La fugue


Geneviève Thauvette


March 11 to April 16, 2016


residency from March 7th to March 11th
exhibition from March 11th to April 16th

opening Friday March 11th at 5pm


Entering the gallery, the viewer is invited to enter a mirrored tunnel where they are confronted with flashing lights and a plethora of special effects. As a comment on the dizzying self-voyeurism of our era, LA FUGUE amicably teases each of us for our narcissistic tendencies. In fact, Geneviève Thauvette’s interactive installation casts the viewer in a leading role, as their reaction to the work becomes an essential part of the project. As they approach the exit, the size of the tunnel shrinks and the viewer must get down on all fours to find the way out. As our culture becomes increasingly obsessed with the present moment, each of us has a turn, in spite of ourselves, at stardom.


Geneviève Thauvette is an emerging Franco-Ontarian artist currently residing in Toronto. Her photographs have shown internationally, notably at the 17th Japan Media Arts Festival, the Perth International Arts Festival (Australia), the 2010 Vancouver Winter Olympic Games, and the Vie Jeux de la Francophonie in Beirut were she won the gold medal for Canada. Her series Les quintuplées Dionne have been acquired by the Canadian Museum of Civilization and the City of Ottawa Fine Art Collection. She has also recently won the 2013 FlashForward emerging artists award and is the recipient of several grants, including the 2011 Emerging Artist Production Grant from the Ontario Arts Council. Thauvette presented Cake is Freedom, a performative installation at Ottawa’s inaugural Nuit Blanche, which was the subject of a Radio-Canada documentary (Rendez-vous Artv). Geneviève has presented many photo workshops and been a part of numerous juries. In 2012, she toured Canada, Haiti and St-Lucia to select the final participating artists during the VIIe Jeux de la Francophonie. She was further chosen by L’Organization internationale de la francophonie to judge the photography competition during the games in Nice. Thauvette is represented by Galerie BAC in Montreal and St-Laurent + Hill in Ottawa and Eye Buy Art.



Exhibition Sponsor


Church of the Selfie

Reflections on Geneviève Thauvette’s LA FUGUE
An accompanying text by Lara Bradley

A tomb. A tunnel. A womb.

A blond-haired boy running hard slides through it on his socked feet. Squealing. Giggling. Whipping past the grown-ups, past the memorabilia outside the white oblong structure –framed school photo, fake flowers, crutch, cross, candle, bear mask, disco ball, stuffed animal, and trophy—back into its shimmery walls, lit by strands of lights traveling in one direction and then the other. He is fast and unafraid of this art.

Grown-ups, we hesitate at the opening of the installation. Fixated on that feeling of being a kid late for church (but, oh, what a church!), not wanting to leave the darkness of the vestibule before going in. We’re unsure about walking on its mirrored surface –being at the centre of all that light and attention.

For a split second, I’m back in high school chemistry class, playing with toxic beads of mercury on the black wooden desk, pushing them together into bigger blobs, then poking it and watching it skitter apart. Wondering about the ones that slide into the cracks. Could this be a pool of all that escaped mercury? No, it’s the mylar walls of a grow operation visited in my 20s. Feeling the heat from the lights reflected back on its silvery walls, inhaling the skunk of the pot plants, and listening to my friend’s grandiose plans before it all ends badly.

There is a smell to this installation – not of pot but the similar musky dankness of tomato leaves, mixed in with beetroot, pollen, honeysuckle, mushroom, incense, and that churchy wood smell. It’s a scent that the artist, Geneviève Thauvette, sprays into the air throughout the night. It’s her own Tom Robbins inspired Jitterbug Perfume — one trying to pin down that feeling of decay and decadence, mortality and transcendence.

The blond-haired boy makes another pass.

Adults, we go slower. First ducking our heads through the entrance (if we are tall) –below the skull affixed amid the flowers—and then reluctantly dropping to our knees, crawling forward. Awkward in our adult skin.

At the opening, it’s too loud to hear the recorded laughter and applause tinkling through the tunnel. But a low thrum can be felt in our bones and Mozart’s “Amen Fugue” is rising and falling, playing forwards and backwards. Some of us lie back and look-up at our fragmented image, lost among the flashes of coloured light. Leaving the tunnel, we catch a glimpse of ourselves –just barely a piece of you, yourself in motion– a delayed projection on the wall framed by a game show worthy curtain of tinsel.

