nbiish—eau—water


Colette Laliberté


October 13 to November 15, 2017


Opening Friday October 13, at 5 PM
Exhibition October 13 to November 15, 2017


nbiish—eau—water

What does mapmaking reveal? And what can it conceal?

With Google Maps’ quasi-monopoly on digital maps, not to mention the ready availability of their satellite images covering the entire planet, questions around mapmaking are becoming more and more important. What can you really learn about a place by only studying the network of its roads, the borders between the communities that live there, and the static contours of its living waterways?

During her visits to the Greater Sudbury region, Toronto-based artist Colette Laliberté was struck by the abundance of lakes, rivers and other waterways in the area. After a closer study of the region’s topography, she noticed that most of these waterways still bore the names given to them by settler cultures.

We can’t help but question the decision-making process that precedes the graphical representation found on a map. Why do we call this lake Ramsey? Why not Lake Bimitimigamasing? Around the communities of Lively and the Atikameksheng Anishnawbek First Nation, locals don’t always use Makada Lake’s traditional name, preferring to use the English name “Black Lake,” even though newer maps (Google Maps included) clearly designate it as “Makada Lake.”

Thus, Colette Laliberté’s project questions and renders abstract the labels and other conventions associated with cartography. Over the course of a creative residency at the GNO, Laliberté will show us her interpretation of the region’s geographic maps by creating a large-scale site-specific wallwork.


Colette Laliberté

When working on site-specific projects, Colette Laliberté is as, if not more, interested in the community and the landscape surrounding the “site” in question than the specific location itself. Having an outsider’s perspective allows her to approach what might otherwise seem perfectly normal from a new, abstract point of view.

________________________________

The artist wishes to thank Deanna Nebenionquit and Rubina Nebenionquit for their help, support, and expertise in the development of this project. The artist also wishes to thank Nicole Poulin for her support during the residency.

This project was realized with funding from the Ontario Arts Council’s Exhibition Assistance program.

We acknowledge that Galerie du Nouvel-Ontario (GNO) sits on the traditional territory of the Atikameksheng Anishnawbek First Nation.




Exhibition Sponsor


Take Me to the Lake

an accompanying text by Chloé LaDuchesse

I didn’t want to raise a fuss, but I had reserved my favourite spot and I was really looking forward to it. “Excuse me, Sir, but I have the window seat.” Surprised look, polite excuse, shuffled retreat. And there I was, sitting pretty, like a happy child waiting for the curtain to rise. There’s something magical in the experience of flying high above the land. It’s the endless joy of discovering, in a new perspective mottled by the seasons and the weather, the familiar streets where we live, the expanses of unknown forests, the glistening, agitated or misty surfaces of lakes.

I have lived in Sudbury for two years now and I’m well aware of its many lakes, but my most fascinating encounter with them remains the first one ever, as I approached the city by plane. People from other regions who imagine everyday life in northern Ontario think of forests, of mines, but most don’t know that what truly defines us is water. We skate through the winter and we paddle canoes through the summer, our fishing rods (and bug spray) always close at hand.

Such is the twofold experience of lakes: on the shore, where bare feet meet cold water, and high in the sky, where bodies of water appear in their entirety, as if waiting to be scooped up by hand. I sense both of these impressions, overview and immersion, as I enter the GNO for the opening of Colette Laliberté’s exhibition NBIISH – EAU – WATER. The gallery walls are adorned with dozens of lakes of all colours, some connected by rivers, some floating alone on the white background. Here is Wanapitei, yellow and hefty; there is Ramsey, a shrimp-pink crescent. The eye lingers on a form, tries to identify it by name, then moves towards the tributary, traces the river’s course, flows downstream, follows the current, explores from top to bottom and port to starboard, recreating the flow of water, its rushes, its lulls.

