le homecoming


jenna dawn maclellan


March 17th to May 5th 2017


Opening Friday March 17th 2017
Exhibition March 17 to May 5, 2017


le homecoming

This series of textile works by jenna dawn maclellan is inspired by the artist’s return to Northern Ontario’s rural regions after having spent several years in Montreal. Confronted with the challenges posed by this vast expanse of boreal forest, she formulates a variety of playful strategies to defend herself against nature. With her snowmobile, bear skin rug, and anti-mosquito suit – all sewn – jenna dawn maclellan pays homage to the North of her childhood.

The objects sewn by maclellan are as familiar as they are fantastic. Being transposed into textile gives an air of storied marvelousness to their otherwise ordinary nature. This is how objects found in so many Northern Ontario sheds and garages are transformed into genuine icons of northernness.


jenna dawn maclellan grew up in the community of Sioux Lookout, in Ontario. Ideas of geography, identity, andaccessibility, as well as encounters, have greatly influenced her artistic practice and social engagement. Thanks to her many travels, she has become a narrator, a builder of social sculptures, a guardian of memory, a social activator and transmitter of domestic arts.

Her work has been shown at the Musée des Maîtres et Artisans du Québec, la Maison culture Côte-des-Neiges, le MAI, Diagonale, the Leonard and Bina Ellen Art Gallery, Toronto Free Gallery, the Thunder Bay Art Gallery, the Casa de la Cultura de Holguin in Cuba, the Museo Textil d’Oaxaca in Mexico, the Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum in Chicago, and La Centrale Galerie Powerhouse.




Exhibition Sponsor


Return to the Enchanted World

Reflections: “le homecoming” by jenna dawn maclellan
an accompanying text by Guylaine Tousignant

“[i]f the writer cuts himself off from his childhood, his roots, his oneiric ancestral memory, he deprives himself of all his artistic means.”

Jacques Derrida

“I really wanted to go back to being playful, just having fun with the materials and not worrying about perfection.”

jenna dawn maclellan

The enchanted world was not invented by Walt Disney. It is a world as old as the world, a place of magic, where reality is lost in dream, and dream in reality. It is the land of childhood. It is a land that always lies within us, whether we want it to or not.

When we leave it, it calls us back. When we try to forget it, it calls us out. It wields a force over us that can attract or repel us, like a black bear in a garbage dump.

There is magic in this place where we first played, where we threw our first stones, where we imagined what life might be, where we built it for ourselves with the tools and materials at hand: a chainsaw, some wood, a shovel, some snow, scissors, some fabric, pencils, and a little cardboard.

This place is the cabin and the bonfire.

To remember it is to travel freely in a world of the imagination. During winter, we remember ourselves picnicking in our favourite summer dress, gathering snowballs; during summer, we take snowmobiles through trails coloured with crushed berries.

In the image, the cord of wood is always perfectly there.

Shooting stars fall from the sky in all seasons. Wishes will come true.

Life, as seen through memory, whether it’s our own or someone else’s, is like a dream that’s real. We know that life is not like that, but we don’t know that we know it, and it’s good that way.

This enchanted world is where we must go when we forget how we ever came to grow up, when we forget how to be children.

In that moment, it’s always good to go back home.

____________________________________________

Guylaine Tousignant is a writer and freelancer. She lives in Windsor, Ontario.

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#3129 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(5112) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2016-07-26 09:35:23" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2016-07-26 13:35:23" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(35) "Out of This Light, Into This Shadow" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(34) "out-of-this-light-into-this-shadow" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 10:42:43" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 14:42:43" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(46) "http://gn-o.org/en/?post_type=expo&p=5112" ["menu_order"]=> int(9) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
object(WP_Post)#3130 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(5132) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2016-07-26 09:35:24" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2016-07-26 13:35:24" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(14) "Beshaabiiganan" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(14) "beshaabiiganan" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 10:42:43" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 14:42:43" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(46) "http://gn-o.org/en/?post_type=expo&p=5132" ["menu_order"]=> int(5) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" }

le homecoming


jenna dawn maclellan


17 mars au 5 mai 2017


Vernissage le vendredi 17 mars 2017
Exposition du 17 mars au 5 mai 2017


le homecoming

Cette série d’œuvres en textile de jenna dawn maclellan s’inspire de son retour aux régions rurales du nord de l’Ontario après un séjour de quelques années à Montréal. Confrontée aux défis posés par cette vaste étendue de forêt boréale, l’artiste conçoit une variété de stratégies ludiques pour se défendre contre la nature. Avec sa motoneige, sa peau d’ours et son costume antimoustique – tous cousus – jenna dawn maclellan rend hommage au Nord de son enfance.