Hey, you. You are the centre of it all in Thauvette’s Church of the Self; a joyous takedown of our selfie-absorbed modern souls. (There are Greek myths in the mix too, which I’ll get into later, like Narcissus and Echo.) It’s a “pop-rocks for the pineal gland” kind of experience– electrifying, sugary, and fleeting. The same secret thrill that comes from Googling your own name, catching sight of yourself in the grocery store TV, or getting all the “likes” after posting a new profile pic.

Me. Here I am having fun. (Even though we fought on the way here and didn’t say anything to each other at dinner, so busy on our phones.) But look at us eating our Instagram meal. See. Me. You. Happy! Not only happy, happy-face happy!

At the opening, Thauvette flits from person to person, camera around her neck. She is striking and beautiful, an embodiment of her creation.

Her legs look like those on a Rococo chair – slender and shapely in white stockings that end in the same coloured shoes –hooves, really– elegant and ornate. (I later learn that she’s all about the Rococo.)

I don’t notice the blue tips of her hair until the next day when we are outside in the sun looking for coffee. She orders three shots of espresso with steamed chocolate milk. Three shots. This scares me, as already she appears to be vibrating on a higher plane of energy, words and ideas circling her head like bees, her hands snatching them fearlessly from the air.

Although young, teetering on 30, she is not new to art or its worlds. Creating installations is part of her art but photography came first. Her photographs have been shown around the world including at Japan’s Media Arts Festival, the Perth International Arts Festival in Australia, and the Vie Jeux de la Francophonie in Beirut where she won the gold medal for Canada. You can also find Thauvette’s series, Les quintuplées Dionne, at the Canadian Museum of Civilization.

Past installations by Thauvette have been featured at Ottawa’s Nuit Blanche. Similar to La Fugue, they have also played with ideas of death, pop-culture, celebrity, and self.

There was the white blimp anchored to a building with billowing smoke below it and the words “The World is Yours” which was inspired by the movie Scarface. In it, there’s a scene where Al Pacino watches a black zeppelin with those words float by and then everything goes to shit.

Technical Difficulties: On Air and Other Disasters was an installation set up to look like the inside of an airplane. With that one, you had the dichotomy of movie plane crashes being screened silently, while real black box recordings of the last minutes of pilots played out loud.

Then there was the time in Cake is Freedom when Thauvette dressed-up as a blindfolded Marie Antoinette in full Rococo splendour and stood in a birthday cake while singing the French National Anthem. That one played with a bunch of themes, including conquering a fear of public singing. The performance piece also became the subject of a Radio-Canada documentary.

“My friend laughs at me and says I’m Rococo. … It’s my favourite period of time. The painting of the girl on a swing and someone looking up her skirt. I like detail and I like symbolic meaning.”

The idea for La Fugue began with Thauvette’s love of churches and memorial sites – those found on roadsides after accidents and outside famous people’s mansions after overdoses.

“I like that spontaneous expression of sympathy and empathy that is displayed in public so openly. That is something very deep and primal and subconscious,” she explained. “Sometimes it’s for a person that they do not know, like a celebrity … They are saying to the world that they hurt. That they feel something. It’s not about the person dying.”

Right now we are living in a time that is all about the self and “the cult of self,” she said. The oxygen fanning these flames of self-promotion has come from social media. At the same time, for many, religion has become obsolete. With God declared “dead,” we are rushing to fill this emptiness with … ourselves?

“The self and the cult of the self that we are currently experiencing, is a very interesting time in society. How do we relate and what is community? Man cannot exist without religion but with the state of religion we are currently experiencing, where is our outlet? We have turned inwards to, I guess, find meaning,” she said.

We as a society are both channelling our vanity and mixing it with our need for something greater. So a new religion is being born and we are at the centre of it, she said.

“All that deep energy to the divine to the unknown is being poured into selfies and hashtags,” Thauvette said. “I see the importance of it but there is no depth to it.”

La Fugue is a tunnel yes, but it can also be a pathway to an altar. The entrance is shaped kind of like a gothic knave, she said. But there also is a tomb like quality to it, as well. The tunnel “shrinks,” bigger at one end and gradually becoming smaller at the other, forcing people to get down on their knees to leave.

