LK T3XT1L3S

La Galerie du Nouvel-Ontario (GNO) présente, du 13 mars au 18 avril 2015, l’exposition P0P F0LK : T3XT1L3S, une exposition de groupe qui montre les fruits d’une réflexion sur les particularités et les points en commun que partagent les arts textiles et la culture populaire. La commissaire de l’exposition, Sophie LeBlanc, s’intéresse d’abord aux textiles en raison de leur omniprésence dans nos vies quotidiennes. En fait, elle remarque que les textiles sont intégrés à la vie de tous les jours à un tel point qu’ils finissent par être presque invisibles. L’ubiquité des textiles n’entraîne tout de même pas la disparition de tous leurs caractéristiques : on reconnaît les particularités d’une paire de chaussettes même si on ne s’interroge que rarement sur la forme conceptuelle de base qui réunit toutes les chaussettes possibles au monde.

C’est ainsi que l’artiste Danielle Gignac subvertit la chaussette en fabriquant une tente à partir de branches et de vieilles chaussettes orphelines. C’est en quelque sorte une amplification du rôle habituel des chaussettes : au lieu de recouvrir et protéger le pied, elles deviennent la matière première d’un abri primordial qui nous protège contre la nature. Les chaussettes dont l’artiste se sert ont été recueillies auprès des Sudburois par la GNO.

L’artiste Greta Grip propose une remise en contexte des textiles en documentant la toute première étape d’œuvres de textile faites avec de la laine : la tonte des moutons. Suite à la documentation du rasage de quatre moutons, l’artiste a tricoté des codes QR à partir de la laine de chaque mouton. La rencontre des techniques traditionnelles de tricot et la forme contemporaine des codes QR témoigne d’un certain ludisme tout en évoquant la profondeur du temps.

L’artiste interdisciplinaire Mariana Lafrance apportera une dimension temporelle à l’exposition en offrant une performance au moment du vernissage. Œuvrant en nature et ayant recours à des teintures végétales qu’elle recueille elle-même, Lafrance apporte aussi une courtepointe qu’elle a fabriquée qui évoque les formes tridimensionnelles d’une ruche d’abeilles ou encore les structures pyramidales du jeu vidéo Q*bert.

Artiste œuvrant depuis longtemps avec les textiles, Judy Martin a fabriqué 74 sachets qui enveloppent chacun quatre brindilles de pruche. En recouvrant de laine les petites branches, Martin se console du passage du temps et du deuil qu’elle fait de sa mère. Au fur et à mesure que le temps avance, elle enveloppe les sachets de brindilles de secondes et troisièmes épaisseurs de matériel.

P0P F0LK T3XT1L3S est présenté en collaboration avec Le Labo, centre d’arts médiatiques francophone de Toronto. Cette exposition est l’étape finale du programme de mentorat du Labo. Pour cette année, l’artiste et commissaire émergente Sophie LeBlanc a développé son projet avec l’appui des conseils de l’artiste établi Thom Sokoloski. Suite à l’exposition sudburoise à la GNO, Le Labo présentera P0P F0LK T3XT1L3S à Toronto en été 2015.

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#11194 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(755) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2015-08-19 13:13:36" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2015-08-19 17:13:36" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(12) "Phantom Limb" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(12) "phantom-limb" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 10:42:45" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 14:42:45" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(56) "http://gno.scottbuckingham.ca/?post_type=expo&p=755" ["menu_order"]=> int(39) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
object(WP_Post)#11195 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(663) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2015-08-19 10:17:21" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2015-08-19 14:17:21" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(10) "Chromadose" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(10) "chromadose" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 10:42:44" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 14:42:44" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(56) "http://gno.scottbuckingham.ca/?post_type=expo&p=663" ["menu_order"]=> int(35) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" }