Evicted From the Anthill


Z'otz* Collective


August 19 to September 23, 2017


Opening Saturday August 19, at 4 PM
Exhibition August 19 to September 23, 2017



Exhibition Partner


Evicted From the Anthill

Working together since 2004, the members of the Z’otz* Collective collaboratively catalogue the fantastical hybrid fauna that inhabits their shared dreamscape. Their cooperative drawings depict a wide range of often-coalescing creatures. The limbs of mammalian quadrupeds fluidly converge with clawed birds’ feet, tree trunks or even a naked human foot. When built structures appear, they are almost always smaller than most of the living organisms on display, as if to suggest moving into urban environments requires a shrinking of the physical self—or simply to suggest that cities and towns are themselves outgrowths of the body, extensions of ourselves.

The cooperative process embraced by the Z’otz* members – Nahum Flores, Erik Jerezano, and Ilyana Martinez – can itself be likened to the composite beasts they so seamlessly illustrate. As playfully described by Mark Laliberte in his catalogue text for a past Z’otz* exhibition, “[an] amorphous, unbounded, six-armed being manifests in their studio as they play-and-work as one, like the spirit of an old god invoked.”

If the elaborate creatures populating the world of Z’otz* are the result of playful work, they are not necessarily jubilant or joyful themselves. Rather, their postures speak to a kind of silent resilience or sustained reaching. Many of the larger bodies are in positions of disequilibrium, limbs outstretched to connect with their own disparate parts.

Through their work, Z’otz* make visible the wondrously convoluted and mystifying relationships that bind all living organisms together.


Z'otz* Collective

Z’otz* Collective (Nahúm Flores, Erik Jerezano, Ilyana Martínez) formed in Toronto in 2004. The group meets weekly to collaborate on multi-media works, which include drawing, painting, collage, sculpture, and site—specific drawing installations. Their quirky and often outrageous images explore, with humour, ideas of transition, displacement, containment and evolution.

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#3116 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(5132) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2016-07-26 09:35:24" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2016-07-26 13:35:24" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(14) "Beshaabiiganan" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(14) "beshaabiiganan" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2017-08-08 10:30:17" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2017-08-08 14:30:17" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(46) "http://gn-o.org/en/?post_type=expo&p=5132" ["menu_order"]=> int(1) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
string(0) ""

Evicted From the Anthill


Z'otz* Collective


19 août au 23 septembre 2017


Vernissage le samedi 19 août à 16 h
Exposition du 19 août au 23 septembre 2017



Partenaire de l'exposition


Evicted From the Anthill

Travaillant ensemble depuis 2004, les membres du collectif Z’otz* font le catalogage de la faune fantasmagorique qui habite leur paysage imaginaire partagé. Leurs dessins coopératifs tracent le portrait d’une grande gamme de créatures souvent en état de fusion. Les jambes d’un quadrupède mammalien convergent de manière fluide avec les griffes d’un oiseau de proie, un tronc d’arbre ou même le pied déchaussé d’un humain. Lorsque les structures construites apparaissent, elles ont presque toujours une taille inférieure aux organismes vivants qui sont représentés. Comme si l’on suggérait que les environnements urbains exigent un rétrécissement physique — ou tout simplement que les villes et villages sont eux-mêmes les prolongements de nos corps.

Le processus collaboratif adopté par les membres de Z’otz* (Nahum Flores, Erik Jerezano et Ilyana Martinez) se compare aux bêtes composites qu’ils illustrent si bien ensemble. Dans un texte d’accompagnement pour une exposition antérieure, l’auteur Mark Laliberte le dit bien : « un être amorphe et affranchi à six bras se manifeste dans le studio lorsqu’ils s’adonnent au travail ludique comme une seule bête, comme l’esprit invoqué d’un dieu ancien. »

Si les créatures élaborées qui peuplent le monde de Z’otz* sont le résultat d’une pratique joyeuse, elles ne sont pas nécessairement elles-mêmes joviales. Leurs postures témoignent plutôt d’une résilience tranquille ou de mouvements qui s’étirent à jamais vers l’autre. Les corps immenses sont souvent en position de déséquilibre alors que les créatures tentent à tout prix de rattacher leurs propres morceaux fragmentés.

Avec leur travail, Z’otz* rend visibles les multiples rapports qui tissent un lien entre tous les êtres vivants.


Z'otz* Collective

Le collectif Z’otz* (Nahúm Flores, Erik Jerezano, Ilyana Martínez) s’est formé à Toronto en 2004. Le groupe se rencontre de façon hebdomadaire afin de collaborer sur des œuvres de plusieurs médiums tels que le dessin, la peinture, le collage, la sculpture et les installations in situ. Leurs images hétéroclites et excentriques explorent, avec humour, des idées liées à la transition, le déplacement, l’isolement et l’évolution

Prev:
object(WP_Post)#11084 (24) { ["ID"]=> int(5129) ["post_author"]=> string(1) "9" ["post_date"]=> string(19) "2016-07-26 09:34:46" ["post_date_gmt"]=> string(19) "2016-07-26 13:34:46" ["post_content"]=> string(0) "" ["post_title"]=> string(14) "Beshaabiiganan" ["post_excerpt"]=> string(0) "" ["post_status"]=> string(7) "publish" ["comment_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["ping_status"]=> string(6) "closed" ["post_password"]=> string(0) "" ["post_name"]=> string(14) "beshaabiiganan" ["to_ping"]=> string(0) "" ["pinged"]=> string(0) "" ["post_modified"]=> string(19) "2017-08-08 10:30:36" ["post_modified_gmt"]=> string(19) "2017-08-08 14:30:36" ["post_content_filtered"]=> string(0) "" ["post_parent"]=> int(0) ["guid"]=> string(43) "http://gn-o.org/?post_type=expo&p=5129" ["menu_order"]=> int(1) ["post_type"]=> string(4) "expo" ["post_mime_type"]=> string(0) "" ["comment_count"]=> string(1) "0" ["filter"]=> string(3) "raw" } <
Next:
string(0) ""