Les objets cousus par maclellan sont à la fois familiers et fantastiques. Leur transposition en œuvres textiles donne à leur nature autrement quotidienne une allure fabuleuse et légendaire. Ainsi, les objets qui peuplent les remises et les garages du Nord ontarien sont transformés en véritables icônes de la nordicité.


jenna dawn maclellan a grandi dans la communauté de Sioux Lookout, en Ontario. La géographie, l’identité, l’accessibilité et les rencontres ont beaucoup influencé sa pratique artistique et son engagement social. À travers ses voyages, elle est devenue une narratrice, une constructrice de sculptures sociales, une gardienne de mémoires, une activatrice sociale et une transmetteuse de l’art domestique.

Son travail a été présenté au Musée des Maîtres et Artisans du Québec, la Maison de la culture Côte-des-Neiges, le MAI, Diagonale, la Leonard and Bina Ellen Art Gallery, Toronto Free Gallery, la Thunder Bay Art Gallery, la Casa de la Cultura de Holguín à Cuba, le Museo Textil d’Oaxaca au Mexique, au Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum de Chicago et à La Centrale Galerie Powerhouse.




Commanditaire de l'exposition


Retour au monde enchanté

Le homecoming de jenna dawn maclellan : réflexions
un texte d’accompagnement par Guylaine Tousignant

« [s]i l’écrivain se coupe de son enfance, de ses racines, de sa mémoire
onirique ancestrale, il se prive de tous ses moyens artistiques »

Jacques Derrida

« I really wanted to go back to being playful, just having fun with
the materials and not worrying about perfection. »

jenna dawn maclellan

Le monde enchanté n’est pas une invention de Walt Disney. C’est un monde vieux comme le monde, un lieu où la magie opère, où la réalité se perd dans le rêve et le rêve dans la réalité. C’est le territoire de l’enfance. Et ce territoire, qu’on le veuille ou non, nous habite à jamais.

Lorsqu’on le quitte, il nous rappelle. Lorsqu’on essaie de l’oublier, il nous interpelle. Il exerce une force sur nous qui nous repousse et nous attire, comme un ours noir dans un dépotoir.

C’est magique ce lieu où on a joué pour la première fois, où on a lancé sa première pierre, où on s’est imaginé la vie, où on se l’est construite avec les outils et les matériaux à notre disposition : une tronçonneuse, un peu de bois, une pelle, un peu de neige, des ciseaux, un peu de tissu, des crayons, un peu de carton.

Ce lieu, c’est la cabane et le feu de joie.

S’en souvenir, c’est voyager sans itinéraire dans un pays imaginaire. L’hiver, on se revoit en pique-nique dans notre robe d’été préférée, à cueillir des boules de neige, et l’été, on se promène en motoneige sur des sentiers colorés de baies écrasées.

La corde de bois, dans l’image, est toujours parfaitement là.

Les étoiles filantes tombent du ciel en toute saison. Les souhaits se réaliseront.

La vie, en mode souvenir, qu’il s’agisse de la nôtre ou celle des autres, c’est comme un rêve réel. On sait bien que la vie n’est pas comme ça, mais on ne sait pas qu’on le sait, et c’est bien comme ça.

Ce monde enchanté, c’est là où il faut aller lorsqu’on ne sait plus comment on a fait pour en arriver à être grand, comment faire pour retrouver l’enfant.

À ce moment-là, il est bon de retourner chez soi.

____________________________________________

Guylaine Tousignant est auteure et pigiste. Elle vit à Windsor, en Ontario.

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#10845 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(5109) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2016-07-26 09:34:45" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2016-07-26 13:34:45" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(35) "Out of This Light, Into This Shadow" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(34) "out-of-this-light-into-this-shadow" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2017-03-15 13:22:10" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2017-03-15 17:22:10" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(43) "http://gn-o.org/?post_type=expo&p=5109" ["menu_order"]=> int(5) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
object(WP_Post)#10846 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(5129) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2016-07-26 09:34:46" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2016-07-26 13:34:46" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(14) "Beshaabiiganan" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(14) "beshaabiiganan" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2017-06-08 12:54:34" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2017-06-08 16:54:34" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(43) "http://gn-o.org/?post_type=expo&p=5129" ["menu_order"]=> int(1) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" }