“There is that forced piousness. They are looking at themselves like Narcissus — falling in love with himself,” she said.

Echo also comes into play through Mozart’s “Amen Fugue.” While there are many variations of the myth, in one, the nymph Echo falls for a young man named Narcissus, who loves no one but himself (he eventually ends up pining away, staring at his own reflection in a pool). Besides loving Narcissus, her other fatal flaw was her love of hearing her own voice and talking. So after crossing the God Juno, Echo is cursed, only able to repeat what others say.

“A fugue is musical composition where voices are repeated, which relates to the myth of Echo. She’s punished to never have a voice, just to repeat. So it’s vacuous and empty. It’s essentially the retweet of mythology,” Thauvette added.

Mozart considered the Fugue to be his funeral song and had a feeling that it would be the last thing he would create, she said. In the installation, it plays to the end and then plays backwards. So that the audio is mirrored to reflect the visual aspects of the piece as well.

Besides the fugue, there is the sound of laughter and applause heard in the tunnel, which speaks to our craving for praise and being liked, and a heavy bass reverb, “an audio presence” weighing down the entire room. Thauvette wanted people to feel the vibrations at a “deeper level,” in their knees and hands, as they crawl to the exit.

The final element is her perfume, fashioned to evoke feelings of decay and decadence, as well as memories of church.

“We’ve replaced God with this foolish self-obsession. I see the irony in talking to you about it right now. It’s all about myself and this piece. Just being an artist alone … it’s a very self-involved thing to do,” Thauvette said. “My mom has given her professional life to children who can’t thank her. I’m here making fanciful tunnels that speak to this nebulous idea … She’s trying to make society better in a tangible way.”

For her, the sense of the tangible comes from seeing people interact with her art and take something away. The little blond haired boy’s reaction made all the difference.

“I blew his little mind. That’s why you make art. You can make art to be serious and sober but that is not where my heart is. I want something that is a bit of a feast,” Thauvette said.

I come back later without the crowds. People have left more memorabilia and written on the tomb with markers. It now looks a little like a giant arm cast.

Rémi has been here. So has Kanye West. Cool.

Lying down inside the light show, I think about finding the cross from my stepfather’s funeral in a box at my mother’s house. How we wondered what to do with it. Where should such crosses go, other than in boxes that must-be-kept-forever, when you no longer feel right about hanging them on walls? Should it be tucked alongside this tomb with all the other pieces of memory and belongings?

As I hear the sound of recorded applause, I also think about how easy it is to force people to clap. Most of the time we clap out of a combination of peer pressure and politeness.

I feel a pressure weighing down my chest. It started this morning and hasn’t eased up; imagining the worst, I think of having a heart attack right here, right now. How wonderfully poetic would that be. And how narcissistic of me to imagine dying in this mini-pop cathedral, this disco-decked-out church of the self.

___________________________

This accompanying text is sponsored by Laurentian University.

universite laurentienne

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#3161 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(482) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2015-08-10 14:59:34" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2015-08-10 19:59:34" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(34) "Mines de rien pas pour cinq cennes" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(34) "mines-de-rien-pas-pour-cinq-cennes" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 10:42:44" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 14:42:44" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(73) "http://gno.scottbuckingham.ca/en/expo/mines-de-rien-pas-pour-cinq-cennes/" ["menu_order"]=> int(23) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
object(WP_Post)#3164 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(400) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "5" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2015-07-13 11:09:20" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2015-07-13 16:09:20" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(19) "FAAS 5: Abricadabri" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(5) "faas5" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 10:42:44" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2017-09-19 14:42:44" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(57) "http://gno.scottbuckingham.ca/en/expo/faas-5-abricadabri/" ["menu_order"]=> int(19) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" }

La fugue


Geneviève Thauvette


11 mars au 16 avril 2016


résidence du 7 au 11 mars
exposition du 11 mars au 16 avril

vernissage le vendredi 11 mars, à 17 h


En entrant dans la galerie, le spectateur est convié à traverser un tunnel miroité où se déploient multiples flashs et une panoplie d’effets spéciaux. Un commentaire sur l’auto-voyeurisme étourdissant de notre époque, LA FUGUE nous taquine amicalement en ciblant les tendances narcissiques de chacun. En effet, l’installation interactive de Geneviève Thauvette confie un rôle de premier plan au spectateur dont la réaction en devient un élément essentiel. En s’approchant de la sortie, le tunnel se rétrécit et le spectateur doit se mettre à genou avant de trouver le débouché. À l’image de la culture instantanée d’aujourd’hui, chacun devient, malgré lui, une vedette à son tour.


