Nouveaux Troglodytes


Philippe Blanchard


August 11 to September 24, 2016


Exhibition August 11 to September 24, 2016
Opening Thursday August 11th at 5 pm


Nouveaux Troglodytes

The work of artist Philippe Blanchard seeks to restore animation’s fundamentally marvellous and magical nature. He experiments with screen printing and installation in order to impart a tactile, spatial, and event-driven dimension to animation, pushing it beyond the limits of the screen. Working with light, as opposed to video projection, opens the door to new thematic resonances such as the symbolic weight of fire, which can be perceived as an archetypal form of animation. With its stalagmites and stalactites lit with stroboscopes and projectors, Nouveaux Troglodytes will transform the gallery into an animated, psychedelic space bridging the distant past with the future’s possibilities.


Philippe Blanchard is a multidisciplinary artist in Toronto who works in animation, screen printing, and installation. He studied Fine Arts and Cinema at the Université Concordia (BFA, 1998) and OCAD University (MFA, 2010). His video and installation work has been shown in Canada, North America, and Europe. Philippe Blanchard teaches animation at OCAD University. The artist wishes to thank the Canada Council for the Arts and the Ontario Arts Council.



Exhibition Partner


Subterranean Paper and Light

An accompanying text by Maty Ralph

Stories of the secret underground have always intrigued us. From Indiana Jones to BBC’s Planet Earth, our hunger for sub-surface mystery is constantly being reflected in art and entertainment. In Nouveaux Troglodytes, Philippe Blanchard manages to take us a step further by providing us with a narrative-free setting in which we are encouraged to play out our own fantasies of darkness and depth.

It starts with the shapes. Stalactites and stalagmites are commonplace for any spelunker, but for your average urbanites these forms are a gateway into a world that beckons forth our primal urge to explore. Blanchard knows how to play with this urge; he gives us form, light and sound in just the right dose. If he were to offer too much detail, the world he created might have become too vivid and, by consequence, too small. Instead, he uses the principles of minimalism to gift his audience with the tools they need to create their own story.

Mysteries in the modern world are getting harder and harder to find. With satellites, we discovered a way to map out the topography of Jupiter’s third moon and suddenly the surface of our own world seemed rather bush-league in comparison. And so we find ourselves venturing beneath the surface where the ancient unknown can still hide, unthreatened, for now, by the prying eyes of the digital age.

And it is in the relationship between the arcane and digital where Blanchard uses contrast most brilliantly. He has built a world of stone and moss and darkness out of pixels and paper and light. As the animated conical forms blink and buzz and the electronic soundscapes resonate and reverberate, the space becomes shrouded in the delightful haze of contradiction. A future-history hybrid is formed where nothing is what it seems and the only certainty is that this place is definitely far beneath the surface.

And that’s where we secretly want to be: where mysteries still have power because they remain unsolved.

The cave, after all, is where we think art was born. In subterranean earth lay the first ever galleries, where the images on the walls strove to understand the world above, a world where the mechanics of virtually every phenomenon were still awesomely enigmatic.

Now, in the age of information, the gallery must play host to the cave. Nouveaux Troglodytes is an enthusiastic return to a space where we may once again explore the last great, untold secrets of the modern world.

____________________________________________

Maty Ralph loves talking to you about art and is always on the lookout for new adventures that challenge the heights of imagination.

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#2892 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(506) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2015-08-11 13:49:10" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2015-08-11 17:49:10" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(41) "From the Ground to the Sky and Back Again" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(40) "from-the-sky-to-the-earth-and-back-again" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2017-01-23 10:40:02" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2017-01-23 15:40:02" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(79) "http://gno.scottbuckingham.ca/en/expo/from-the-sky-to-the-earth-and-back-again/" ["menu_order"]=> int(14) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
object(WP_Post)#2893 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(5092) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2016-07-26 09:35:23" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2016-07-26 13:35:23" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(21) "Hook, Line and Sinker" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(13) "se-faire-bleu" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2017-01-20 13:55:56" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2017-01-20 18:55:56" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(46) "http://gn-o.org/en/?post_type=expo&p=5092" ["menu_order"]=> int(9) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" }

Nouveaux Troglodytes


Philippe Blanchard


11 août au 24 septembre 2016


Exposition du 11 août au 24 septembre 2016
Vernissage le jeudi 11 août à 17 h


Nouveaux Troglodytes

Le travail de l’artiste Philippe Blanchard cherche à réinvestir l’animation de son caractère fondamentalement merveilleux et magique. Il expérimente avec la sérigraphie et l’installation afin de doter l’animation d’une dimension tactile, spatiale et événementielle, au-delà des limites de l’écran. Le travail avec la lumière, à l’encontre de la projection vidéo, ouvre la porte à de nouvelles résonances thématiques comme, par exemple, la symbolique du feu qui peut être perçu comme une forme archétypale de l’animation. Avec ses stalagmites et stalactites éclairées par stroboscopes et projecteurs, Nouveaux Troglodytes transformera la galerie en un espace animé et psychédélique faisant un lien entre le passé lointain et les possibilités du futur.