Colette Laliberté discovered the City of Lakes flying over the area’s map. It made her curious to find out more about the relationship between Greater Sudbury’s human inhabitants and its network of waterways. She realized that just a few lakes are known by their indigenous names nowadays, thanks to colonization. Many are named after a historical figure or described by their appearance ― who knows how many lakes in Ontario are named Long Lake? As the indigenous names were forgotten, swaths of history were lost as well. These lakes had long been travel routes, meeting places, silent witnesses to events that influenced our occupation of the land, even though they have not found their rightful place in history books.

Google Maps displays lakes uniformly in blue, but Laliberté displays them in a myriad of colours. Inspired by the past and present names of these bodies of water, the artist strives to express something new about them. Through a sort of territorial synaesthesia, she subjectively associates the names and forms of lakes with a colour drawn from her memories or her imagination.

Is naming an act of love, a political statement? A name influences perception and a thing that acquires a name becomes part of a community of things. Therein lies the significance of naming: it imparts an identity, it affixes a label. Language serves both to distinguish and assemble. It establishes links between people, places and concepts.

By using colours instead of names, the artist establishes a new sort of relationship with space and distance. Laliberté’s multihued lakes retain their original contours, though there are some discrepancies in scale compared to formal topography. Roads and communities have vanished: NBIISH – EAU – WATER is a two-dimensional representation of a virginal Canadian Shield with no trace of human intervention.

Water calms me. Surrounded by Laliberté’s many lakes, as in the embrace of Nepahwin’s arms, I am drawn into the centre of my being, like a fish swimming in its liquid element. I belong to a whole, I master an environment, I am part of the artwork and I gleefully loll within it. The walls are flat surfaces, but the forms they carry evoke depth. Water is everywhere and within it I seek out my place, both physically, in the gallery, and notionally, in the white spaces that seem welcoming for two-legged castaways.

Colette Laliberté’s work NBIISH – EAU – WATER successfully captures the most vibrant aspect of Greater Sudbury: an intimate relationship between a land and its inhabitants, forged by history, family, identity and poetry.

____________________________________________

Chloé LaDuchesse is a poet and a short story writer. She’s the instigator of Expozine Sudbury, a yearly zine fair, and organizes various literary events.

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#3172 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(8181) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2017-08-08 10:29:19" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2017-08-08 14:29:19" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(24) "Evicted From the Anthill" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(24) "evicted-from-the-anthill" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 11:16:37" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 15:16:37" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(44) "http://gn-o.org/?post_type=expo&p=8181/" ["menu_order"]=> int(2) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
object(WP_Post)#3173 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(8293) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2017-10-24 14:21:04" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2017-10-24 18:21:04" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(19) "Nouveau Louvre 2017" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(19) "nouveau-louvre-2017" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-01-11 14:15:07" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-01-11 19:15:07" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(43) "http://gn-o.org/?post_type=expo&p=8293" ["menu_order"]=> int(0) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" }

nbiish—eau—water


Colette Laliberté


13 octobre au 15 novembre 2017


Vernissage le vendredi 13 octobre, à 17 h
Exposition du 13 octobre au 15 novembre 2017


nbiish—eau—water

Qu’est-ce que la cartographie révèle ? Et qu’est-ce qu’elle ne révèle pas ?

À l’époque de Google Maps, de leur quasi-monopole sur les cartes numériques et leurs images satellites de la planète qui sont disponibles sur demande, la question devient de plus en plus pertinente. Qu’est-ce qu’on peut vraiment apprendre sur un lieu en ne consultant que le schéma des routes qui le traversent, les frontières politiques des communautés qui l’habitent et le périmètre figé de ses cours d’eau toujours vivants ?

Au cours de visites dans la région du Grand Sudbury, l’artiste torontoise Colette Laliberté a été frappée par la présence abondante de lacs, de rivières et autres cours d’eau sur le territoire. En étudiant de plus près la topographie de la région, elle a remarqué que ces cours d’eau portent surtout les noms qui leur ont été attribués par les colonisateurs.