Geneviève Thauvette est une jeune artiste professionnelle de la relève basée à Toronto. Elle a exposé ses oeuvres lors de plusieurs événements internationaux, notamment aux 17th Japan Media Arts Festival, Perth International Arts Festival (Australie), les Jeux olympiques d’hivers (Vancouver) et les VIe Jeux de la Francophonie (Beyrouth) où elle a gagné la médaille d’or pour le Canada. Les oeuvres de sa série populaire intitulée Les quintuplées Dionne ont étés acquises par le Musée canadien des civilizations et la Ville d’Ottawa. Elle a récemment gagné le prix Flash Forward de la fondation Magenta. Sa performance, Le gâteau ou la mort, a fait fureur lors de la première Nuit Blanche à Ottawa et est sujet d’un documentaire produit par Radio-Canada (Artv). Thauvette a conçu et animé plusieurs ateliers de photographie et fut membre de jury à plusieurs reprises. En 2012, elle a participé à une tournée des délégations nord-américaines et des caraïbes pour établir la sélection finale des artistes participants aux VIIe Jeux de la francophonie. Elle était ainsi membre de jury en photographie lors des derniers Jeux à Nice. Thauvette est représentée par la galerie St-Laurent+Hill (Ottawa) et Eye Buy Art.




Commanditaire de l'exposition


L'Église du Moi

Réflexions sur « La Fugue » de Geneviève Thauvette
Un texte d’accompagnement par Lara Bradley

Une tombe. Un tunnel. Un utérus.

Un garçon blond court, s’élance et y glisse à pieds de bas en criant, en riant. Il se précipite devant les adultes, devant l’assortiment d’objets souvenirs qui longent l’extérieur de la structure blanche oblongue ― photo d’écolier encadrée, fleurs artificielles, béquille, crucifix, masque d’ours, boule de disco, animal en peluche, trophée ― pour s’engouffrer de nouveau entre ses parois étincelantes, illuminées par des guirlandes de lumières qui s’allument en rapide succession d’un bout à l’autre, puis dans le sens inverse. Il se dépêche, il n’est aucunement effarouché par cet art.

Nous, les adultes, nous hésitons devant le portail de l’installation. Nous sommes tracassés par l’impression d’être un enfant arrivé en retard à l’église (ah, mais quelle église!) qui ne veut pas sortir de la pénombre du vestibule. Nous n’osons pas marcher sur le plancher miroitant, avancer au milieu de toute cette lumière, devenir le centre de l’attention.

Pour une fraction de seconde, je me retrouve dans ma classe de chimie à l’école secondaire où je jouais avec des perles de mercure toxique sur la surface noire de mon pupitre. Je les tassais ensemble pour former une grosse goutte que je piquais ensuite pour la voir éclater en gouttelettes. Que devenaient les gouttelettes perdues qui fuyaient par les fentes? Serait-ce ici la mare formée par tous ces éclats de mercure perdus? Non, ce sont plutôt les parois en Mylar d’une installation de culture que j’ai visitée dans ma vingtaine. Je sens la chaleur des lumières reflétée par ses parois argentées et je respire les relents des plants de pot en écoutant mon copain m’expliquer ses plans grandioses, avant leur dénouement malheureux.

Cette installation a une odeur. Ce n’est pas celle des plants de pot, mais elle lui ressemble : le musc humide de la feuille de plant de tomate mélangée à la betterave, au pollen, au chèvrefeuille, au champignon, à l’encens et au bois d’église. C’est un parfum que l’artiste, Geneviève Thauvette, vaporise dans l’air pendant la nuit. À la manière de Tom Robbins et de son Jitterbug Perfume, elle l’a conçu en tentant de capter une impression de décomposition et de décadence, de mortalité et de transcendance.