Philippe Blanchard est un artiste multidisciplinaire torontois oeuvrant en animation, sérigraphie et installation. Il a étudié les beaux-arts et le cinéma à l’Université Concordia (BFA, 1998) et à l’Ontario College of Art & Design University (MFA, 2010). Ses vidéos et installations ont été diffusés au Canada, en Amérique du Nord et en Europe. Philippe Blanchard enseigne l’animation à l’OCAD University. L’artiste remercie le Conseil des arts du Canada et le Conseil des arts de l’Ontario.



Partenaire de l'exposition


Papier et lumières sous la surface

Un texte d’accompagnement par Maty Ralph

Les histoires d’un monde souterrain secret nous ont toujours intrigués. Que ça soit Indiana Jones ou l’émission Planet Earth de la BBC, notre appétit pour le mystère sous la surface est reflété sans cesse dans les mondes de l’art et du divertissement. Dans Nouveaux Troglodytes, Philippe Blanchard nous apporte un peu plus loin en nous accordant un contexte dépourvu de narration où nous sommes encouragés à explorer nos fantaisies d’obscurité et de profondeur.

Ça commence avec les formes. Si les stalactites et stalagmites sont des choses banales aux yeux des spéléologues, elles représentent pour le commun des citadins un portail vers un monde qui active l’appel primordial à l’exploration. Blanchard sait comment faire appel à ce désir; il dose parfaitement la forme, la lumière et le paysage sonore. S’il nous offrait un excès de détails, le monde qu’il a créé risquerait d’être trop éclatant, trop vif et par conséquent, trop petit. Ainsi, il utilise les principes du minimalisme afin d’accorder au public les outils nécessaires pour créer eux-mêmes leur propre histoire.

Les mystères à l’époque moderne sont de plus en plus difficiles à trouver. Par exemple, nous pouvons maintenant analyser la topographie d’une lune de Jupiter grâce aux satellites, et soudainement la surface de la planète Terre nous semble, en comparaison, bien moins intéressante. Alors on s’aventure sous la surface, où l’ancien inconnu évite encore, pour le moment, le regard perçant de l’ère numérique.

Blanchard fait son appel le plus astucieux au contraste en dressant un lien entre le numérique et l’ésotérique. Il a construit un monde de pierre, de mousse et de noirceur avec que du papier, des pixels et de la lumière. Alors que les cônes animés clignotent et bourdonnent, et que les paysages sonores électroniques résonnent et se répercutent, l’espace est enveloppé d’un joyeux brouillard de contradictions. Un hybride avenir/histoire est formé, où les apparences sont trompeuses et la seule certitude qui demeure est la conviction qu’on se retrouve loin de la surface.

Et c’est là que, secrètement, nous voulons être : où la puissance des mystères n’est pas diminuée puisqu’on n’arrive pas encore à les résoudre.

Après tout, nous croyons que la caverne fut le lieu de naissance de l’art. Les premières galeries se retrouvent dans le monde souterrain, où les images sur les murs cherchaient à comprendre le monde à l’extérieur, un monde où tous les phénomènes échappaient encore à l’explication et où tout était encore extraordinairement énigmatique.

Maintenant, à l’époque de l’information, la galerie se doit d’accueillir la caverne. Nouveaux Troglodytes est un retour passionné vers le genre d’espace où nous pouvons, une fois encore, explorer les incalculables derniers secrets du monde moderne.

____________________________________________

Maty Ralph aime vous parler de l’art. Il est toujours à la recherche de nouvelles aventures qui mettront à défi les hauteurs de l’imaginaire.

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#11588 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(501) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2015-08-11 13:49:10" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2015-08-11 17:49:10" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(41) "From the Ground to the Sky and Back Again" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(40) "from-the-sky-to-the-earth-and-back-again" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 10:42:44" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 14:42:44" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(56) "http://gno.scottbuckingham.ca/?post_type=expo&p=501" ["menu_order"]=> int(17) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
object(WP_Post)#11589 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(5089) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2016-07-26 09:34:45" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2016-07-26 13:34:45" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(28) "Se faire avoir comme un bleu" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(13) "se-faire-bleu" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 10:42:43" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 14:42:43" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(43) "http://gn-o.org/?post_type=expo&p=5089" ["menu_order"]=> int(14) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" }