On ne peut que se questionner sur le processus de décisions qui précède la représentation graphique d’une carte. Pourquoi appelons-nous ce lac, le lac Ramsey ? Pourquoi ne l’appelons-nous pas le lac Bimitimigamasing ? Entre la communauté de Lively et la Première Nation Atikameksheng Anishnawbek, les gens de la place n’utilisent pas toujours le nom traditionnel du lac Makada. Certains préfèrent l’appeler par son nom anglais « Black Lake » et cela, en dépit du fait que les nouvelles cartes (y compris Google Maps) le désignent distinctement « Makada Lake ».

Ainsi, le projet de Colette Laliberté questionne et cherche à faire abstraction des étiquettes et autres conventions associées à la cartographie. Durant une résidence de création à la GNO, Laliberté nous donnera à voir son interprétation de la carte géographique de la région en réalisant à grande échelle une œuvre in-situ à même les murs de la galerie.


Colette Laliberté

Lorsqu’elle travaille un projet artistique in situ, Colette Laliberté s’intéresse autant sinon plus à la communauté et le paysage qui entourent le « site » en question que l’endroit de création lui-même. Un regard de l’extérieur lui permet ainsi de faire abstraction de ce qui semblerait autrement normal, et donc de proposer un nouveau point de vue.

__________________________

L’artiste souhaite remercier Deanna Nebenionquit et Rubina Nebenionquit pour leur appui et leur expertise au cours du développement de ce projet, ainsi que Nicole Poulin pour son appui lors de la résidence.

L’artiste souhaite aussi remercier le Conseil des arts de l’Ontario pour l’appui reçu du programme Aide à l’exposition.

La Galerie du Nouvel-Ontario (GNO) reconnait que nous nous retrouvons sur le territoire traditionnel de la nation Atikameksheng Anishnawbek.




Commanditaire de l'exposition


Amène-moi au lac

un texte d’accompagnement par Chloé LaDuchesse

Pas que je tenais à être désagréable, mais j’avais réservé le siège près de la fenêtre et je comptais bien m’y installer. « Excuse me, Sir, but I have the window seat ». Regard confus, excuses polies, retraite désordonnée. Et moi, gaie comme une enfant attendant le lever du rideau. C’est qu’il y a quelque chose de magique dans le fait de survoler le territoire, une joie sans cesse renouvelée de découvrir, sous une perspective nuancée par les saisons et les éléments, ces rues où l’on vit, ces forêts qui nous sont de parfaites inconnues, ces lacs scintillants, colériques ou embrumés.

J’habite à Sudbury depuis maintenant deux ans et, bien que j’aie remarqué les nombreux lacs de la région, jamais ils ne m’ont autant émerveillée que la première fois où j’ai survolé la ville en avion. De l’extérieur, les visiteurs imaginent le quotidien des habitants du Nouvel-Ontario rythmé par la forêt et les mines, mais peu savent que nous sommes réellement un peuple d’eau : patins aux pieds en hiver, en canot tout l’été, la canne à pêche (et le chasse-moustiques) jamais bien loin.

Double expérience du lac, donc : d’abord de la berge, les pieds dans l’eau froide; puis du haut des airs, où les plans d’eau apparaissent en entier, comme s’ils attendaient qu’on les cueille de la main. C’est cette même impression de survol et d’immersion que j’ai ressentie lorsque j’ai poussé la porte de la GNO à l’occasion du vernissage de l’exposition NBIISH – EAU – WATER de Colette Laliberté. Aux murs, des dizaines de lacs de toutes les couleurs, certains connectés par des rivières, d’autres flottant sur le canevas blanc. Ici c’est le Wanapitei, jaune et dodu; là se dessine le Ramsey, croissant couleur crevette. Le regard s’attarde sur une forme, tente d’y accoler un nom, puis les yeux s’élèvent, trouvent l’affluent, redescendent la rivière et suivent le courant. L’exploration se fait de haut en bas et de bâbord à tribord, recréant le mouvement de l’eau, sa fuite, ses accalmies.