Le garçon blond s’élance de nouveau.

Nous les adultes, nous y allons plus lentement. D’abord, en nous penchant pour franchir l’entrée (si nous sommes grands) sous le crâne fixé parmi les fleurs. Puis, avec réticence, nous tombons à genoux pour y avancer en rampant, gênés dans notre peau d’adulte.

Lors du vernissage, il y a trop de bruit pour qu’on puisse entendre les rires et les applaudissements enregistrés qui tintent dans le tunnel. Mais on sent dans nos os un bourdonnement grave tandis que le son de la fugue de l’Amen de Mozart s’élève et s’affaiblit, la lecture de l’enregistrement se faisant d’abord normalement, ensuite en marche arrière. Certains d’entre nous sont couchés sur le dos et voient leur reflet fragmenté, perdu parmi les éclats de lumière colorée. En quittant le tunnel, nous nous apercevons brièvement ― à peine une bribe d’image de soi-même en mouvement ― dans une vidéo projetée au mur avec un léger décalage temporel, encadrée par un rideau de filaments argentés digne d’une émission de jeux télévisés.

Hé, toi. C’est toi, le centre de tout ça, dans cette église du Moi érigée par Thauvette en joyeuse dérision de nos âmes modernes égocentriques repliées sur nos autoportraits photographiques. (Il y a aussi dans le mélange des mythes grecs, comme Narcisse et Écho, que je commenterai ci-après.) L’expérience qu’on y fait est comme un « bonbon pétillant pour l’épiphyse » : elle est électrisante, édulcorée et éphémère. C’est la même excitation intime que l’on éprouve lorsqu’on fait sur Google la recherche de son propre nom, qu’on s’aperçoit au téléviseur à l’épicerie, ou qu’on accumule des « j’aime » après avoir affiché en ligne une nouvelle photo de profil.

Moi. Me voici qui m’amuse. (Même si nous nous sommes disputés en nous rendant à la galerie et que nous n’avions rien à nous dire en dînant ensemble, tant nous étions absorbés par nos téléphones.) Mais vois comment nous dévorons goulûment notre repas d’Instagram. Vois. Moi. Toi. Heureux! Pas juste heureux, mais émoticônement heureux!

Lors du vernissage, Thauvette papillonne d’une personne à l’autre, un appareil photo pendu à son cou. Sa beauté est frappante, comme si elle incarnait son œuvre.

Ses jambes sont comme celles d’un fauteuil rococo, minces et galbées dans des collants blancs qui aboutissent à de mignons souliers blancs agencés, élégants et ornementés. (Plus tard, j’apprendrai qu’elle est accro du rococo.)

Je ne remarque pas les pointes bleutées de ses cheveux avant le lendemain, quand nous marchons au soleil à la recherche d’un café. Elle commande un triple espresso avec du lait chaud au chocolat. Un triple. Son choix m’inquiète, car déjà elle semble vibrer dans une sphère transcendante d’énergie, de mots et d’idées qui lui tournent autour de la tête comme des abeilles et que ses mains saisissent hardiment en plein vol.

Bien qu’elle soit jeune, au seuil de la trentaine, elle n’est pas novice en matière d’art et de milieux artistiques. La création d’installations est un aspect de son art, mais elle s’est d’abord adonnée à la photographie. Ses photos ont été exposées partout au monde, notamment au festival Media Arts au Japon, au International Arts Festival de Perth en Australie, et aux 6e Jeux de la Francophonie à Beirut, où elle a remporté la médaille d’or pour le Canada. Vous pouvez aussi trouver sa série « Les quintuplées Dionne » au Musée canadien de l’histoire.

Des installations de Thauvette ont aussi été présentées dans le cadre de l’événement Nuit blanche à Ottawa. Semblables à « La Fugue », elles jouaient aussi sur les idées de la mort, de la culture populaire, de la célébrité et du moi.

Il y a eu l’aérostat blanc attaché à un édifice sous lequel des nuages de fumée s’élevaient et où on lisait les mots « The World is Yours ». C’était inspiré du film Scarface. Dans une scène de ce film, Al Pacino voit passer un dirigeable noir où ces mots sont inscrits, puis tout vire au vinaigre.

