Thom Sokoloski


Thom Sokoloski is a multi-disciplinary visual artist. As a theatre artist, his training was at LaMama ETC (NYC and Paris), L’Ecole Jacques Lecoq and Grotowski’s Polish Lab Theatre in Paris. Afterwards he toured the creations of his Paris Theatre Project throughout Europe. Returning to Canada, he co-founded Toronto’s The Theatre Centre, Native Theatre School and Autumn Leaf Performance.

He has produced and created works for a number of important cultural institutions worldwide, including LaMama NYC, the Banff Centre, Opéra de Montréal, Canadian Opera Company, Opéra de Lyon, Festival de Liège, The Sound Symposium in Newfoundland, National Capital Commission in Ottawa and La Biennale Musiques en Scène à Lyon. He has directed five of R. Murray Schafer’s operatic works including RA at the Ontario Science Centre and Holland Festival and Hermes Trismegistos at the Liège Festival and inside Union Station for the Harbourfront World Stage Festival.

Over the past decade Thom expanded his innovative practices through original large-scale public art installations. The Encampment, first commissioned by Scotiabank Nuit Blanche in 2006, was presented in Toronto, New York City and Ottawa, and at the 2012 Luminato Festival. In 2011, he created Ghost Net while in residence with an Aboriginal community in Mapoon on the Gulf of Carpentaria in Queensland. In 2013 The Scarecrows, a river installation developed at Socrates Sculpture Park in Queens, was presented at Nuit North in Huntsville followed by a commission from Art Toronto to create All The Artists Are Here.

His most recent sculptural installation, Colour of the River Running Through Us, was commissioned by the McMichael Canadian Art Collection in 2015 and still remains up in their ravine. In development is a new public art installation for Four Freedoms Park in New York City and his photographic practice. He has curated for Art Toronto, Contact, Scotiabank Nuit Blanche, the Distillery Historic District and Propeller Centre for the Arts. Please visit www.thomsokoloski.com for more information.



Follow the artist

Thom Sokoloski


Thom Sokoloski est un artiste visuel multi-disciplinaire. En tant qu’artiste de théâtre, sa formation était à LaMama ETC (New York et Paris), L’Ecole Jacques Lecoq et le Théâtre de laboratoire polonais Grotowski à Paris. Ensuite, il est parti en tournée à travers l’Europe avec les créations de son « Paris Theatre Project ». De retour au Canada, il a co-fondé The Theatre Centre de Toronto, la Native Theatre School et Autumn Leaf Performance.

Il a produit et créé des œuvres pour plusieurs institutions culturelles importantes dans le monde entier, y compris LaMama NYC, le Banff Centre, l’Opéra de Montréal, la Canadian Opera Company, l’Opéra de Lyon, le Festival de Liège, le Sound Symposium de Terre-Neuve, la National Capital Commission d’Ottawa et la Biennale Musiques en Scène à Lyon. Il a réalisé cinq des œuvres lyriques de R. Murray Schafer, y compris RA au Centre ontarien des sciences et au Holland Festival, et Hermès Trismégiste au Festival de Liège et à l’intérieur de la Gare Union pour la Harbourfront World Stage Festival.

Au cours de la dernière décennie, Thom a élargi ses pratiques innovantes par le biais d’installations originales d’art public à grande échelle. The Encampment, d’abord commandé par Scotiabank Nuit Blanche en 2006, a été présenté à Toronto, New York, Ottawa, et au Festival 2012 Luminato. En 2011, il a créé l’installation Ghost Net lors d’une résidence avec une communauté autochtone à Mapoon, dans le Golfe du Carpentaria au Queensland. En 2013, il présente l’installation riveraine Les Épouvantails à Nuit North à Huntsville. L’installation avait été développpée au Socrates Sculpture Park de Queens. Plus tard en 2013, il reçoit une commande d’Art Toronto pour la création de All The Artists Are Here (Tous les artistes sont ici).

Son installation sculpturale la plus récente, Colour of the River Running Through Us (2015), a été commandée par la McMichael Canadian Art Collection en 2015 et demeurera dans le ravin jusqu’au 21 juin 2016. Il développe présentement une nouvelle installation d’art public pour Four Freedoms Park à New York City, ainsi que sa pratique photographique. Il a travaillé comme commissaire pour Art Toronto, Contact, Scotiabank Nuit Blanche, the Distillery District et le Centre Propeller pour les Arts. S’il vous plaît visitez www.thomsokoloski.com pour de plus amples renseignements.



Suivre l’artiste