Colette Laliberté a elle pour sa part découvert la ville aux multiples lacs penchée au-dessus d’une carte. Curieuse, elle a voulu s’informer sur l’évolution du rapport entre les humains et le réseau hydrographique du Grand Sudbury. Elle s’est aperçu que peu de lacs sont toujours désignés par leur nom premier en langue autochtone, gracieuseté de la colonisation. Bien des lacs portent maintenant le patronyme d’une figure historique ou sont qualifiés par leur apparence – combien de Long Lake en Ontario, déjà? Avec le nom autochtone est disparue une part importante de l’Histoire : ces lacs ont longtemps été des routes, des points de rencontres, des témoins silencieux d’événements qui, s’ils n’ont pas à ce jour la place qui leur est due dans les livres d’histoire, ont tout de même modifié notre façon d’occuper le territoire.

Sur Google Maps, les lacs sont bleus et lisses. Mais chez Laliberté, les couleurs sont légions. Inspirée par les noms – présents et passés – des cours d’eau, l’artiste a cherché à exprimer quelque chose à leur sujet qui soit inédit. Synesthésiste du territoire, elle a associé le nom et la forme des lacs à une couleur subjective, dénichée tant dans ses souvenir que de son imagination.

Nommer, un geste d’amour, une prise de position politique? Le nom affecte notre perception de l’entité qui est nommée et qui se met à appartenir à une communauté de choses une fois la désignation attribuée. Car c’est bien de cela qu’il est question : apposer une identité, comme on appose une étiquette. Le langage permet à la fois de distinguer et de regrouper, bref d’établir des liens entre des gens, des lieux, des concepts.

Utiliser les couleurs plutôt que le nom permet d’établir un nouveau rapport à l’espace et aux distances. Les lacs arc-en-ciel de Laliberté conservent leur forme originelle, bien que l’échelle puisse varier quelque peu de la stricte topographie. Exit les routes et les villes : NBIISH – EAU – WATER restitue un bouclier canadien en deux dimensions, vierge de toute intervention humaine.

L’eau m’apaise. Entourée des lacs de Laliberté comme entre les bras du Nepahwin, me voilà de retour au centre de moi-même, poisson nageant dans son élément. Partie d’un tout, maîtresse d’un univers, je fais partie de l’œuvre et m’y vautre allégrement. Les murs sont des surfaces planes mais ce qu’ils portent appelle à la profondeur : l’eau partout autour et moi cherchant ma place – physiquement, dans la galerie, et conceptuellement, dans l’espace blanc qui, selon toute vraisemblance, accueille les bipèdes naufragés.

L’exposition NBIISH – EAU – WATER de Colette Laliberté aura réussi à capter ce que le Grand Sudbury a de plus vibrant : l’intime relation que ses habitants entretiennent avec leur région, qu’elle soit d’ordre historique, familial, identitaire ou poétique.

____________________________________________

Chloé LaDuchesse est poète et nouvelliste. Elle est également l’instigatrice d’Expozine Sudbury, une foire de zines annuelle, ainsi que de soirées littéraires.

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#12713 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(8178) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2017-08-08 10:29:03" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2017-08-08 14:29:03" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(24) "Evicted From the Anthill" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(24) "evicted-from-the-anthill" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-07-10 14:30:23" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-07-10 18:30:23" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(44) "http://gn-o.org/?post_type=expo&p=8178/" ["menu_order"]=> int(11) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
object(WP_Post)#12729 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(8289) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2017-10-24 14:20:53" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2017-10-24 18:20:53" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(22) "Le Nouveau Louvre 2017" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(19) "nouveau-louvre-2017" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2018-07-10 14:13:02" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2018-07-10 18:13:02" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(43) "http://gn-o.org/?post_type=expo&p=8289" ["menu_order"]=> int(7) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" }