« Technical Difficulties: On Air and Other Disasters » était une installation qui ressemblait à une cabine d’avion. Dans celle-ci, il y avait la dichotomie entre des scènes d’écrasement d’avion projetées en silence et une bande audio composée de vrais enregistrements des dernières minutes de communication de pilotes.

Il y a eu aussi « Cake is Freedom », la fois où Thauvette s’est costumée en Marie-Antoinette aux yeux bandés en pleine splendeur rococo, dressée dans un gâteau de fête tout en chantant la Marseillaise. Celle-là jouait sur plusieurs thèmes, dont la peur de chanter en public. Cette performance a fait l’objet d’un documentaire tourné par Radio-Canada.

« Mon ami rit de moi et dit que je suis rococo. C’est ma période préférée de l’histoire. Comme ce tableau où l’on voit une fille sur une balançoire et quelqu’un qui regarde sous sa jupe. J’aime le détail et j’aime le sens symbolique. »

« La Fugue » puise son origine dans l’appréciation qu’a Thauvette pour les églises et les sites commémoratifs, comme ceux qu’on voit au bord de la route après un accident, ou à l’extérieur de la maison luxueuse d’une vedette après une overdose.

« J’aime cette expression spontanée de sympathie et d’empathie qui s’affiche si ouvertement en public. C’est quelque chose de très profond et primal et inconscient, explique-t-elle. Parfois, les gens le font pour quelqu’un qu’ils ne connaissent pas personnellement, comme une vedette. Ils le font pour dire au monde qu’ils ont mal, qu’ils ressentent quelque chose. Ça ne parle pas de la personne qui est morte. »

L’époque dans laquelle nous vivons est dominée par le moi et le « culte du moi », dit-elle. L’oxygène qui nourrit les flammes de l’autopromotion a été fourni par les médias sociaux. Parallèlement, pour plusieurs, la religion est devenue désuète. Puisqu’on a déclaré que « Dieu est mort », est-ce que nous nous empressons de combler le vide avec… nous-mêmes?

« Le moi et le culte du moi que nous vivons actuellement, c’est une période très intéressante de notre société. À quoi nous rattachons-nous? Qu’est-ce que la communauté? L’homme ne peut pas exister sans religion, mais vu l’état de la religion de nos jours, où est notre exutoire? Dans notre quête de sens, nous nous sommes tournés vers nous-mêmes, je suppose », dit-elle.

En tant que société, nous canalisons notre vanité tout en la mélangeant avec notre besoin de quelque chose de plus élevé. Donc, une nouvelle religion est en gestation et nous sommes au cœur de ça, dit-elle.

« Toute cette énergie profonde qui est liée au divin et à l’inconnu se déverse dans les selfies et les hashtags, dit Thauvette. Je vois l’importance de ça, mais c’est sans profondeur. »

« La Fugue » est un tunnel, oui, mais c’est peut-être aussi un corridor menant à un autel. Son entrée a vaguement la forme d’une nef gothique, dit-elle. Mais la structure ressemble aussi un peu à un tombeau. Le tunnel « rétrécit » : plus large à un bout, il devient graduellement plus étroit à l’autre bout, ce qui oblige les gens à se mettre à genoux pour en sortir.

« Il y a cette piété forcée. Les gens se regardent eux-mêmes, comme Narcisse qui tombe en amour avec soi-même », dit-elle.

Écho entre aussi en jeu, grâce à la fugue de l’Amen de Mozart. Bien qu’il y ait plusieurs variations de ce mythe, dans une version, la nymphe Écho s’éprend d’un jeune homme nommé Narcisse qui n’aime que lui-même (et qui finit par s’étioler en fixant du regard son propre reflet dans une mare). En plus de son amour pour Narcisse, l’autre erreur fatale d’Écho est le plaisir qu’elle prend à entendre sa propre voix et à parler. Donc, ayant suscité la colère du dieu Juno, Écho est condamnée et ne peut que répéter ce que disent les autres.

« Une fugue est une composition musicale où les voix sont répétées, ce qui se rapporte au mythe d’Écho. Condamnée à ne jamais avoir de voix; elle ne peut que répéter. Donc, ce qu’elle dit est futile et vide de sens. C’est essentiellement le retweet en mythologie », ajoute Thauvette.

Mozart considérait cette fugue comme son chant funèbre. Il avait l’impression que ce serait sa dernière création, dit-elle. Dans cette installation, on l’entend jusqu’à la fin, puis on l’entend à reculons. Donc, la trame audio a son propre miroir, tout comme d’autres éléments de l’installation.

En plus de la fugue, on entend dans le tunnel le son de rires et d’applaudissements, ce qui a rapport avec notre désir d’être appréciés et aimés, ainsi qu’un lourd son grave, une « présence audible » qui pèse sur toute la salle. Thauvette voulait que les spectateurs ressentent les vibrations « à un niveau plus profond », tout en rampant à quatre pattes vers la sortie.

Le dernier élément de l’installation est son parfum, conçu pour suggérer la décomposition et la décadence, ainsi que les souvenirs d’église.

« Nous avons remplacé Dieu par cette ridicule obsession du moi. Je vois l’ironie dans le fait que j’en parle avec toi maintenant. Nous parlons juste de moi et de cette pièce d’art. Être simplement une artiste solitaire, c’est une occupation très nombriliste, dit Thauvette. Ma mère a dévoué sa vie professionnelle à des enfants qui sont incapables de la remercier. Moi, je suis là à fabriquer des tunnels fantaisistes qui essaient d’exprimer une idée nébuleuse, alors qu’elle essaie d’améliorer la société de façon tangible. »

Pour Thauvette, l’impression de produire du tangible lui vient des personnes qu’elle voit en interaction avec son art et qui en retirent quelque chose. La réaction du petit garçon blond a fait toute la différence.

« J’ai vraiment épaté ce petit garçon. C’est pour ça qu’on fait de l’art. L’art peut être sérieux et sobre, mais mon cœur est ailleurs. Je veux que ce soit un peu festif », dit Thauvette.

Je reviens plus tard alors qu’il n’y a plus foule. Des gens ont laissé d’autres objets souvenirs et ont écrit sur la tombe au crayon-feutre. Maintenant, il ressemble un peu à un immense plâtre pour un bras cassé.

Rémi était ici. Kanye West aussi. Cool.

Couchée sous le spectacle des lumières, je me souviens de la croix rapportée des funérailles de mon beau-père que j’ai trouvée dans une boîte chez ma mère. Nous nous demandions quoi en faire. Où peut-on mettre une telle croix, ailleurs que dans une boîte-à-conserver-à-jamais, lorsqu’on ne sent plus que c’est approprié de l’accrocher à un mur? Faudrait-il la ranger près de cette tombe avec toutes les autres parcelles de souvenirs et de possessions?

J’entends le bruit des applaudissements enregistrés et je pense qu’il est si facile d’obliger les gens à applaudir. La plupart du temps, lorsqu’on applaudit, c’est sous l’effet conjugué de la pression des pairs et de la politesse.

Je sens une pression qui pèse sur ma poitrine. Cette sensation a commencé ce matin et n’a pas diminué depuis. J’imagine le pire : je pourrais faire une crise cardiaque ici même, en ce moment même. Que ce serait merveilleusement poétique! Et que c’est narcissique de ma part d’imaginer ma mort dans cette minicathédrale de la pop culture, dans cette église miroitante à la disco dédiée au culte du moi.

___________________________

Ce texte d’accompagnement est commandité par l’Université Laurentienne.

universite laurentienne

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#10995 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(478) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2015-08-10 14:59:34" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2015-08-10 19:59:34" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(34) "Mines de rien pas pour cinq cennes" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(34) "mines-de-rien-pas-pour-cinq-cennes" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2016-09-22 17:50:36" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2016-09-22 21:50:36" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(56) "http://gno.scottbuckingham.ca/?post_type=expo&p=478" ["menu_order"]=> int(20) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
object(WP_Post)#10998 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(345) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "5" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2015-07-13 11:09:20" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2015-07-13 16:09:20" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(19) "FAAS 5: Abricadabri" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(5) "faas5" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2017-05-12 15:31:05" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2017-05-12 19:31:05" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(56) "http://gno.scottbuckingham.ca/?post_type=expo&p=345" ["menu_order"]=> int(16) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" }